Are happli.co.uk reliable (IPAD 2 16GB - £199)?
The Daily Mirror was advertising a full page brand new IPAD 2 16GB for £199 from happli.co.uk so my Mum bought one. I thought this was cheap and looked into it and it seems happli are like groupon and the actual ipad is being shipped by 1234buy.co.uk.
Looked into 1234buy and their address is a Petrol station in Bromley in what looks a really run down area. Has scam written all over it if you ask me.
Anyone else buy the ipad and receive it?
Luckily, she paid via credit card.

All Comments (70)
Jump to unread Post a CommentEdited By: miikeyblue on Aug 17, 2012 06:36
I live in the borough of Bromley, though it is one of, if not the biggest London Boroughs, I might know the location.
I live in the borough of Bromley, though it is one of, if not the biggest London Boroughs, I might know the location.
http://www.1234buy.co.uk/
42 croydon rd
se20 4ae
looks a right hellhole in that area tbh
wmasters.co.uk
Registrant:
wholesale masters ltd
Registrant type:
Unknown
Registrant's address:
97 carsington crescent
derby
derbyshire
DE22 2QT
United Kingdom
Edited By: PhearFactor on Aug 17, 2012 07:33
This is probably not the site that you are looking for!
You attempted to reach http://www.1234buy.co.uk, but instead you actually reached a server identifying itself as wmasters.co.uk. This may be caused by a misconfiguration on the server or by something more serious. An attacker on your network could be trying to get you to visit a fake (and potentially harmful) version of http://www.1234buy.co.uk.
You should not proceed, especially if you have never seen this warning before for this site.
Edited By: csiman on Aug 17, 2012 07:34
wmasters.co.uk
Registrant:
wholesale masters ltd
Registrant type:
Unknown
Registrant's address:
97 carsington crescent
derby
derbyshire
DE22 2QT
United Kingdom
cheers - a small bungalow oO
That is who I would be contacting. Happli in my opinion have a responsibility.
It is worrying CSI, a clone of his original site with a few company name changes, address changes, etc. Can not be sure, but that would make me worried. Almost as if they have set-up this secondary business to just drive it into the wall.
Edited By: PhearFactor on Aug 17, 2012 07:44
That is who I would be contacting. Happli in my opinion have a responsibility.
wmasters.co.uk
Registrant:
wholesale masters ltd
Registrant type:
Unknown
Registrant's address:
97 carsington crescent
derby
derbyshire
DE22 2QT
United Kingdom
cheers - a small bungalow oO
It is worrying CSI, a clone of his original site with a few company name changes, address changes, etc. Can not be sure, but that would make me worried. Almost as if they have set-up this secondary business to just drive it into the wall.
exactly - I noticed that. Guess its a scam so will give it a few weeks before progressing a chargeback (if no ipad2 obviously ;) ).
cheers
I live in the borough of Bromley, though it is one of, if not the biggest London Boroughs, I might know the location.
http://www.1234buy.co.uk/
42 croydon rd
se20 4ae
looks a right hellhole in that area tbh
It's Penge, not Bromley (which is a nice town).
Penge IS the poorest part of Bromley. It is predominantly a black area. That postcode is coming up as Hawthorne Grove in Penge, though Croydon Road is between Beckenham and Croydon. It's not a bad area at all. Those houses along this road will be a £1m and up. (use SE20 7YZ as your search in google maps)
So it can be fairly certain it's a scam if they can't even match their postcode and road!
cheers
See if you can contact Happli, it would be great to know if the company has any customer service to back up such a pretty website haha
I live in the borough of Bromley, though it is one of, if not the biggest London Boroughs, I might know the location.
http://www.1234buy.co.uk/
42 croydon rd
se20 4ae
looks a right hellhole in that area tbh
It's Penge, not Bromley (which is a nice town).
Penge IS the poorest part of Bromley. It is predominantly a black area. That postcode is coming up as Hawthorne Grove in Penge, though Croydon Road is between Beckenham and Croydon. It's not a bad area at all. Those houses along this road will be a £1m and up. (use SE20 7YZ as your search in google maps)
So it can be fairly certain it's a scam if they can't even match their postcode and road!
my mistake
1234 Buy Ltd.
42 Croydon Road, Cranbrook House, London, SE20 7AE, UK
Thanks for that - sounds more encouraging so will reassure my mum :)
The two companies could be affiliated with one another. This could just be a customer acquisition technique.
Thats for 1234buy.com but thx anyway
The customer service at happli so far has been helpful but again let's see what happens. The guy I spoke to at 1234 said that actual delivery may be within 14 not 28 days as advertised
Will post here if and when I get the ipad
The customer service at happli so far has been helpful but again let's see what happens. The guy I spoke to at 1234 said that actual delivery may be within 14 not 28 days as advertised
Will post here if and when I get the ipad
cheers - happli are like groupon who often have scam deals albeit beyond their reasonable control......
130 units sounds reasonable though as it was a full page spread costing thousands in the mirror so maybe happli subsidised 1234buy in order to get web awareness....
stupid website name mind you ;)
Edited By: csiman on Aug 17, 2012 08:08
I live in the borough of Bromley, though it is one of, if not the biggest London Boroughs, I might know the location.
http://www.1234buy.co.uk/
42 croydon rd
se20 4ae
looks a right hellhole in that area tbh
It's Penge, not Bromley (which is a nice town).
Penge IS the poorest part of Bromley. It is predominantly a black area. That postcode is coming up as Hawthorne Grove in Penge, though Croydon Road is between Beckenham and Croydon. It's not a bad area at all. Those houses along this road will be a £1m and up. (use SE20 7YZ as your search in google maps)
So it can be fairly certain it's a scam if they can't even match their postcode and road!
my mistake
1234 Buy Ltd.
42 Croydon Road, Cranbrook House, London, SE20 7AE, UK
Interesting! 2 Croydon roads within a mile of each other with similar postcodes! I bet the postmen have fun with that one!
Don't know this location at all, but it's going towards Penge which is grot ville. Is it the Jet petrol station?