Life On Mars: The Rules of Modern Policing Book - 1973 Edition - £4.99 Delivered + 7.5% Quidco @ BBC Shop - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play
Viewers of "Life on Mars" could be forgiven for thinking that the police force of the 1970's lived by the maxim 'The rules are: there are no rules', yet it turns out that this was not the case. A fascinating historical document has now emerged which shows that there were indeed rules and in 1973 they were recorded on paper by none other than DCI Gene Hunt himself.

Divided into ten sections, "The Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition" covers everything from interrogating suspects and undercover operations to driving and dress code. Several of the rules are illustrated with diagrams, and photographs of DCI Hunt himself illustrating the more physical parts of the job: how to hit suspects so you don't leave a mark; how to signal the importance of your arrival by crashing into inanimate objects (cardboard boxes are a perfect example here - lots of noise; no damage to your motor); how to roll over the bonnet of your cortina without making a fool of yourself.

Completing the book is an invaluable glossary of police terms, covering everything from blag to lag, and nonce to ponce. An essential reference work for fans of "Life of Mars", "The Rules of Modern Policing" offers an unique insight to seventies' law enforcement that will make you laugh until you cry.
More From BBC Shop:
Get the Hottest Deals Daily
Stay informed. Once a day, we'll send you the deals our members voted as the best.
whizzkid Avatar
7y, 8m agoFound 7 years, 8 months ago

All Comments

(2) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Oh you've just gotta buy this if you're a fan haven't you?

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!