If I reset my ps3 data...? - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

If I reset my ps3 data...?

JaYy_dOg Avatar
7y, 4d agoPosted 7 years, 4 days ago
Will I lose all my stuff from it e.g my accounts, trophys, save files, the games I got from gamesharing etc. I have recently got a problem in my psn account and someone suggested that I should reset my ps3 data.
JaYy_dOg Avatar
7y, 4d agoPosted 7 years, 4 days ago
Options

All Comments

(8) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
#1
Hi,yes you do lose everything,it wipes it all clean.I did it to mine once to try and sort a problem.I backed my saves to a memory stick,it had problems reading the memory stick afterwards though,and I lost soem of my save games.Anything you buy from the store you can download again for free
banned#2
you dont lose trophies as there are stored online

just back up game save data and accounts
#3
use a flash drive or something to backup your save file
then reset it
#4
But last time I tried putting the save file back it didn't let me. That was for ps home btw. Will reseting it activate my account if already done on 5 others systems?
banned#5
JaYy_dOg;7063582
But last time I tried putting the save file back it didn't let me. That was for ps home btw. Will reseting it activate my account if already done on 5 others systems?

resetting it will just set it back to factory default

have you been installing psn games on multiple ps3s to share and have now been blocked by Sony?
#7
csiman
resetting it will just set it back to factory default

have you been installing psn games on multiple ps3s to share and have now been blocked by Sony?


I game shared with people, i give my account and the have thiers and download games/packs etc. And ive done this 5 times and now im not able to Activate my account as they have been activated in 5 other ps3 systems.
banned#8
JaYy_dOg;7068226
I game shared with people, i give my account and the have thiers and download games/packs etc. And ive done this 5 times and now im not able to Activate my account as they have been activated in 5 other ps3 systems.

Sony has blocked your PSN online access completely then as its against their copyright terms to game share.

A reset wont help matters. Your only choice I believe is to set up a new PSN account and face the fact you will have to buy the games again and lose all your game save data, trophies etc

Even then, Sony may have actually blocked your PS3 from online access, and tbh, I cant say I blame them!

Wasnt it obvious that they would notice that you were multi-installing your PSN games across PS3s?

You could get one of your mates to remove their copies of your games from their PS3s. Note that deleting a profile via the XMB from a PS3 doesnt automatically deactivate it under the PSN account associated to that profile. It has to be "manually" deactivated from the account management page in order to free one of those 5 activations. So if a friend of yours is using your PSN account and decides to dispose of his PS3 system, tell him to do the deactivation thing (log in as you > Account Management > Activate System > PlayStation 3 (this system) > Deactivate system), otherwise you'll lose one of your possible activations. Simply deleting the profile associated with your PSN account or formatting the HDD is not enough.

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!