Can any golfer explain this ridiculous rule please? - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

Can any golfer explain this ridiculous rule please?

deeky Avatar
7y, 9m agoPosted 7 years, 9 months ago
WTF? Padraig Harrington got a penalty stroke because THE WND MOVED HIS BALL!!!
Apparently, he received the penalty because he had already 'addressed' the ball when the wind moved it. If he hadn't then he wouldn't have got the penalty.
Why? Why should he be penalised for something he had no control over?
This has got to go down as one of the most stupid rules in ANY sport!
Unless anyone can give a reason that I hadn't thought of, of course.
deeky Avatar
7y, 9m agoPosted 7 years, 9 months ago
Options

All Comments

(17) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
I guess once you're lined up at the ball then if it moves then you took too long to play and to stop anyone cheating and saying the wind moved it.
#2
You got money on him? :whistling:
#3
Harrington should be banned for life (serious).
#4
When a player goes to 'address' the ball then at that point they are deemed to have initiated the taking of the shot.

If the ball subsequently moves after they have 'addressed' the ball then that is deemed to have been the shot taken even if they did not strike the ball with the club.

that sounds good eh?
#5
Benjimoron
I guess once you're lined up at the ball then if it moves then you took too long to play and to stop anyone cheating and saying the wind moved it.

That doesn't really make sense as it could move the second you addressed he ball.

Trickyjabs
You got money on him? :whistling:

No, I was just watching it last night and couldnt help thinking how unfair it seemed.


The JFK
Harrington should be banned for life (serious).

Why?

StevenA2000_uk
When a player goes to 'address' the ball then at that point they are deemed to have initiated the taking of the shot.

If the ball subsequently moves after they have 'addressed' the ball then that is deemed to have been the shot taken even if they did not strike the ball with the club.

that sounds good eh?

Sounds great but it doesn't alter the fact that any sane person could see he hadn't taken the shot. People can quote the rules but it's just plain stupid, especially when the incident can be seen by millions.
If there is no intention to move the ball, or something happens that is totally out of the players control then there is no way it should be deemed a penalty. (great avatar btw)
#6
deek72
That doesn't really make sense as it could move the second you addressed he ball.



Of course, that's just bad luck.

That's why I wrote the second part of my post, it's to stop cheating.
banned#7
Contact The R&a They Make The Rules
#8
Golf has many 'stupid' rules.
#9
proof that golf is stupid.
banned#10
I think the daftest rule is having to wear those weird trousers.
#11
Golf > Football.
#12
The JFK
Harrington should be banned for life (serious).


€18m in his 11 years... jealous at all ?
banned#13
StevenA2000_uk
When a player goes to 'address' the ball then at that point they are deemed to have initiated the taking of the shot.

If the ball subsequently moves after they have 'addressed' the ball then that is deemed to have been the shot taken even if they did not strike the ball with the club.

that sounds good eh?


sorry was too busy lookin at ya pic... :D

sounds good whatever ya said tho :P
#14
ecentrik
proof that golf is stupid.


I dont see where the OP has stated that Golf is stupid. Just certain rules. :thumbsup:
#15
smallest ball, biggest playing field!

besides, WHO was watching the ball ... and complained?
#16
also, player disqualified for kicking the sand when he was in the bunker
banned#17
kippy
smallest ball, biggest playing field!

besides, WHO was watching the ball ... and complained?


A Refererabee?

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!