Nicky Wire - I Killed The Zeitgeist: Ltd CD £2.99 + Free Delivery/Quidco @ HMV - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
Next cheapest for this limited edition is £8.99

Supposedly taking time out between Manics albums, kicking his heels back home, Nicky Wire decided to go into a local studio and try out a couple of songs on his own. Six months later, there were twenty songs (later narrowed down to a succinct 13 for the record) that ranged from buzz saw, bile spewing punk rock to reflective, crystalline Autumnal pop music, toxic one chord mantras to driving Neu-style workouts. Occasionally sounding like a young, Valleys born Bernard Sumner, occasionally like a man with an acoustic guitar battling against squall of 'Psychocandy', often like someone finally let loose in front of a microphone and having a blast, 'I Killed The Zeitgeist' is the debut solo album by Nicky Wire, possibly the first record to sit halfway between Reading Festival and the Hay Literary Festival.

Nicky Wire made his mark as the bassist and lyricist for the Welsh indie-punk outfit, the Manic Street Preachers. Wire, alongside the tragic (and assumed dead) Richey Edwards, was the architect of the band's glam-terrorist look and politically literate lyrics, leaving the music to singer James Dean Bradfield and drummer Sean Moore. With the band on hiatus, both Bradfield and Wire took the opportunity to release solo albums in 2006. Unsurprisingly, Wire's full-length, I KILLED THE ZEITGEIST, was the more stripped-down, musically abrasive effort, bearing the marked influence of the Jesus & Mary Chain.

1. I Killed The Zeitgeist
2. Break My Heart Slowly
3. Withdraw Retreat
4. Goodbye Suicide
5. Shining Path
6. Bobby Untitled
7. You Will Always Be My Home
8. So Much For The Future
9. Stab Yr Heart
10. Kimino Rock
11. Sehnsucht
12. Nicky Wires Last
13. Everything Fades
14. Untitled [bonus track]
More From HMV :

All Comments

(1) Jump to unreadPost a comment
i love nickywire to bits but god he cannot sing!!!its a good job he has his looks,cos hes not the best bassist either.............i will order as its HOT like nicky

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!