All Mass Effect Reviews so far! - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HotUKDeals, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HotUKDeals app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

All Mass Effect Reviews so far!

£0.00 @
All reviews so far for Mass Effect. Yeesh some tough scores there. Read More
benjammin316 Avatar
3m, 1w agoPosted 3 months, 1 week ago
All reviews so far for Mass Effect. Yeesh some tough scores there.
benjammin316 Avatar
3m, 1w agoPosted 3 months, 1 week ago
Options

All Comments

(44) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
Page:
#1
Let the hate run through you

Attack of the Fanboy - Kyle Hanson - 4 / 5 stars (PC)
Mass Effect: Andromeda fails to deliver a compelling plot and the journey to a whole new galaxy offers little that's new or exciting. Still, it does give you the same quality gameplay the series is known for and you'll enjoy your time with your new crew, even if they're no replacement for the originals.

CGMagazine - Chris Carter - 7 / 10 (XB1)
At times, Mass Effect: Andromeda can feel like an expansion and not a true follow-up.

COGconnected - Paul Sullivan - 88 / 100 (PS4)
The fantastic combat and strong story points far outweigh the technical missteps and more cringeworthy moments.

Destructoid - Brett Makedonski - 6.5 / 10 (XB1)
Mass Effect: Andromeda spends a lot of time not really feeling like a Mass Effect game. If anything, it feels like a spin-off -- the sort of thing created by another studio that's unsure about what direction to take it. Like in the game itself, there are problems with the atmosphere. But Andromeda is very clear that it doesn't aim to be like the other Mass Effects. New beginnings, not funerals -- for better and for worse.

GameSpot - Scott Butterworth - 6 / 10 (PS4)
In many ways, Andromeda feels like a vision half-fulfilled. It contains a dizzying amount of content, but the quality fluctuates wildly. Its worlds and combat shine, but its writing and missions falter--and the relative strength of the former is not enough to compensate for the inescapable weakness of the latter. As a Mass Effect game, Andromeda falls well short of the nuanced politics, morality, and storytelling of its predecessors. For me, the series has always been about compelling characters and harrowing choices, so to find such weak writing here is bitterly disappointing. Yet even after 65 hours, I still plan on completing a few more quests. The game can't escape its shortcomings, but patient explorers can still find a few stars shining in the darkness.

GamesRadar+ - Andy Hartup - 3.5 / 5 stars
Andromeda provides an interesting premise and story, but is let down by poor combat, excessive padding, and over-complication

Gaming Nexus - Kinsey Danzis - 8.8 / 10 (XB1)
Mass Effect: Andromeda doesn’t quite live up to the hype, but it comes close. Considering the situation in which the developers found themselves, they put out an addition to the franchise that really feels like returning home even though you’re millions of light years from Earth. With stunning scenery, a distinct Mass Effect feel, and an abundance of things to do, it’s a worthy investment for any Mass Effect veteran or newcomer—but don’t expect it to be perfect.

Hardcore Gamer - Adam Beck - 3.5 / 5 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is an unbalanced experience.

PC Gamer - Chris Thursten - 80 / 100 (PC)
Marred by inconsistency and in need of a polish pass, this vast new sci-fi frontier nonetheless rewards dedicated exploration.

PlayStation Universe - Kyle Prahl - 8 / 10 (PS4)
Andromeda’s first adventure is plagued by frustrations. But memorable characters, a satisfying story, and deep RPG systems ultimately win the day.

Press Start - James Mitchell - 9 / 10 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda manages to successfully bring back the sense of exploration and discovery that fans have longed for since the original Mass Effect, whilst honing and improving the already enjoyable combat mechanics of Mass Effect 3. The result is something truly special – a metaphorical slow burn, a hybrid that is sure to appeal to fans of both the original game and its flashier sequels. Despite this, Andromeda is hampered slightly by its lack of visual polish and presentation, which can kill the wonder and fantasy as quickly as it builds it.

USgamer - Kat Bailey - 3 / 5 stars (PS4)
Mass Effect Andromeda falls short of its predecessors, but it's still a competently executed open-world action RPG with an interesting world and tons of quests to complete. Its biggest shame is that it doesn't make better use of its setting, opting instead to go with more of the same. Hopefully BioWare will be more ambitious when it comes time for the inevitable sequel.

Xbox Achievements - Richard Walker - 80% (XB1)
You might initially turn your nose up at Mass Effect: Andromeda, but stick with it and you'll be richly rewarded with a vast space opera that gets better and better. It has problems, but they pale into insignificance once you're swept up in the exploits of Mass Effect: Andromeda's Pathfinder.


Edited By: benjammin316 on Mar 20, 2017 18:56
#2
Stevivor - Steve Wright - 9.5 / 10 (XB1)
Savour the experience, boys and girls, and delight in carefully-placed groundwork that will ensure more adventures to come… and hopefully more for your twin to do.

Eurogamer - Edwin Evans-Thirlwell - Unscored (PS4)
It's gripping stuff, and a reminder of the greatness of the Mass Effect trilogy - its intelligent reworkings of pulp sci-fi cliche, the taut splendour of its scenarios and aesthetic, the colour and dexterity of its writing. All that's still in here somewhere, I think. But then you pop out the other end of the mission, back into Andromeda's labyrinth of drudgery and obfuscation, and remember that you're a long way from home.

GamingTrend - Travis Northup - 80 / 100 (XB1)
Mass Effect Andromeda is a return to the original Mass Effect game in ways both good and bad. Interesting characters, solid gameplay and RPG mechanics, and the revival of the open-world elements of the series will immerse and delight longtime fans. However, wooden characters, a light story, and plenty of glitches hold this title back from fulfilling its full potential.

MMORPG.com - Catherine Daro - 8.7 / 10
Mass Effect: Andromeda is a very solid game. BioWare had obviously taken their lessons both from original Mass Effect trilogy as well as Dragon Age series and mixed it with fair dose of experience of other AAA titles of late. It is not Inquisition in space, although the influence of it is clearly seen.

RPG Fan - Derek Heemsbergen - 78% (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda presents plenty of great ideas, but these tend to be either aped too closely from its predecessors or buried under issues that are surmountable yet frustrating all the same.

Metro GameCentral - GameCentral - 6 / 10 (PS4)
What could have been an all-time classic action role-player is let down by a surprisingly poor script and unengaging characters.

TheSixthAxis - Dominic Leighton - 8 / 10 (PS4, PC)
I found it hard to be excited during the opening hours of Mass Effect: Andromeda. It feels too safe, too much like what’s gone before, but then it clicks. There’s a moment where the galaxy opens up and you find yourself embarking once more on a huge mission across compelling, beautifully constructed planets, surrounded by memorable characters. Sadly the glut of technical missteps serve to cheapen proceedings, but this is still an adventure you don’t want to miss out on.

PlayStation LifeStyle - Keri Honea - 6.5 / 10 (PS4)
With the vast love of the Mass Effect series, Andromeda was never going to make people 100% happy, the same way the ME3 ending didn’t make people happy. The BioWare team put so many great things in place, but the main story, the characters, and most of the writing keep the game from being great. Sadly, technical mess keeps it from being good.

Shacknews - Brittany Vincent - Review-In-Progress (PC)
Mass Effect Andromeda is like the schlockiest science fiction B-movie you can find to rent and laugh at all night. It tries so hard, so desperately, to be everything to everyone. But its biggest pitfall is taking itself so seriously with a cavalcade of issues that not only break immersion but sometimes prevent you from advancing or enjoying the game in a manner that doesn't involve saving, stopping, restarting, and going back into it hoping the problem has been fixed.

Polygon - Arthur Gies - 7.5 / 10 (PS4, XB1) *Provisional Score
But it’s my time with the cast that I’m still thinking about, and the mysteries about the world that haven’t been answered that make me feel like I’m waiting once again for a new Mass Effect game. And if I’m judging a game by where it leaves me, Andromeda succeeds, even if it stumbled getting there.

Ars Technica - Lee Hutchinson - Review-In-Progress (PC)
If you are a die-hard Mass Effect fan who has a personal Shepard head-cannon, Andromeda is an insta-buy, no questions asked. It's the first Mass Effect game we've gotten in five years and potentially the starting point for a new series. It has many of the same traits that made the original Mass Effect trilogy great, and it feels right. If you’re not a die-hard Mass Effect fan, watch some YouTube videos first to make sure the game will be for you.

Post Arcade (National Post) - Chad Sapieha - 8.5 / 10 (PS4)
But for each hour I spent participating in humdrum combat I spent at least two or three engaged in thought provoking conversation or exploring strange new environments, learning more and more about the fascinatingly complex web of worlds, people, and problems that BioWare’s writers have woven. That’s why I play Mass Effect games. And it’s why Mass Effect: Andromeda, like its predecessors, is a blissfully easy recommendation for anyone looking for more than just another run-of-the-mill shoot ’em up set in space.

RPG Site - Andrea Shearon - 7 / 10 (PS4, PC)
Ryder’s tale feels like a solid beginning to something new. It needs more than a little polish, and probably some extensive work under the hood, but Andromeda has reassured me Mass Effect can exist without the Citadel, Earth, Shepard or even Ryder. This new galaxy left me with more questions than answers, but I’m okay with that. I hope another entry to the series means more exploration into every corner of humanity’s new home.

AngryCentaurGaming - Jeremy Penter - Rent (PC)
This is actually a 'Rent' or 'Deep, Deep Sale' on PC. The game has enough issues that right now there is no way I feel comfortable telling people to run out and get it. Because sure it can offer 60 hours, but I can flick my nuts for 60 hours, but it doesn't mean I want to.

IGN - Dan Stapleton - 7.7 / 10 (XB1, PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda only occasionally recaptures the series' brilliance, but delivers a vast and fun action-RPG.

Forbes - Paul Tassi - 8.5 / 10 (PS4)
I have a feeling that Mass Effect fans will enjoy the game, but I don't think anyone will claim it outclasses the original trilogy, outside of maybe the very first game. If you could combine the story and memorable quests of the originals with the combat, visuals and scope of Andromeda, you would have the perfect video game, though I think what's offered here will satisfy most.

Rock, Paper, Shotgun - John Walker - Unscored (PC)
As a follow-up to the previous trilogy, it's a timid and tepid tale too heavily reliant on what came before, too unambitious for what could have been, trapped in a gargantuan playground of bits and pieces to do.

Digital Trends - Phil Hornshaw - 2.5 / 5 stars (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda often comes off like a giant checklist of Mass Effect–themed content, but what it's missing is the wonder and excitement that made the last Mass Effect games feel special. The previous games had their issues, but combined their elements to create a vast, interesting world full of deep characters with conflicting desires and experiences that made us feel connected to it.

Critical Hit - Geoffrey Tim - 8 / 10 (PS4)
Mass Effect Andromeda is a fresh start – but in borrowing liberally from the first game it’s made many of the same mistakes. In spite of them, it’s an exciting space adventure that delivers everything that’s become important to Mass Effect: Great characters, fun exploration and a climactic tale of good vs evil.

Game Revolution - Aron Garst - 3.5 / 5 stars (PS4)
Although familiar in some regards, this is a positive in Andromeda’s case. Though, a truly successful revival needs to be innovative, not repetitive, and Andromeda often falls into a trap of tedium. It's a shame because it could have been so much more.

Fenix Bazaar - Gaetano Prestia - 8 / 10 (XB1)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is an important first step for a franchise looking to enter into a new generation. It might get off on the wrong foot, but some crafty navigation quickly gets it back on track.

Video Game Sophistry - 6 / 10 (PS4)
Ultimately, there is a lot of fun to be had here. There are moments here that matter, but this game requires that confluence of idea to really shine, it needs a thesis. Great art needs to tell a story in it, and subjectively if you found something beautiful in this I understand, but there is objectively some problems with this masterpiece that make me want to go back to the Milky Way galaxy, find my crew, and never go to Andromeda.

God is a Geek - Chris White - 8.5 / 10 (PS4)
A welcome return to Bioware’s space opera, introducing great characters, an interesting story and some fantastic designs, always providing things to do.

Areajugones - Antonio Vallejo.T - Spanish - 9 / 10 (PC)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is a great project by BioWare and it is a stunning experience. Amazing narrative and plot, a true feeling of exploration and a very dynamic combat system. Even though its animations may not be the best ones, this game offers hours and hours of action and entertainment.

Arcade Sushi - Luke Brown - 7 / 10 (XB1)
Bioware brought a lot more planets, combat, exploration and mechanics to the table this time around, but more isn't always better. There may be no stronger case for keeping things simple than Mass Effect Andromeda.

IGN Spain - José L. Ortega - Spanish - 8.5 / 10 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is a great game, but far from being perfect. It will satisfy the expectations of the fans but fails on delivering a master piece with errors in almost every aspect of the game.
#3
GameInformer - Joe Juba - 8 / 10 (PS4)
When taken as its own journey (and not in comparison to Shepard’s saga), Mass Effect: Andromeda is fun, and the important parts work. The narrative isn’t astounding, but keeps you invested and drives you forward. The combat is entertaining whether you're in single-player or multiplayer. The crew isn't my favorite, but I like them and they have some good moments. Even with its other problems, these are the largest forces shaping your experience with Mass Effect: Andromeda, and they make it worth playing. At the same time, I was often left looking through a haze of inconveniences and dreaming about the game it could have been.

GameMAG - xtr - Russian - 7 / 10 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda has many noticeable problems, including strange animation, ugly characters, logically incomplete quests and numerous minor flaws. But this game offers an interesting main plot, nice RPG system and a huge world where you can explore different planets, solve puzzles, fight giant monsters, uncover secrets of the universe and participate in the colonization of deep space. Of course, this is not the Mass Effect we wanted, but a very large and interesting game, which significantly extends the known universe.

GamesBeat - Jeff Grubb - 55 / 100 (PC)
Games have to fit into our lives, and that's not always fair. Mass Effect: Andromeda might've worked a decade ago on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but it doesn't work in a world that is delivering games like Horizon: Zero Dawn, Nier: Automata, and The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. In this reality, BioWare's latest role-playing game is old, broken, and often boring.
Worst of all, it's going to disappoint fans of the Mass Effect series.

GamePro - Rae Grimm - German - 87 / 100 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is a gigantic Sci-Fi epic and brave restart for the series, that doesn't reach the magic of its predecessors.

M3 - Niklas Alicki - Swedish - 5 / 10 (XB1)
Bioware's highly anticipated space adventure sadly fails to deliver on some critical points. Wonky animations, a boring set of characters and so-so story elements have officially de-railed the hype train for Mass Effect: Andromeda.

GamePlanet - Matt Maguire - 8 / 10 (XB1)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is a paradox: it's both disappointing and excellent. A mammoth title, it delivers tons of great content, but hamstrings itself with a poor first few hours, a few horrible systems, and some uninspired scenarios. Even so, it's pretty great!

IGN Italy - Francesco Destri - Italian - 7.8 / 10 (PS4)
Mass Effect: Andromeda is disappointing in many aspects (not just the visual ones), even if sci-fi mood, exploration, crafting and multiplayer are well done.

GameSpace - Suzie Ford - 8.5 / 10 (PC)
Whether it’s the combat system that is both new and familiar or multiplayer with its improvements or the interesting variety of quests or the epic score that screams Mass Effect, it all gels together into a whole. Ryder’s galaxy is as well-suited to her as the Milky Way was for Shepard. If we’re lucky, there are a lot more adventures in store for Ryder and her crew.
#4
Do you want ours ?
oh well here goes anyway
I like Mass effect 2 still not got very far but cool ;)
1 Like #5
thewongwing101
Do you want ours ?
oh well here goes anyway
I like Mass effect 2 still not got very far but cool ;)


I tried Mass Effect 3, wasn't for me. Half the time I wondered wtf was I supposed to be doing!
#6
benjammin316
thewongwing101
Do you want ours ?
oh well here goes anyway
I like Mass effect 2 still not got very far but cool ;)
I tried Mass Effect 3, wasn't for me. Half the time I wondered wtf was I supposed to be doing!
Yeah I get that only just discovered this relay thingy :|
2 Likes #7
Cancelled my preorder this morning after reading the EG review and based on some of the feedback from the trial that's going around...

I'll probably give the trial a go at some point and make up my own mind, but I can see myself just waiting for this one to turn up on EA Access later on in the year...
1 Like #8
I trust CosmicEngine the most when it comes to reviews. Think he has only did a preview of the game so far...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2eT2ajdyhT4

Also ACG who has did a review...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzJc6jo-0XA
2 Likes #9
dr_spaceman
I trust CosmicEngine the most when it comes to reviews. Think he has only did a preview of the game so far...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2eT2ajdyhT4
Also ACG who has did a review...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzJc6jo-0XA


Really enjoy ACG reviews!
1 Like #10
Eesh, some bad scores there! I think I'm definitely giving this a miss for a while and waiting until it's cheap. Poor effort.
1 Like #11
Bure11
Eesh, some bad scores there! I think I'm definitely giving this a miss for a while and waiting until it's cheap. Poor effort.
B team developed it, or so is the general opinion.
We all know what happened to Dark souls when the B-team got their hands on the IP.

I'm surprised EA did this as ME was high on most peoples wanted list.
3 Likes #12
all the words in the reviews seem rather negative but the scores are still high, I can only think of this gif

http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/417/486/0e0.gif
#13
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgFHIR7lLC0

PLEASE tell me this isn't real. It looks fake but I just can't tell for sure.
1 Like #14
Bure11
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgFHIR7lLC0
PLEASE tell me this isn't real. It looks fake but I just can't tell for sure.



$40mill budget put to great use

MichaelJordan.gif
#15
benjammin316
Bure11
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgFHIR7lLC0
PLEASE tell me this isn't real. It looks fake but I just can't tell for sure.
$40mill budget put to great use
MichaelJordan.gif
That's just embarrassingly bad
2 Likes #16
Too busy playing Neir Automata at the moment but I was looking forward to this. Maybe I will wait till it comes down in price a bit.
2 Likes #17
Sometimes its a good thing when an IP starts to die, it means the Publisher is now on the look for the next big thing and as such we see more risks taken..

And fair play Benjammin thats a fair bit of effort..... fam? ;)

Edited By: haritori on Mar 20, 2017 20:13: fam
1 Like #18
haritori
Sometimes its a good thing when an IP starts to die, it means the Publisher is now on the look for the next big thing and as such we see more risks taken..


Definitely! I will still be trying the trial via EA Access however to see what all the fuss is about!
1 Like #19
Always thought the first 3 were awful. Looks like nothings improved.
#20
Multiplayer was a lag fest.

Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.

Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.

Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
2 Likes #21
I only recently played the first one, by the time I get round to this, it might be fixed with patches and part of the EA Access Vault!
3 Likes #22
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)


Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
#23
Bure11
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgFHIR7lLC0
PLEASE tell me this isn't real. It looks fake but I just can't tell for sure.

Is that supposed to be a robot? The red head.

Edited By: catbeans on Mar 20, 2017 22:55
#24
Last game had RNG loot and wasn't great, not surprised.

It will be a best selling game anyway though and people will say its the best game they've played, it says Mass Effect on the box.
#25
catbeans
Bure11
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgFHIR7lLC0
PLEASE tell me this isn't real. It looks fake but I just can't tell for sure.
Is that supposed to be a robot? The red head.
Nope, human

Edited By: Bure11 on Mar 20, 2017 23:57
#26
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)

Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
I definitely am. Why buy on release when you get a cheaper, better game down in the line?
1 Like #27
Con_G
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games

With all of 2017's releases so far, I only fully enjoyed Resident Evil 7.

Resident Evil 7 has managed to keeps its value thankfully.

This year so far has had some questionable releases. For Honor being one of them :D



You need to play horizon zero dawn
#28
roloboy
Con_G
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
With all of 2017's releases so far, I only fully enjoyed Resident Evil 7.
Resident Evil 7 has managed to keeps its value thankfully.
This year so far has had some questionable releases. For Honor being one of them :D
You need to play horizon zero dawn
While I wouldn't disagree - also, Breath of the Wild;)
#29
Illusionary
roloboy
Con_G
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
With all of 2017's releases so far, I only fully enjoyed Resident Evil 7.
Resident Evil 7 has managed to keeps its value thankfully.
This year so far has had some questionable releases. For Honor being one of them :D
You need to play horizon zero dawn
While I wouldn't disagree - also, Breath of the Wild;)


I bought breath of the wild .. just couldn't get into it. I must be an odd one :D
#30
roloboy
Illusionary
roloboy
Con_G
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
With all of 2017's releases so far, I only fully enjoyed Resident Evil 7.
Resident Evil 7 has managed to keeps its value thankfully.
This year so far has had some questionable releases. For Honor being one of them :D
You need to play horizon zero dawn
While I wouldn't disagree - also, Breath of the Wild;)
I bought breath of the wild .. just couldn't get into it. I must be an odd one :D
Well, there's no accounting for taste, I guess ;)

How much time did you give to it/how far did you get (what did you do?)?

Edited By: Illusionary on Mar 21, 2017 00:43
1 Like #31
I played on it for around 4 hours. To be honest I didn't understand what I was doing as their was no game intro ... (or did I skip it
#32
roloboy
Con_G
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
With all of 2017's releases so far, I only fully enjoyed Resident Evil 7.
Resident Evil 7 has managed to keeps its value thankfully.
This year so far has had some questionable releases. For Honor being one of them :D
You need to play horizon zero dawn
Second this! Superb game. Unlike the last guardian I finally finished which was a total waste of 12 hours
2 Likes #33
Bure11
benjammin316
Con_G
Multiplayer was a lag fest.
Rubber banding, ghosting, all of it made it unbearable.
Single player was alright in comparison to the previous games.
Was willing to get the best edition based on the fact its Mass Effect. However, thanks to the trial I might get it when its sub £30 like most games this year. (_;)
Yeah I think I'm done getting games in release days!... Well, most games
I definitely am. Why buy on release when you get a cheaper, better game down in the line?


Yeah this is definitely something I need to practice doing. The allure of cheap digital games from other regions with gamesharing is usually too much to take though!
#34
First one was fantastic but clunky, second one amazing and imo one of the best games ever but three big pile of doo doo. I played for about 2 hours but had to give. This looks and sounds on same wave as three....Really wasn't impressed with the demo at all.
#35
[email protected]
Bure11
Eesh, some bad scores there! I think I'm definitely giving this a miss for a while and waiting until it's cheap. Poor effort.
B team developed it, or so is the general opinion.
We all know what happened to Dark souls when the B-team got their hands on the IP.
I'm surprised EA did this as ME was high on most peoples wanted list.

The B team is all thats left at Bioware as all the good talent have gone to other companies. Expect EA to shut the studio down as the Mass Effect games were never really mega sellers and EA have even said before as long as Bioware gets good review scores they will survive but thats not the case anymore.
#36
catbeans
Last game had RNG loot and wasn't great, not surprised.

It will be a best selling game anyway though and people will say its the best game they've played, it says Mass Effect on the box.

Nope. Mass Effect isn't GTA that it can survive bad review scores as the previous games weren't mega sellers anyway. In fact even the Dragon Age games which should actually be a more niche franchise has sold better than the Mass Effect games.
2 Likes #37
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k274/NaturalSkills/20170321_103213_zpsifoxrih3.jpg

Just arrived, will let you know how I get on after a decent days play.


Edited By: hello55060 on Mar 21, 2017 10:41
#38
darkspace100
catbeans
Last game had RNG loot and wasn't great, not surprised.
It will be a best selling game anyway though and people will say its the best game they've played, it says Mass Effect on the box.
Nope. Mass Effect isn't GTA that it can survive bad review scores as the previous games weren't mega sellers anyway. In fact even the Dragon Age games which should actually be a more niche franchise has sold better than the Mass Effect games.
GTA hasn't had to suffer bad review scores... The last two are in the top 10 highest rated the games of all time on Metacritic. I can't remember any of them (from 3 onwards anyway) reviewing poorly.
Just had a look at the user review scores for this and it's not looking too good! I know it's fashionable to badmouth it at the moment, but even so... 3.7/3.2 for PS4/Xbox One. Oof!
1 Like #39
There is a comical mismatch between the scores and what they actually wrote in the reviews.

4/5 : "Mass Effect: Andromeda fails to deliver a compelling plot and the journey to a whole new galaxy offers little that's new or exciting. "

Hard not to see it as some publications being intimidated against giving a mediocre score to a hyped AAA title.
#40
I did consider cancelling my order but I'm going to stick with it and give it a chance.

I'm a huge fan of the series and played the first through maybe 4-5 times, second I played 3 times and the third another handful of times.

I won't be expecting ME2 quality but at least I am prepared for any potential disappointments now.

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!