Kosher Sprite 1.5l @ Tesco (Half Price) - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HotUKDeals, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HotUKDeals app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
50Expired

Kosher Sprite 1.5l @ Tesco (Half Price) £0.79

£0.79 @ Tesco
Just saw this in my local Tesco but it's online and national. Half price Sprite/Diet Sprite I also thought this was for all the Kosher drinks, Coca-cola, Fanta, but I can only find the Spite online…
tomwenn Avatar
7y, 11m agoFound 7 years, 11 months ago
Just saw this in my local Tesco but it's online and national. Half price Sprite/Diet Sprite

I also thought this was for all the Kosher drinks, Coca-cola, Fanta, but I can only find the Spite online.

LEMON LIME DRINK.

A QUALITY PRODUCT OF The Coca Cola Company.

Kosher for Passover.

Under the supervision of tel-aviv rabbinate.
More From Tesco:
×
Get the Hottest Deals Daily
Stay informed. Once a day, we'll send you the deals our members voted as the best.
Failed
tomwenn Avatar
7y, 11m agoFound 7 years, 11 months ago
Options

All Comments

(27) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
Kosher drink?
#2
its for the jews. basically means the drink has been blessed i think.
#3
"All plants are kosher, but not all animals, birds or fish" - kosher is permitted by their holy book type of food.

What exactly Kosher drink is? I thought coke/sprite etc is free of animals, birds or fish anyway :D
#4
yulita11;4998149

I thought coke/sprite etc is free of animals, birds or fish anyway :D


I'd have thought this too. Unless there are animal or dairy extracts used in some processes? God knows... no pun intended.

I can never quite get my head round Asda selling halal Haribo sweets! Presume it doesn't use animal based gelling agents.
#5
yulita11
"All plants are kosher, but not all animals, birds or fish" - kosher is permitted by their holy book type of food.

What exactly Kosher drink is? I thought coke/sprite etc is free of animals, birds or fish anyway :D


Fanta Orange isn't,not veggie anyway.
#6
wow, thanks Mum2Connor&Cerys , I had no idea, not being vegetarian myself. I'll read labels carefully next time when buying drinks!
#7
Kosher Coca-Cola, Sprite & Fanta, specially formulated for Jewish people to drink during Passover, has become a surprise best seller. But it is not just Jews who are snapping up the sugar sweetened beverage, many cola-fans think it tastes better then the normal drink. Around Passover time Coca-Cola uses sugar to sweeten their drinks rather than the cheaper fructose corn syrup which Jewish people are banned from consuming.

This is actually the traditional way Coca-Cola was sweetened before the introduction of FCS, explaining why some people claim the flavor reminds them of their youth. During Passover Jewish custom dictates that they are not allowed to eat foods that have any leavening agents (like corn) in them. Many countries outside the US limit the use of FCS claiming it can have negative health effects and could be partly responsible the the high obesity rates in America

There you go...
#8
nothing wrong with making money out of nutters! - magic sprite, that's had a spell cast on it....
#9
Which tesco was this spotted in, because I only think a a couple of stores will stock this
#10
OK just to let people know what is meant by kosher. It means that the food/factory or machinary have never been in contact with any animal. Also it will never have been able to have been moved over shabbat, friday to saturday night.
#11
robot1000
Which tesco was this spotted in, because I only think a a couple of stores will stock this



presumably areas with a fair population, such as north london and manchester(cheetham
#12
Beetplek
OK just to let people know what is meant by kosher. It means that the food/factory or machinary have never been in contact with any animal. Also it will never have been able to have been moved over shabbat, friday to saturday night.


There's slightly more to it then that, http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm

There seems to be a bit confusion on what 'Kosher for passover' is.

It refers to he five grains, which after fermentation cannot be eaten

1. Wheat
2. Barley
3. Spelt (More correctly[citation needed], emmer)
4. Rye
5. Oats

Therefore it's not talking about the general term 'Kosher'
#13
robot1000
There's slightly more to it then that, http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm


Cheers for that, but i was only giving the basics, as I look after jewish people and need to know the basics so that I dont make mistakes.
1 Like #14
yulita11
wow, thanks Mum2Connor&Cerys , I had no idea, not being vegetarian myself. I'll read labels carefully next time when buying drinks!


None of the products of Coca-Cola Great Britain contain ingredients derived from mammals. Fish Gelatine is a stabilizer for the beta carotene colour. Beta-Carotene is a nutrient that occurs naturally in abundance in fruits and vegetables. When it is used as a colouring material in goods and beverages it will be included in the ingredients list on the label. As some practicing vegetarians avoid fish products as well, it is important to note that the following of our products contain minute traces of fish gelatine. These products include: 'Lilt ' and 'Lilt' Zero, ‘Relentless’ Inferno, 'Kia-Ora' Orange Squash and 'Kia-Ora' Orange Squash no added sugar, 'Minute Maid' Orange & Passionfruit, 'Schweppes' Deuce no added sugar Orange & Guava. Hope this helps!

Most people wouldn't know what Beta-Carotene was,I'm certain they used to put it in Orange Fanta at one time but it's not on list as containing it anymore.
#15
yulita11
"All plants are kosher, but not all animals, birds or fish" - kosher is permitted by their holy book type of food.

What exactly Kosher drink is? I thought coke/sprite etc is free of animals, birds or fish anyway :D

They are all Kosher (and therefore don't contain those gelatine), but Jews cannot drink them on the festival of passover. (as I have explained in my post above)
#16
hmm, my posts deleted. why ?

Halal and Kosher are very similar in principle, yet some of the ignorance and plain stupidity on display, is frightening.
#17
i can't believe there is a 'kosher' drink on the market!?! it just made me smile
have never noticed this before- does the label say 'kosher coke' on it etc? just curious
#18
samwants2save
i can't believe there is a 'kosher' drink on the market!?! it just made me smile
have never noticed this before- does the label say 'kosher coke' on it etc? just curious

It's not 'kosher' coke. Coca cola is already kosher. This is imported from Israel, just for the festival of passover for the reasons I mentioned earlier in the thread.

Also, Kosher doesn't mean it was produced with different ingrediants, is just a supervision to say it's fine for Jews to drink/eat.
#19
myaser88
hmm, my posts deleted. why ?

Halal and Kosher are very similar in principle, yet some of the ignorance and plain stupidity on display, is frightening.


Perhaps your posts were deleted because you chose to share your "superior" knowledge by ridiculing others... again.

Perhaps.
#20
:whistling:




.
#21
garethyoung
nothing wrong with making money out of nutters! - magic sprite, that's had a spell cast on it....


Nice - insult a whole religion and race...:x
#22
has coca-cola always been a 'kosher' product, as its quite contradictory considering they were staunch supporters of nazi germany - fanta brand created specifically for them.


is there a kosher fanta available ?

http://www.newstatesman.com/200405240002
#23
It's 'Kosher' if there' are no 'non-kosher' products in it
#24
Just back from my local Tesco and the Fanta Orange was half price too. You think Kosher for Passover drinks are weird? People buy kosher for passover toothbrushes (and paste), washing up liquid etc...crazy!
#25
Mum2Connor&Cerys
None of the products of Coca-Cola Great Britain contain ingredients derived from mammals. Fish Gelatine is a stabilizer for the beta carotene colour. Beta-Carotene is a nutrient that occurs naturally in abundance in fruits and vegetables. When it is used as a colouring material in goods and beverages it will be included in the ingredients list on the label. As some practicing vegetarians avoid fish products as well, it is important to note that the following of our products contain minute traces of fish gelatine. These products include: 'Lilt ' and 'Lilt' Zero, ‘Relentless’ Inferno, 'Kia-Ora' Orange Squash and 'Kia-Ora' Orange Squash no added sugar, 'Minute Maid' Orange & Passionfruit, 'Schweppes' Deuce no added sugar Orange & Guava. Hope this helps!

Most people wouldn't know what Beta-Carotene was,I'm certain they used to put it in Orange Fanta at one time but it's not on list as containing it anymore.


Oh no, I didn't realise Relentless had it in it :(
banned#26
nomad01
I'd have thought this too. Unless there are animal or dairy extracts used in some processes? God knows... no pun intended.

I can never quite get my head round Asda selling halal Haribo sweets! Presume it doesn't use animal based gelling agents.


omg!
so does that mean that the gelatine they use is from animals that have been blessed?
what a lot of hassle!
are they more expensive?
#27
student_mummy
omg!
so does that mean that the gelatine they use is from animals that have been blessed?
what a lot of hassle!
are they more expensive?


the halal ones are vegetarian. the kosher ones use fish gelatine.

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Looking for Twitter login?
Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!