Have you been scammed by www.clselectronicstore.co.uk? - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

Have you been scammed by www.clselectronicstore.co.uk?

arithon68 Avatar
9y, 7m agoPosted 9 years, 7 months ago
If so, or you know somebody who has, please visit http://www.kl2.com/calfarni for details of Mr. Calfarni Simpson and his activities as CLS Electronic Store and Simpson's Entertainment.

Any further information you can provide and pass on to the Online Fraud email address given on the site will help a great deal. :thumbsup:

I understand HDUK listed CLS for a while, before removing them as a merchant (because of complaints we assume).

Warn others, this site is a scammer.
arithon68 Avatar
9y, 7m agoPosted 9 years, 7 months ago

All Comments

(21) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Thats why its important to do whois check and see where they are (Like Dino often does when somebody asks if a company is ok.)
Welcome to HUKD and thanks for the warning. :thumbsup:

Thats why its important to do whois check and see where they are

I agree :thumbsup:
I've seen that guy before :?
wasnt that a canadian company set up in the uk
someone thought it was an ok company
why his website is still up and running? :thinking:
If you do a WHOIS on the www.clselectronicstore.com domain you get the details below. This points to a Council House in Forest Hill, Lewisham. Not a Canadian Electronics firm. Also the blurb about the Canadian branch says they started in 1998 (When "Kalz" was 14) and the domain was only registered last Feb.

We've taken offline copies of both sites (in case he attempts to wipe them) and the .com version is a lot smaller. Probably set up to make the whole scam more convincing.
He's been reported to tucows + cgi_net, it'll only be a matter of time before his sites are taken down.
and why isnt this store in the engine search
I can't find anything on Whois.com
The .com is by the same guy and only created in Feb 2005 (not founded in 1998 as claimed). Check out the WHOIS link to [url]www.clselectronicstore.com[/url] on http://www.kl2.com/calfarni to see the details.

Easy-CGI should take his site down, but they've not replied to us yet.

PayPal has frozen his account and another forum poster said he bought something from the site and HSBC bank returned his money, so they are on to him.

I'll post more details as they come to me.
A whois is for .com revealed :

Domain Name.......... clselectronicstore.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: NS1.EASY-CGI.COM
Name Server: NS2.EASY-CGI.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 26-feb-2007
Creation Date: 17-feb-2005
Expiration Date: 17-feb-2008

>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 30 May 2007 14:20:49 UTC <<<
It's funny how none of these scammers use Whois Guard:-D
Further to our recent discussion regarding your complaint about CLS I see from the "Fraud Alert" site that you appear to have obtained a refund from Pay Pal, if this is the case my congratulations.

We are in the process of investigating the business and the individual behind it, and to this end we may well be looking at taking enforcement action under the Enterprise Act 2002 there is also a possibility of action under the Trade Descriptions Act 1968, The Trade Marks Act or the Fraud Act 2006.

To this end I would like to take a statement from you regarding your dealings with the business, and in addition I would like to know whether you are aware of any further complainants who have had dealings with the business.

Thanks in advance for your help with this enquiry, I look forward to hearing from you in due course,

Yours sincerely,

Senior Enforcement Officer
Lewisham Trading Standards
[EMAIL="[email protected]"][/EMAIL]

Looks like this scammer's days are numbered....
Probably best to take the contact details out of the post above...
Taken out.
Probably best to take the contact details out of the post above...

Why remove the contact details?

Surely people who've been taken, should be able to find out who they can contact?

Dont't flame me - I'm just asking.
Why remove the contact details?

The law man :) Publishing personal contact details is a big no-no in terms of privacy and data protection. Also, in terms of basic respect for privacy it's not a good idea to have your telephone number, name, etc floating around in Google for anyone to find uncontrolled.
I have nver heard of WHOIS. What does it stand for and why is it useful.??
I have nver heard of WHOIS. What does it stand for and why is it useful.??

www.who.is - It gives you registration/ownership info for websites and the like. :thumbsup:
1 Like #20
Yep, when you take on a domain you have to register valid details of ownership which is available for anyone to look up. This thread is a particularly good example why it's useful, here we supposedly have a Canadian website started in 1998 but the domain was registered more recently in the UK.

Quite often computer sites that seem too good to be true can be checked through whois to find they're been setup very recently and in many cases are the details of known scammers.

The system also allows you to check if different companies which look suspiciously similar are the same as they will often have both sites registered to the same address.

Excellent resource thanks.

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!