Best Result from a complaint made? - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HotUKDeals, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HotUKDeals app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

Best Result from a complaint made?

£0.00 @
Which complaint and to whom has resulted in the outcome you either hoped for or dreamed of? Just contacted an online seller to complain that what I ordered was not what was sent. They are rectifyin… Read More
Henvig Avatar
2y, 5m agoPosted 2 years, 5 months ago
Which complaint and to whom has resulted in the outcome you either hoped for or dreamed of?

Just contacted an online seller to complain that what I ordered was not what was sent. They are rectifying and including a free gift too. I am very pleased....
Henvig Avatar
2y, 5m agoPosted 2 years, 5 months ago
Options

Top Comments

(5)
7 Likes
Not exactly a complaint, but I had a Logitech keyboard, and the space bar became unresponsive unless you pressed it firmly in the very centre. It was outside of it's warranty, but I contacted them to see if there was anything they could do. One guy replied, and asked me to send pictures of the model number and serial, which I did. The next thing I know, the chap replies back to say that a new one had been shipped, and would be with me in a few days. It's that sort of thing that earns loyalty, and I've since bought other products from them. <3 Logitech.

Edited By: Quietus on Dec 11, 2014 12:09
7 Likes
Probably doesn't qualify for the question, as I didn't actually complain to the seller, but the best recompense I've had was from Sainsbury's Enterntainment (online) in December 2012.

I'd ordered an iPod Touch (was about £150, but I'd used a voucher to bring it down to £140), and they'd said it'll be delivered on Thursday 20th. I hadn't paid extra for a guaranteed delivery day or anything.
On the 20th it didn't arrive, but when I got home from work I found I had an answer-phone message along the lines of "we're very sorry for not delivering on the day we'd guaranteed. The item you ordered will instead be delivered on Friday the 21st. As we missed our delivery date we've refunded you the full price of the item." Sure enough it was delivered on the 21st, and I got a refund of £150.
Net result - I got the item I wanted, still a few days before I needed it, and not only was it free - I actually got paid a tenner.

Thank you Sainsburys!
7 Likes
Marty1981
Npower 250 quid for one of there salesmen erroneously transferring my energy.


http://s3.postimg.org/5118yfuyr/palpatine.png
6 Likes
Tesco are always very good via twitter.
My son went to buy a pokemon card set from instore. The till wouldn't accept it.
So the manager said there's nothing he can do and refused to sell it saying it was probably discontinued.
I spoke to the twitter team not being nasty, just said he was gutted.
They asked for my address and if it was ok to send it to a 3rd party.3 days later a massive box arrived containing about £70 worth of pokemon goddies. Can't fault them.
5 Likes
Usually when I complain, I am not looking to get something more than I deserve. I usually want just the problem resolved quickly without fuss and without having to jump through millions of hoops. If I paid for something, I just want the product or service to be what I paid for and if it goes wrong, I want it sorted quickly. I only ask for 'extra' when I am inconvenienced through no fault of my own and the 'seller' is taking too long or simply being awkward. However, you know it's it's precisely these kind of retailer that will give you nothing and you will usually be out of pocket.

Nonetheless, I have one good tale to share. After getting frustrated with several of the 1st Gen Kindle Paperwhite not being what they should be, Amazon provided me with a Brand New 2nd Gen Kindle Paperwhite and even said to keep the 1st Gen I had in my possession. Generally Amazon is the best online retailer. Sadly this is the only time I have got anything 'extra'.

All Comments

(61) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
Page:
5 Likes #1
Usually when I complain, I am not looking to get something more than I deserve. I usually want just the problem resolved quickly without fuss and without having to jump through millions of hoops. If I paid for something, I just want the product or service to be what I paid for and if it goes wrong, I want it sorted quickly. I only ask for 'extra' when I am inconvenienced through no fault of my own and the 'seller' is taking too long or simply being awkward. However, you know it's it's precisely these kind of retailer that will give you nothing and you will usually be out of pocket.

Nonetheless, I have one good tale to share. After getting frustrated with several of the 1st Gen Kindle Paperwhite not being what they should be, Amazon provided me with a Brand New 2nd Gen Kindle Paperwhite and even said to keep the 1st Gen I had in my possession. Generally Amazon is the best online retailer. Sadly this is the only time I have got anything 'extra'.
4 Likes #2
I bought a new kitchen from wickes and one of the end panels didn't fit properly , I put it in the box and took it back to the store it was ordered from and the manager very rudely told be he wouldn't refund me as I had opened the box (not quite sure how you would know something is not the perfect fit without opening it but hey ho) anyway I went back home and phoned the customer service help line and they apologised for his behaviour arranged a courier to pick the panel up from my house and sent me a cheque for £100 for a £42 panel :)) happy days .
1 Like #3
Excellent, I agree with your sentiment too. I really like good customer service, which is why I am pleased when a problem is sorted without fuss.
6 Likes #4
Tesco are always very good via twitter.
My son went to buy a pokemon card set from instore. The till wouldn't accept it.
So the manager said there's nothing he can do and refused to sell it saying it was probably discontinued.
I spoke to the twitter team not being nasty, just said he was gutted.
They asked for my address and if it was ok to send it to a 3rd party.3 days later a massive box arrived containing about £70 worth of pokemon goddies. Can't fault them.
#5
Great stuff, I don't understand Twitter tbh. I know I could if I bothered to look at it.
7 Likes #6
Not exactly a complaint, but I had a Logitech keyboard, and the space bar became unresponsive unless you pressed it firmly in the very centre. It was outside of it's warranty, but I contacted them to see if there was anything they could do. One guy replied, and asked me to send pictures of the model number and serial, which I did. The next thing I know, the chap replies back to say that a new one had been shipped, and would be with me in a few days. It's that sort of thing that earns loyalty, and I've since bought other products from them. <3 Logitech.

Edited By: Quietus on Dec 11, 2014 12:09
7 Likes #7
Probably doesn't qualify for the question, as I didn't actually complain to the seller, but the best recompense I've had was from Sainsbury's Enterntainment (online) in December 2012.

I'd ordered an iPod Touch (was about £150, but I'd used a voucher to bring it down to £140), and they'd said it'll be delivered on Thursday 20th. I hadn't paid extra for a guaranteed delivery day or anything.
On the 20th it didn't arrive, but when I got home from work I found I had an answer-phone message along the lines of "we're very sorry for not delivering on the day we'd guaranteed. The item you ordered will instead be delivered on Friday the 21st. As we missed our delivery date we've refunded you the full price of the item." Sure enough it was delivered on the 21st, and I got a refund of £150.
Net result - I got the item I wanted, still a few days before I needed it, and not only was it free - I actually got paid a tenner.

Thank you Sainsburys!
2 Likes #8
Calor Gas, I bought a grill 2 go in the summer (portable bbq attachment for a bottle) and when arrived the paint was damaged. Contacted them along with photo's and they settled it with another item to be sent FOC and for me to keep the damaged one. They also sent another cast iron griddle so now have x2 sets for the price of 1. Brilliant customer service :D
4 Likes #9
I had a bottle of Domestos Bleach which blew it's top out when I squeezed it, after a delighfully written letter to the company I got my landing stairs and hallway carpets replaced. They found the bottle was faulty. X)
1 Like #10
George Foreman/Spectrum Brands/Russell Hobbs. Wrote to them and told them the coating had peeled off my grill after 6 months. They asked the for the serial number, then posted me a brand new grill. Was a total surprise didn't know it was coming :)

Russell Hobbs, wrote to them and asked if my kettle was fixable, because I really liked it, it's a nice shape and one of the few that will fit under my tap with the washing up bowl in place. It still had power lights coming on, but wouldn't boil. They sent me a voucher for 50% off a new kettle, so I could buy the same model again. It was cheaper than I could find it anywhere else by a mile, so I was very pleased. They didn't have to do anything, my kettle was 7 years old!

Dettol get a mention for replacing my 3 or 4 year old soap dispenser when it started puking soap everywhere, as do Pyrex, who sent me a new casserole dish lid for free when it cracked in the oven.
1 Like #11
Henvig
Great stuff, I don't understand Twitter tbh. I know I could if I bothered to look at it.

Honestly i find it the best way to get in contact these days. I also use it to offer praise when i recieve good service as well.
Think we live in a world where we are to happy to complain and not give credit where its due.
Currently speaking to mobiles.co.uk who said if i send them a pic of my daughter opening her present on Christmas day (a phone i bought through them) they will send us a gift as well :-)
3 Likes #12
NinurtaEnki
I had a bottle of Domestos Bleach which blew it's top out when I squeezed it, after a delighfully written letter to the company I got my landing stairs and hallway carpets replaced. They found the bottle was faulty. X)

New carpets? That is amazing customer service!
#13
Credit also to Google, and to Logitech (thanks for the reminders, having now read the above comments).

My Nexus 7 (first gen, 8gb, wifi) developed a hint of a yellow discolouration on the screen about 11 months into the 12 month warranty. Google sent me a replacement one (still first gen, but 16gb and with Sim slot) and just told me to return the old one in the packaging the new one comes in.

And when one of the buttons on my Logitech universal remote control stopped working I contacted them and they immediately sent me a replacement (identical) one, and told me to just bin the old one. Which meant I had two, for a while, though one didn't have a working rewind button. (It could still rewind, though, as I'd reprogrammed one of the spare buttons to do the job.)

Edited By: Late on Dec 11, 2014 12:21
1 Like #14
moneysavingkitten
NinurtaEnki
I had a bottle of Domestos Bleach which blew it's top out when I squeezed it, after a delighfully written letter to the company I got my landing stairs and hallway carpets replaced. They found the bottle was faulty. X)

New carpets? That is amazing customer service!
I know, I could hardly believe it myself, as I'd originally gone to my local trading standards over it and was told I was wasting my time lol. (My carpet got bleached because of the accident btw and at the time I had no home contents insurance )
#15
£400 cheque from Homebase/Habitat for messing up a furniture order.
#16
Npower 250 quid for one of there salesmen erroneously transferring my energy.
7 Likes #17
Marty1981
Npower 250 quid for one of there salesmen erroneously transferring my energy.


http://s3.postimg.org/5118yfuyr/palpatine.png
2 Likes #18
I bought (look at that, a Brummie getting it right) one of the Anker 40w chargers from Amazon a couple of months back, one of the ports failed on it due to a defective batch so I contacted the seller and Amazon (without making a complaint). Amazon said to send it back for a refund as they didn't stock it anymore but the seller sent me a new one and let me keep the old one. £40's worth of chargers for the £15 offer price. Not too shabby.
1 Like #19
Oh, and £500 off my wedding venue for them messing us about.
1 Like #20
Late
Marty1981
Npower 250 quid for one of there salesmen erroneously transferring my energy.
http://s3.postimg.org/5118yfuyr/palpatine.png
fair depiction of npower head office, truly awful company
banned#21
A free holiday (luxury cabin type one in South England) for 6 people worth £1700
A whole kitchen / dining room vinyl floor worth £600 for free, as it had a dimple in it, so got it free.
£600 quid back from renault for 3 window regulator replacements.
Multiple £5 quid £10 quid £20 vouchers from tesco and sainsburys over the years. For various screw ups or rude staff complaints.
I'll complain for the slightest poor customer service (always genuine though). Make a fortune out of it :D
#22
Got over £700 back for having a 7 hour flight delay on the way back. The holiday itself only cost about £800
1 Like #23
Not really a complaint but last month I rang Halifax to question why my card was asking me to sign and not enter my pin when paying. After 20 minutes of them trying to find out they realised they had sent a sign only card by mistake and for the inconvenience they gave me £50 and £14 for the phone call to them instantly in my current account. Now I have a sign only card and pin only card for the one account. Happy days
1 Like #24
Worst is Kelloggs!!

My boy wanted those spoon straws they were doing and he wanted them for his brothers too, he collected all the tokens and sent them off with the postage took him a good couple of months to do it. anyway 12 months later they never came and he wouldn't let me forget it, so i went to twitter they said we want to send your son some promotional things to make him happy and make up for it.

2 week later we received a tiny letter with 2 plastic straws, the kind you pick up at the cafe!! but with coco pops printed on them! my son said lol

" the freaking cheapskates, they are a rip off" and i have to agree, it was a pathetic gesture. and we still do not have spoon straws!


a decent complaint was with Haven, we went to All Hallows, well the welcome pack advised 'You Will Have Ants' and points you to the local shop for £5.00 a tub ant power of which you need about 200, so we complained and they said we can have free upgrade to the next level of holiday next time, so we took advantage and got haven to upgrade us to the best caravan etc in devon cliffs about £800.00 saving.

Edited By: haritori on Dec 11, 2014 13:42
4 Likes #25
In Las Vegas staying at the Bellagio, I reported to the front desk that a bulb in my room needed replacing, their reply:

''I'm very sorry about that. Is $100 compensation acceptable?''

Of course I said that's fine but what if I said no! Would it become $200? Who knows.

Best example of customer service I've ever experienced.
2 Likes #26
I received my frozen Christmas hamper. I paid 87.25 but the quality of frozen food was poor and cheap rubbish. I called them up to ask for a refund. They had no issues with a refund, but because the driver couldn't come back to collect the food they told me to keep that too.

Thought that was really nice of them.
2 Likes #27
staceybaby
I received my frozen Christmas hamper. I paid 87.25 but the quality of frozen food was poor and cheap rubbish. I called them up to ask for a refund. They had no issues with a refund, but because the driver couldn't come back to collect the food they told me to keep that too.

Thought that was really nice of them.

I didn't realise Domino's did frozen food?
#28
NEtech
staceybaby
I received my frozen Christmas hamper. I paid 87.25 but the quality of frozen food was poor and cheap rubbish. I called them up to ask for a refund. They had no issues with a refund, but because the driver couldn't come back to collect the food they told me to keep that too.

Thought that was really nice of them.

I didn't realise Domino's did frozen food?

Lol :)
I appreciate the joke, although I hate pizza....so I'm guessing Dominos isn't that great :(
1 Like #29
We had to get our Gas meter moved at the cost of about £600. All went well, they had some work on the pavement outside our house as part of it, again fine. Though they left the road work stuff piled up for 3 days afterwards.
I made a call, asking when they would move it as it was an obstruction on the pavement. They came next day and it was gone.

2 Weeks later a letter arrived in the post, "sorry of rthe problems during your recent gas works, please accept the attached Cheque for £250 as an apology". Now I never expected that.
#30
I know that text and Twitter can ruin a movie on opening night, if the reviews are bad enough. Perhaps companies are learning at last...also great to know who to shop with and who to avoid.
banned 5 Likes #31
I complained to the wife that she wasn't as good as her sister in bed.

I can now do what I like in my new Bachelor Bedsit, RESULT :D
1 Like #32
bazzamone
I complained to the wife that she wasn't as good as her sister in bed.

I can now do what I like in my new Bachelor Bedsit, RESULT :D
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRD32NVVbmnlFkuZoFnTgJViDiC0atadBeHompkjZVZeG-M1jN4o2UYk7E5
#33
Lol the best one i had was with Amazon web chat support a few weeks back...

I contacted them about an order had failed to turn up by the specified date (twas a Birthday gift for my daughter - not expensive but concerned it would miss her big day)...
On the web chat i happened to mention it had been dispatched on the same day i had placed another order with them for a scooter (was £56 reduced to £16!!!)....
Amazon then proceeded to refund the £16 for the scooter??? I said they didnt need too as nothing was wrong with this order 4 times!!!
The item that was delayed, turned up the following morning... :)

Edited By: mork-09 on Dec 11, 2014 15:06: Accidental Bondage reference removed! :)
banned 1 Like #34
NinurtaEnki
bazzamone
I complained to the wife that she wasn't as good as her sister in bed.

I can now do what I like in my new Bachelor Bedsit, RESULT :D
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRD32NVVbmnlFkuZoFnTgJViDiC0atadBeHompkjZVZeG-M1jN4o2UYk7E5

:{
banned 1 Like #35
mork-09
I ontacted them about an order had failed to turn up by the specified date (twas a BD gift for my daughter - not expensive but concerned it would miss her big day)...
On the web chat i happened to mention it had been dispatched on the same day i had placed another order with them for a scooter (was £56 reduced to £16!!!)....
Amazon then proceeded to refund the £16 for the scooter??? I said they didnt need too as nothing was wrong with this order 4 times!!!
The item that was delayed, turned up the following morning... :)

oO BONDAGE?

Edited By: bazzamone on Dec 11, 2014 15:01
1 Like #36
bazzamone
mork-09
Lol the best one i had was with Amazon web chat support a few weeks back...I ontacted them about an order had failed to turn up by the specified date (twas aBD gift for my daughter - not expensive but concerned it would miss her big day)...On the web chat i happened to mention it had been dispatched on the same day i had placed another order with them for a scooter (was £56 reduced to £16!!!)....Amazon then proceeded to refund the £16 for the scooter??? I said they didnt need too as nothing was wrong with this order 4 times!!!The item that was delayed, turned up the following morning... :)
oO BONDAGE?


Lool How did you get bondage from BD :D You sir have a very sick mind.... :)
banned#37
mork-09
bazzamone
mork-09
Lol the best one i had was with Amazon web chat support a few weeks back...I ontacted them about an order had failed to turn up by the specified date (twas aBD gift for my daughter - not expensive but concerned it would miss her big day)...On the web chat i happened to mention it had been dispatched on the same day i had placed another order with them for a scooter (was £56 reduced to £16!!!)....Amazon then proceeded to refund the £16 for the scooter??? I said they didnt need too as nothing was wrong with this order 4 times!!!The item that was delayed, turned up the following morning... :)
oO BONDAGE?


Lool How did you get bondage from BD :D You sir have a very sick mind.... :)

BD is the nickname people use for Bondage :|
2 Likes #38
bazzamone
mork-09
bazzamone
mork-09
Lol the best one i had was with Amazon web chat support a few weeks back...I ontacted them about an order had failed to turn up by the specified date (twas aBD gift for my daughter - not expensive but concerned it would miss her big day)...On the web chat i happened to mention it had been dispatched on the same day i had placed another order with them for a scooter (was £56 reduced to £16!!!)....Amazon then proceeded to refund the £16 for the scooter??? I said they didnt need too as nothing was wrong with this order 4 times!!!The item that was delayed, turned up the following morning... :)
oO BONDAGE?
Lool How did you get bondage from BD :D You sir have a very sick mind.... :)
BD is the nickname people use for Bondage :|

Ok i will bow down to your expert knowledge on this subject... I have amended my original post lool :)
#39
Bought a lens from amazon.com as was half the price compared to UK. Arrived scratched so complained saying i am disappointed. Amazons response was a full refund and keep the item. :D
banned#40
Started to think i should complain more after reading this thread :p

I think the best thing i ever received was a free meal and a free take home pizza from Frankie & Bennies because they overcooked my steak!

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!