Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition (Life On Mars) Book - Was £9.99 Now £4.94 @ Tesco.com - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
Good filler item Free postage over £15 or £2.74. Also 7% cashback through quidco.

'Don't move! You're surrounded by armed bastards!' Viewers of "Life on Mars" could be forgiven for thinking that the police force of the 1970s lived by the maxim 'The rules are: there are no rules', yet it turns out that this was not the case. A fascinating historical document has now emerged which shows that there were indeed rules and in 1973 they were recorded on paper by none other than DCI Gene Hunt himself.

Divided into ten sections, "The Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition" covers everything from interrogating suspects and undercover operations to driving and dress code. Several of the rules are illustrated with diagrams, and photographs of DCI Hunt himself illustrating the more physical parts of the job: how to hit suspects so you don't leave a mark; how to signal the importance of your arrival by crashing into inanimate objects (cardboard boxes are a perfect example here - lots of noise; no damage to your motor); how to roll over the bonnet of your cortina without making a dick of yourself. Completing the book is an invaluable glossary of police terms, covering everything from blag to lag, and nonce to ponce.

An essential reference work for fans of "Life of Mars", "The Rules of Modern Policing" offers a unique insight to seventies' law enforcement that will make you laugh until you cry like the wet little turd you are.

All Comments

(8) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
Only 43p cheaper than Amazon with the same postage/minimum spend criteria - plus many people have Amazon Prime at the moment. If you don't want to spend over £15 to get it for this price, it's cheaper delivered from 8 other retailers.

Base.com
Zavvi
TheHut
BBC Shop
Play
Waterstones
Currys Entertainment
Dixons Entertainment.

Not really "hot".
1 Like #2
Hardback available for £4.89 (incl delivery) at:
http://www.bookrabbit.com/catalogue/detail/bookid/1827694
#3
glendin
Hardback available for £4.89 (incl delivery) at:
http://www.bookrabbit.com/catalogue/detail/bookid/1827694


Now that's a good deal..Thanks
#4
That's cool, at least it brings the book to everyone's notice - have read extracts from it, it's hilarious!
#5
I got this book at Christmas!! Voted hot!! You have to be a big fan of Life on Mars and Gene Hunt to really appreciate it...! It's very funny! You can't help read it with his voice in your head!!

:thumbsup:
[Moderator]#6
Great deal...voted hot
#7
Cool, that's a christmas present sorted!
#8
Well got the book but not as funny as i expected,...

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Top of Page
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!