8-ball pool question - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

8-ball pool question

D_G Avatar
banned7y, 10m agoPosted 7 years, 10 months ago
ok so me and my mate were shooting some pool, we were playing for pints, the loser bought the winner a pint etc... so on the break i pot the black ball.. were i come from that means you win, he thinks otherwise...and so did the barman! anyone know?
Tags:
D_G Avatar
banned7y, 10m agoPosted 7 years, 10 months ago
Options

All Comments

(25) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
yes, as long as no other balls were potted then you would have fouled and lost
#2
mittu1
yes, as long as no other balls were potted then you would have fouled and lost



Where i come from the person who potted the black ball would have lost too!
#3
If you pot the black off the break it is a re-rack
banned#4
ok so i think i would win, others think i loose and 1 thinks re-rack, i guess no1 knows! lol
#5
I agree with mittu1. Potting the black ball out of sequence is an instant game loss.
#6
Pot the black on the break without anything else is instant win!
banned#7
Benjimoron
Pot the black on the break without anything else is instant win!


thats what i thought!!
banned#8
4leafed
I agree with mittu1. Potting the black ball out of sequence is an instant game loss.


i know if its during a game then yes, but on the break? surely you should win because the chances of potting it are so slim and you can hardly help it!
#9
i would say you would lose...
#11
shawy
If you pot the black off the break it is a re-rack


They were the rules in the league i used to play in, although that was a while back :thumbsup:
#12
read up the rules before you play lol, oh and make sure you both agree what rules your playing with, the amount of fallouts with house mates because they play different rules lol... just get drunk then there are no rules!!!
#13
I've checked and admit I was wrong....check the rules over at http://www.pubpoolrules.com/rulesdetail.php

Seems like a re-rack is in order so nether of you win:

"If the black is pocketed from the break shot, the balls will be re-racked and the same player will restart the game. No penalty will be incurred. This applies even if a foul shot is played "
#14
Found on google :


8-ball rules:

If the Eight-Ball is potted on any break, the balls are re-racked and the same player will break again. When the Eight-Ball is potted on the break, all other aspects of the shot are ignored.

9-ball rules:

9-ball rules denote a win. But its really a twisting of two rules to make one that doesn't exist.

For instance the rule on the winning of the game is:

"On the opening break, the game is considered to have commenced once the cue ball has been struck by the cue tip. The 1-ball must be legally contacted on the break shot. The game ends at the end of a legal shot which pockets the 9-ball, or when a player forfeits the game as the result of a foul."

A legal Break is:

"The breaker must strike the1-ball first and either pocket a ball or drive at least four numbered balls to the rail."

Only two rules denote a foul break:

1. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

2. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

So, without it being a stated rule, in 9-ball pool, if you pot the 9-ball on the break, you win, because no rule says it is a foul.
[LIST]
[*]1 year ago[/LIST]Source(s):

http://www.epa.org.uk/wrules.php
http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments...
banned#15
ok so re-rack it is! Thanks guys
#16
Just looked up the rules... Rule 5 of breaking can be found here http://www.epa.org.uk/wrules.php

[FONT="][SIZE=4]If the Eight-Ball is potted on any break, the balls are re-racked and the same player will break again. When the Eight-Ball is potted on the break, all other aspects of the shot are ignored. (Except if a Serious Foul or breech of the ‘Spirit of the Game’ occurs) [/SIZE][/FONT]
#17
Also forund via wikipedia in regards to the re-rack


Due to the fact most pool tables in game halls are coin-operated and thus don't allow players to retrieve balls after they have been potted until a new game is paid for, in such circumstances the players may agree that the breaker wins the game instantly for potting the black on the break shot also known as a golden break.
#18
before everyone runs off from this thread, can i ask, when it says re rack does that mean you have to get the black back, cos my uni bar it costs a quid a game lol... i aint paying a quid everytime some nugget pots the black... haha
#19
Titchimp;4006802
Also forund via wikipedia in regards to the re-rack


Will you stop beating me!!! haha, just joshing, well wikipedia is not reliable as my uni tutors are always reminding me... :roll:

I would imagine the golden break would be a sort of player rule not an official rule, kinda like when your playing footie down the park you make up your own rules :w00t:

lol
banned#20
djstrobe4real
before everyone runs off from this thread, can i ask, when it says re rack does that mean you have to get the black back, cos my uni bar it costs a quid a game lol... i aint paying a quid everytime some nugget pots the black... haha


the post above yours said it all lol
#21
Re rack
#22
And probably the quickest game of Pool too, since you've got to pay the same amount again to get it back :)

I have to agree tho - rules on Pool vary from person to person, pub to club etc so it's always best to make sure you're al singing from the same sheet. I must admit tho - potting the black on the break is extremely rare and I doubt even if you had discussed it beforehand, you can guarantee this wouldn't have come up!
#23
Nearly all pubs have the rules on the wall somewhere, they are meant to if the landlord is allowing gambling. I've only ever seen re-rack as the correct rule if the black is potted on the break though.
#24
DangerGod
thats what i thought!!

it's a foul and you lose because it is the black.
banned#25
lukekey
it's a foul and you lose because it is the black.


no mate we established it was a re-rack if you read the thread

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!