We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Close

Facebook......whats difference between "tagging" and "sharing" a photo ??

nick1981nick1981

Good Evening All,

Please can somebody explain what is the difference between "Tagging" a photo and "Sharing" a photo on facebook ????

Last night i added a photo of details of a face night poster (Basically so it would go onto peoples walls and they could be notified).....anyway i uploaded the photo and then started "tagging" it onto my friends so they got the information.

However after "tagging" about 30 people it then gave me a message saying "I had reached the maximum amount allowed to tag on an individual photo"...... so i then started "Sharing" the photo with the other people i wanted to - and to all i could tell it was basically exactly the same as "tagging".

Is there any difference at all ??????

All Comments (10)

Jump to unread Post a Comment
    gemwood
    tagging means the person also in the picture will have the pic published onto their wall. sharing means the photo will get published onto your wall :)
    nick1981
    gemwood
    tagging means the person also in the picture will have the pic published onto their wall. sharing means the photo will get published onto your wall :)


    But when i "share" it, i can "share" it to go onto a different persons wall - which is basically what im trying to achieve as i want it to go on as many as my friends walls as possible for the publicity/advertisement.
    bigfoot100
    Tagging = Showing the people in the picture, when you put a mouse over a tagged picture the people's names should come up.

    Sharing = As the name suggests just sharing the picture with the people you choose but they will not have their names in the picture.
    nick1981
    bigfoot100
    Tagging = Showing the people in the picture, when you put a mouse over a tagged picture the people's names should come up.

    Sharing = As the name suggests just sharing the picture with the people you choose but they will not have their names in the picture.


    Cheers mate - nice clear answer, appreciate your help.
    I was wondering exactly what the difference was - basically i think i would have been better "Sharing" it to everybody but it does make much difference as its just a Horse Race Night Poster.

    Thanks again
    bigfoot100
    No worries; it doesn't really matter either way, but I find people are more likely to pay attention if they are tagged but either way will give you what you want.
    gemwood
    Sorry, when i've "shared" a picture, it usually just goes onto my profile, for all my friends to see. Not to everyone elses profile. Tagging, would just go to the person you've "tagged" profile.
    nick1981
    Hello again - please can somebody tell me how you change your "landing page"
    When i click on my Profile name on the top of the page it takes me straight to my "Info" tab...... is it possible that when i click my profile name it takes me straight to my "wall"

    As you can tell im pretty new with facebook so i do apologies for all these questions.
    shehlafarquleet
    tagging is to share info to whome you want
    post mean to share evri yiur f.b friends
    imim56
    When you share a picture, does it open it up for everyone to share or just the friends you have in common with the owner of the pic? In other words,does the owner lose their privacy settings for their pictures?
    Apia
    I share my pictures. There's an option to select who you can share the photos with specifically (just click on the bar which says "on your own timeline" and then change it to your preferred option), however, I'm more curious that if I "share" a post WITH A SPECIFIC FRIEND, can people who I BLOCKED comment on the said "shared post"?

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

I Approve
Your Comments On This Post
Comment Preview
Close

PRIVATE MESSAGE

Close
Sorry, you can’t currently send PMs. Once you’re a more active member of the forum, the PM service will be unlocked for you.
Welcome to HUKD!
Close
Join the Community