REM - New Adventures In Hi-Fi [Double Disc: Digipack CD + DVD-A w/ video] £5.99 delivered @ DVDSource - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
Cracking price for this CD & DVDA pack as elsewhere this is: -
The Hut £11.93
HMV £13.99 £14.99
Amazon UK £15.99

Contains a CD of the original album and a DVD featuring the full album in surround sound as well as bonus video content, all housed in a digipack.

In the wake of the raging, guitar-fueled MONSTER, R.E.M. has made an album dominated by disconsolate ballads and acoustic instrumentation. NEW ADVENTURES has a stately, elegiac feel. It's punctuated by a few all-out rockers, but the overall mood is dusky and introspective. Michael Stipe's stream-of-consciousness imagery has developed into an incisive, poetic style of great power and resonance, from the religious overtones of "Undertow" (which reveals a Can influence) to the breathless travelogue of "Departure".
The opener, "How the West Was Won And Where It Got Us", sets a dark tone, with an eerie organ backdrop and a mournful piano providing a staccato riff. Punk goddess Patti Smith guests on "E-Bow the Letter", a wordy ramble that finds Stipe questioning, and ultimately denigrating, "this fame thing". A similar theme is explored on "The Wake-Up Bomb", a MONSTERish raveup that attacks celebrity star trips.
NEW ADVENTURES is loaded with musical surprises, including a zippy synthesizer that sparks "Leave", a campy instrumental called "Zither" and various discordant touches throughout. Lyrically and musically, R.E.M. stands its ground throughout, remaining as fresh and innovative as ever.

Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. How The West Was Won And Where It Got Us
2. Wake-Up Bomb
3. New Test Leper
4. Undertow
5. E-Bow the Letter
6. Leave
7. Departure
8. Bittersweet Me
9. Be Mine
10. Binky the Doormat
11. Zither
12. So Fast, So Numb
13. Low Desert
14. Electrolite
Disc: 2
1. Entire Album in 5.1 Surround Sound
2. 29 minute EPK includes the following snippets:
3. So Fast, So Numb (snippet)
4. Wake Up Bomb (snippet)
5. New Test Leper (snippet)
6. How The West Was Won (snippet)
7. Ebow The Letter (snippet)
8. Undertow (snippet)
9. Electrolite (snippet)
10. Bittersweet Me (snippet)
11. Low Desert (snippet)
Deal Tags:
More From DVDsource:
Get the Hottest Deals Daily
Stay informed. Once a day, we'll send you the deals our members voted as the best.
andywedge Avatar
[mod] 6y, 11m agoFound 6 years, 11 months ago

All Comments

(1) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Their last great album IMO

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!