Miles Davis - Seven Steps: Complete Columbia Recordings 1963-1964: 7CD Boxset £19.99 + Free Delivery/Quidco @ HMV - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
Next cheapest is £56.18

In March 1963 Miles Davis was, for the first time in years, without a band. Eighteen months later, in September 1964, he had perhaps the finest small group in the world - his second great quintet with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams. This 7CD box set chronicles the quintets led by the trumpeter-bandleader during that crucial year and a half period. Four different five-piece units are heard both in the studio and in concert, for the most part performing the repertoire of standards and jazz originals, such as 'All of You', 'Milestones', 'Bye Bye Blackbird' and 'So What', that Davis made famous during the second half of the 1950s with his first great quintet.

24 bit digitally remastered, including 8 previously unreleased tracks and 3 tracks in unedited form for the first time. The 92-page booklet has extensive liner notes by Bob Blumenthal, full discography of the time period, and many rare and previously unpublished photos of all musicians. Packaging is a deluxe slipcase with slide out metal spined booklet.

disc 1
1. Joshua
2. I Fall In Love Too Easily
3. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
4. So Near So Far
5. Basin Street Blues
6. Seven Steps To Heaven [take 3]
7. Seven Steps To Heaven [take 5]
8. Summer Night
disc 2
1. Seven Steps To Heaven [rehearsal take]
2. Seven Steps To Heaven [album version]
3. So Near So Far
4. Joshua
5. Introduction By Andre Francis [live/dialogue]
6. Autumn Leaves [live]
7. Milestones [live]
8. I Thought About You [live]
disc 3
1. Joshua [live]
2. All Of You [live]
3. Walkin' [live]
4. Bye Bye Blackbird [live]
5. Bye Bye [theme/live]
disc 4
1. Introduction By Mort Fega [live/dialogue]
2. Autumn Leaves [live]
3. So What [live]
4. Stella By Starlight [live]
5. Walkin' [live]
6. All Of You [live]
7. Go Go [theme and announcement/live]
disc 5
1. Introduction By Billy Taylor [live/dialogue]
2. All Blues [live]
3. My Funny Valentine [live]
4. Joshua [live]
5. I Thought About You [live]
6. Four [live]
7. Seven Steps To Heaven [live]
8. There Is No Greater Love [live]
9. Go Go [theme and re-introduction/live]
disc 6
1. Introduction By Teruo Isono [live/dialogue]
2. If I Were A Bell [live]
3. My Funny Valentine [live]
4. So What [live]
5. Walkin' [live]
6. All Of You [live]
7. Go Go [theme/live]
disc 7
1. Milestones [live]
2. Autumn Leaves [live]
3. So What
4. Stella By Starlight
5. Walkin'
6. Go Go [theme/live]
Deal Tags:
More From HMV :

All Comments

(3) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Not my kind of thing, but a great price for those who are into it. Hot.
Mow £98.99!

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!