game reviews - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HotUKDeals, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HotUKDeals app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

game reviews

£0.00 @
a lot of people own game consoles so i thought why not open a thread to review new games so that it helps other people when they are buying games. Ps3, Xbox 360,wii,ds,psp and everything else Read More
atigona Avatar
7y, 11m agoPosted 7 years, 11 months ago
a lot of people own game consoles so i thought why not open a thread to review new games so that it helps other people when they are buying games. Ps3, Xbox 360,wii,ds,psp and everything else
atigona Avatar
7y, 11m agoPosted 7 years, 11 months ago
Options

All Comments

(33) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
i'll start and the game i will review is ashes cricket

it's been spoken of so much this game maybe because the ashes are going on at the same time as the game came out.

well to be honest its the best cricket game i have played it is very enjoyable when playing with mates and its a laugh. one of the best parts about the game is the ashes its great it gives you a chance to take part in what our england team is doing and when they get pointing out you can do the same it gives you the same feel as watching the ashes.

bad points: they isn't enough game modes and they is a few lags

game play: very impressive
graphics: could have done better
online:haven't played online enough do rate it will leave that to someone who has played it a lot
commentary: its alright hasn't annoyed me yet
playability: great

great game maybe needed a few more game modes but for the first cricket game on ps3 it's a fine effort

overall: 8/10
#2
played the ashes demo and was brill

will get on 360 wen it drops to 15-20
#3
Play the Batman Akham Asylum demo if you haven't already.
#4
Abvance
Play the Batman Akham Asylum demo if you haven't already.

+1, think i'm going to buy this as looks great, really wanted to fight the level boss.
#5
lukekey
+1, think i'm going to buy this as looks great, really wanted to fight the level boss.


whats the storyline in it
#6
I do games reviews over at XboxLiveArcade.com

Well only arcade games for the 360 but still :P
Looking forward to Trials HD tomorrow :)
#7
The new Batman demo is pretty good, I just like the end part of the demo sneaking around and taking the guards out one by one.
#8
atigona
i'll start and the game i will review is ashes cricket

it's been spoken of so much this game maybe because the ashes are going on at the same time as the game came out.

well to be honest its the best cricket game i have played it is very enjoyable when playing with mates and its a laugh. one of the best parts about the game is the ashes its great it gives you a chance to take part in what our england team is doing and when they get pointing out you can do the same it gives you the same feel as watching the ashes.

bad points: they isn't enough game modes and they is a few lags

game play: very impressive
graphics: could have done better
online:haven't played online enough do rate it will leave that to someone who has played it a lot
commentary: its alright hasn't annoyed me yet
playability: great

great game maybe needed a few more game modes but for the first cricket game on ps3 it's a fine effort

overall: 8/10


I love your idea seriously maybe make all the posts reviews though? Not just discussion if your that serious about it.

Like the layout of your review though encouraged me to play the game and also wasn't biast (making a review out of your review :p) and hey atleast your not getting paid by the developers of the games.
#9
This is my latest review: Worms 2: Armageddon (Taken from XboxLiveArcade.Com)

[CENTER]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/Stefman/worms.jpg[/CENTER]
Worms is always going to be one of those classic Turn based strategy games that seemingly most people will have played a version of at some point in their gaming life. Team 17 have now released the latest in series to the Xbox Live Arcade following on from the original release of worms in the guise of Worms 2: Armageddon.


Now the original worms game was very well received onto the XBLA, however the game did have some very serious shortcomings, most prominently the small range of weapons available, which was very disappointing to any fans of the classic 2d series following on from the plethora available in Worms World Party. Thankfully however Team17 have addressed this and several other issues from the original XBLA title.

From first looks there are not many things to notice being different: It’s still 2D, still turn based, still side on, Water still kills you instantly, mines and barrels still explode, and you still use a variety of weapons including bazookas, shotguns, grenades, airstrikes and a few martial arts moves to inflict pain and anguish on worms on an opposing side.

So what’s new then?

I hear you cry! Well first off and most pleasingly to fans of the series, the number of weapons, utilities and moves has increased as mentioned earlier. So alongside the previously available weapons there are the inclusions several others including:

Super Bunker Buster: A single explosive dropped from the air with the ability to drill through a small amount of terrain before exploding.

Sentry Turret
: Does exactly what it says on the tin, it’s a deployable automatic gun.

Electromagnet: Attracts or repels some of the projectile weapons and can cause havoc if used correctly!


[CENTER]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/Stefman/2-1.jpg[/CENTER]

There are of course lots of other additions to the arsenal including the welcome returns of (amongst others) the Napalm strikes, Concrete donkey, Baseball bat and of course the EPIC holy Hand Grenade.

Visually you may also notice a difference from the Original XBLA title as both the fore and backgrounds look much sharper, the cell shading of a much higher quality and is generally much prettier to look at. Everything looks a little livelier; from the colours, to the effects of the explosions and fire to the Actual worms themselves which have been injected with some real personality. This is down to the added character effects and the ability to choose hats for your entire team from a variety available much in the way that you can chose the teams’ gravestone. The character effects are great as well; my particular favourite is the way the worms scream when an explosive is put down next to them.

[CENTER]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/Stefman/4.jpg[/CENTER]

The single player experience has also changed, it has been rounded a bit more than the original to give a more varied experience. There are 35 single player missions which vary from the standard one team Vs another standard mode, instead bridging out to include a few puzzle type levels where you have to work out how to use weapons or utilities to kill a worm or make it to an exit and rope race levels where you use the Ninja rope (Which may I add has be VASTLY improved) to get around a level to the exit. However whilst playing through the game I came across a few glitches in damage calculation where the second shotgun round (which usually do 25 damage each) doing 1-5 damage despite being aimed directly at the enemy.

The multi-player aspect has also been given some juice allowing more customisation of game types, weapons and general options. The ranking system for online play has been improved as well which is a nice tweak if you are the type of person who enjoys moving your way up! Team17 have also included some avatar integration in such that your avatar appears briefly before your turn.

[CENTER]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v148/Stefman/3.jpg[/CENTER]

This feature however feels a little unnecessary and shoe-horned in and to be honest does get a little tiresome after a while when you just want to be getting on with your turn. However this is just a minor niggle of mine that doesn’t really detract from the overall experience.

Conclusions

Worms 2: Armageddon is a massive step up from the original on the XBLA that offers a much more rounded experience for the gamer in both single and multi-player aspects. The sound, graphics and arsenal have also all been improved as well as the options and customisation. The only minor gripes I have about this game is the relative shortness of the single player campaign, inclusion of avatars, slightly slower loading times due to the improved graphics and the occasional annoying glitch I encountered when using line of sight weapons like the shotgun.

The Lowdown

Gameplay - 90: Fans of the series will love the updates made to the game. It feels a lot more playable and accessible to both veterans and new players.
Graphics - 85: Big upgrade to the original, much sharper and more vibrant than the original.
Sound - 80: A more professional and polished effort
Value - 95: 800 points? Are you kidding, this game has lots of legs and will last you a good while. A highly recommended buy!

Worms 2: Armageddon (Via Xbox.Com)
Worms 2: Armageddon (Via Xbox Marketplace)
#10
Ghost Busters is pretty awesome.
#11
Met-Cast
I love your idea seriously maybe make all the posts reviews though? Not just discussion if your that serious about it.

Like the layout of your review though encouraged me to play the game and also wasn't biast (making a review out of your review :p) and hey atleast your not getting paid by the developers of the games.


thanks for the encouragement
#12
atigona
thanks for the encouragement


I actually want it to continue lol I could help too with a few games :p. Ashes is not on the PS3 right?
#13
the last game i bought before ashes was virtua tennis 2009 so i will review it

virtua tennis 09 well after the third one it was always going to be hard to get any better but they could have at least tried well the producers never really put in a effort. i bought the third one and i loved it but as i played it a year ago i couldn't wait for the next one mainly because i could then be andy murray and also was hoping they would be an online. well the best part about it is that andy murray is on it but everything else about the game is very disappointing and i'm sure everyone will agree. when i first found out that they was online i couldn't wait so i bought it the day after it was released as on relase day it was sold out everywhere near me. the game when played 2 player is actually quite enjoyable but when you play world tour it is very boring as you're always playing the same made up players who don't even give you a challenge(take it this way you will win every point in every match all the way through each tournament).

i'll give online its own paragraph. one word to describe it awful. when you're playing against people they is so much lag and the worst one is when you hit good shots and you're about to win the point the ball will suddenly stop in mid air and the opponent will end up with the point.

rating

graphics: not bad 6.5/10
gameplay: ok 6/10
online: mediocre: 1/10 worst online ever
lasting playability: 1/10 gets quite boring very soon

conclusion: stay away keep your £20 in your pocket
#14
Met-Cast
I actually want it to continue lol I could help too with a few games :p. Ashes is not on the PS3 right?


it is mate as that's what i have got it on £25 asda

they was just no demo
#15
i was wondering if they is anyone who will be willing to write reviews for other genre games as i am more in to my sports.

maybe someone could review shooting games as that's one of the most common

as the only shooting games i play are fairly old cod4,gta 4 and resistance 2
#16
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

No fancy nancy review from me- just wanted to say I thought it was overrated and am annoyed at the fact EVERYONE loves it to pieces yet I think it's pretty mediocre.

RE: Campaign: Had I not played games like Black on PS2, it might have got more kudos, but the things I hated about this game were the fact the story was a load of pointless nothingness, the fact you could (and sometimes were forced to) sit back and let your AI team do all the work for you made the whole game playing experience suffer, plus annoying when you’re about to kill an enemy, then your team mate AI butts in and does it for you. **** zoom ability/controls, Sometimes unclear objectives. Annoying having to reload so often. No in-game customization in any way. Sometimes unable to avoid annoying deaths, such as cars blowing up next to you. Not played it online, but had a few split-screen multiplayer goes and it didn't really work at all- very disappointing.

It was an ok game, with some nice graphics, but nothing special and at times I chore to get through and I didn’t feel inspired to try completing it again. I have no idea why 9 outta 10 gamers call this game “perfect”.

Graphics: 9/10
Game play: 6/10
Story: 3/10
Sound: 8/10
Overall: 6.5/10

I know it's not the newest game, but happened to just play it recently.
#17
Halo 3 10/10
#18
Bomazu
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

No fancy nancy review from me- just wanted to say I thought it was overrated and am annoyed at the fact EVERYONE loves it to pieces yet I think it's pretty mediocre.

RE: Campaign: Had I not played games like Black on PS2, it might have got more kudos, but the things I hated about this game were the fact the story was a load of pointless nothingness, the fact you could (and sometimes were forced to) sit back and let your AI team do all the work for you made the whole game playing experience suffer, plus annoying when you’re about to kill an enemy, then your team mate AI butts in and does it for you. **** zoom ability/controls, Sometimes unclear objectives. Annoying having to reload so often. No in-game customization in any way. Sometimes unable to avoid annoying deaths, such as cars blowing up next to you. Not played it online, but had a few split-screen multiplayer goes and it didn't really work at all- very disappointing.

It was an ok game, with some nice graphics, but nothing special and at times I chore to get through and I didn’t feel inspired to try completing it again. I have no idea why 9 outta 10 gamers call this game “perfect”.

Graphics: 9/10
Game play: 6/10
Story: 3/10
Sound: 8/10
Overall: 6.5/10

I know it's not the newest game, but happened to just play it recently.



the game isn't overrated as its one of the best games on ps3 and xbox 360

the online is better then any other game
game play is awesome and so are graphics and sound. story line is good aswell
try online you will change your mind
my overall 10/10
banned#19
atigona;5996011
i was wondering if they is anyone who will be willing to write reviews for other genre games as i am more in to my sports.

maybe someone could review shooting games as that's one of the most common

as the only shooting games i play are fairly old cod4,gta 4 and resistance 2

you have a strange habit of typing "they" instead of "there" all the time. Here enedeth the lesson ;-)
banned 1 Like #20
Bomazu;5996208
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

No fancy nancy review from me- just wanted to say I thought it was overrated and am annoyed at the fact EVERYONE loves it to pieces yet I think it's pretty mediocre.

RE: Campaign: Had I not played games like Black on PS2, it might have got more kudos, but the things I hated about this game were the fact the story was a load of pointless nothingness, the fact you could (and sometimes were forced to) sit back and let your AI team do all the work for you made the whole game playing experience suffer, plus annoying when you’re about to kill an enemy, then your team mate AI butts in and does it for you. **** zoom ability/controls, Sometimes unclear objectives. Annoying having to reload so often. No in-game customization in any way. Sometimes unable to avoid annoying deaths, such as cars blowing up next to you. Not played it online, but had a few split-screen multiplayer goes and it didn't really work at all- very disappointing.

It was an ok game, with some nice graphics, but nothing special and at times I chore to get through and I didn’t feel inspired to try completing it again. I have no idea why 9 outta 10 gamers call this game “perfect”.

Graphics: 9/10
Game play: 6/10
Story: 3/10
Sound: 8/10
Overall: 6.5/10

I know it's not the newest game, but happened to just play it recently.

+1

I think its very over-rated too :thumbsup:
banned#21
INFAMOUS - PS3
graphics: excellent 10/10
gameplay: superb 9/10
sound: good 7/10
lasting playability: 9/10 about 40 hours of gameplay if you complete side missions
overall: 9/10
conclusion: Just get this awesome game (play it for more than an hour and you wont put it down!
#22
Ghostbusters - wii
Graphics: 8/10
Game play: 7/10
Story: 7/10
Sound: 8/10
Overall: 7.5/10

great game worth bout 25
#23
atigona
the game isn't overrated as its one of the best games on ps3 and xbox 360

that pretty much proves my point about everyone loving it :thumbsup: still overrated IMO.

I pick up an play Guitar Hero, Rockband 1 and 2, so here's a quick review from me:

Rock Band:
Graphics: 5/10
Game play: 8/10
Story: 1/10
Sound: 7/10
Overall: 7.5/10

Addictive, fun to play, but songs get repetitive and aren’t all my cup of tea. At least there's loads of downloadable content but it's expensive. Lots of bugs: having to select a ‘Leader’ and sign in as certain users to get world tour to work, lack of customization, having to create different custom characters for each instrument you play, pointless story in world tour that coulda been expanded MASSIVELY, the instruments are too expensive, and often don’t even work properly or break easily, drums are too noisy, completing world tour setlists always ends on ‘run to the hills’ etc, so after playing for 30 or 40 mins, you end up having to quit and lose fans ‘cos there's a really difficult song shoved on the end.

To the many 'professional' reviews that say this game has great graphics- what is wrong with you?!
#24
Bomazu
that pretty much proves my point about everyone loving it :thumbsup: still overrated IMO.

I pick up an play Guitar Hero, Rockband 1 and 2, so here's a quick review from me:

Rock Band:
Graphics: 5/10
Game play: 8/10
Story: 1/10
Sound: 7/10
Overall: 7.5/10


Addictive, fun to play, but songs get repetitive and aren’t all my cup of tea. At least there's loads of downloadable content but it's expensive. Lots of bugs: having to select a ‘Leader’ and sign in as certain users to get world tour to work, lack of customization, having to create different custom characters for each instrument you play, pointless story in world tour that coulda been expanded MASSIVELY, the instruments are too expensive, and often don’t even work properly or break easily, drums are too noisy, completing world tour setlists always ends on ‘run to the hills’ etc, so after playing for 30 or 40 mins, you end up having to quit and lose fans ‘cos there's a really difficult song shoved on the end.

To the many 'professional' reviews that say this game has great graphics- what is wrong with you?!


Keep it up guys
Asked mods to make it official and delete non review comments
#25
Bomazu
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

No fancy nancy review from me- just wanted to say I thought it was overrated and am annoyed at the fact EVERYONE loves it to pieces yet I think it's pretty mediocre.

RE: Campaign: Had I not played games like Black on PS2, it might have got more kudos, but the things I hated about this game were the fact the story was a load of pointless nothingness, the fact you could (and sometimes were forced to) sit back and let your AI team do all the work for you made the whole game playing experience suffer, plus annoying when you’re about to kill an enemy, then your team mate AI butts in and does it for you. **** zoom ability/controls, Sometimes unclear objectives. Annoying having to reload so often. No in-game customization in any way. Sometimes unable to avoid annoying deaths, such as cars blowing up next to you. Not played it online, but had a few split-screen multiplayer goes and it didn't really work at all- very disappointing.

It was an ok game, with some nice graphics, but nothing special and at times I chore to get through and I didn’t feel inspired to try completing it again. I have no idea why 9 outta 10 gamers call this game “perfect”.

Graphics: 9/10
Game play: 6/10
Story: 3/10
Sound: 8/10
Overall: 6.5/10

I know it's not the newest game, but happened to just play it recently.


I agree with you mate but you should title that COD4 Single Player the online is much better but I totally agree on the single player.
#26
Met-Cast
Keep it up guys
Asked mods to make it official and delete non review comments


really nice one mate
#27
atigona
really nice one mate


But as always no reply.
#28
Met-Cast
I agree with you mate but you should title that COD4 Single Player the online is much better but I totally agree on the single player.


Perhaps I'm not the only one to notice some single player issues then? Did start my little review with "RE: Campaign:" though :thumbsup:
#29
another game which is highly rated on next gen consoles is GTA 4 and as i also have this i will review this on Friday afternoon
#30
MarzBarz
Ghost Busters is pretty awesome.


im stuck on the bit at the end of the graveyard where you have to throw the statues at the gate and break the faces , im on professional difficulty , any tips ?
#31
csiman
INFAMOUS - PS3
graphics: excellent 10/10
gameplay: superb 9/10
sound: good 7/10
lasting playability: 9/10 about 40 hours of gameplay if you complete side missions
overall: 9/10
conclusion: Just get this awesome game (play it for more than an hour and you wont put it down!





nearly platinumed this need the 21 stunts trophy
blinding game , loved this but i couldnt get into prototype dont see what the fuss is about that game
banned#32
brock101;6015241
nearly platinumed this need the 21 stunts trophy
blinding game , loved this but i couldnt get into prototype dont see what the fuss is about that game

+1 I had prototype at the same time as infamous. It was appalling compared to infamous.
#33
bump.....

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!