Scouser78 is offlineAdd to Scouser78's Reputation
Scouser78's Avatar
Scouser78
Pilot Light
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 482

moneybookers.com

POSTED BY: Scouser78 1 year, 8 months ago

Has anybody used them at all? I've done a whois and it's coming back inconclusive.

I only ask because somebody in work is buying a car from a private seller and they've ask for the money to go through moneybookers.com. The reason I'm suspicious is because it's a 3 year old Beetle Cabriolet with 14k mileage and he's asking for only £5500. Plus he's now moved to Austria and wants a quick sale, however as I work in the motor trade I know that if he had taken it to a car dealer he'd have got a lot more than the money he's asking for.

The person buying the car reckons that if they put the money through moneybookers they will not release the funds until they are satisfied with the vehicle. I on the other hand think as soon as that money is put through they will never hear from this fella or see this car.

Any advice before they make this payment is appreciated.

Cheers

Tags: , , (Add a tag)



DangerGod is offline  
DangerGod's Avatar
DangerGod
Solar Flare
DangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touchDangerGod is too hot to touch
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Est 1989
Posts: 11,362
View FS/FT Feedback
Avoid like the plague http://www.velocityreviews.com/forum...ed-me-off.html
http://www.chipple.net/mt/2005/02/19_001818.php

Last edited by DangerGod : 24-06-2008 at 14:59.
Reply With Quote
BristolDeal is offline  
BristolDeal's Avatar
BristolDeal
Solar Flare
BristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating upBristolDeal is heating up
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,461
View FS/FT Feedback
Looks safe enough to me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moneybookers
Reply With Quote
bod emrys is offline  
bod emrys's Avatar
bod emrys
Solar Flare
bod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating upbod emrys is heating up
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,645
View FS/FT Feedback
DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!
My other half almost got caught out by this scam, she found a car on ebay, listed as a classified ad. The story was almost identical to yours.
As you say yourself - they'd get a lot more from a garage so why on earth let it go for this price? I guarantee that your friend will loose all his money and never see the car - please, please, please tell him to avoid it like the plague.
If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is

Last edited by bod emrys : 24-06-2008 at 15:17. Reason: Added extra info
Reply With Quote
SpecialK is offline  
SpecialK's Avatar
SpecialK
Solar Flare
SpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant futureSpecialK has a brilliant future
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,718
View FS/FT Feedback
these scams are on autotrader.co.uk all the time.anyone who is moving abroad and selling a car or who is already abroad and wants to ship car back too uk avoid avoid avoid.you will notice the same scam on ebay too
Reply With Quote
Scouser78 is offline  
Scouser78's Avatar
Scouser78
Pilot Light
Scouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond reputeScouser78 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 482
View FS/FT Feedback
Thanks everyone. I've just let her come over and read the replies. I warned and warned and warned her but she was adamant it was legit, so I put the story on here as a neutral so she could see whether it was just me or it was a genuine scam.

She now believes me, so thank you to everyone who helped me convince her!
Reply With Quote
vixygwim is offline  
vixygwim
Banned
vixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant futurevixygwim has a brilliant future
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wrongly Spamming Threads
Posts: 467
View FS/FT Feedback
Moneybookers is legite, the seller might not be though.

Don't go bashing MB, it's as safe as PayPal.. in other words............ well you know what I mean.
Reply With Quote