McDonalds complaint - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit
Expired

McDonalds complaint

razta Avatar
8y, 8m agoPosted 8 years, 8 months ago
Hello,
Does this letter make sense? Any one complained to mcdonalds before? Is the correct address to send the letter to this one?

McDonalds Restaurants Ltd
11-59 High Road
East Finchley
London N2 8AW

THE LETTER UPDATED 16/04/08:

To whom it may concern,
This is a formal complaint about the McDonalds restaurant located at Potts Street, Byker, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 1ED.

My girlfriend and I entered the restaurant at about 20:00 on the 04/04/2008, we both ordered a quarter pounder meal each, one large and one regular, both meals were ready in a timely manner, I sat down and took a bite out of my burger only to realise that it was only partially cooked, there was liquid blood from the beef at the bottom of the burger box and the burger itself was as raw as a blue steak, the chips were also stone cold.

I returned to the counter to alert the staff who got the manager, I wouldnt have taken it back just for the cold chips, as from frequent visits to your restaurants I find that cold chips are part of the menu, but the burger was inedible so I had no choice. The manager apologised and told me he would replace the burger and both of the chips and this would only take 2 ½ minutes, 15 minutes later I returned to the counter as I could see the new burger was ready however all the staff had forgotten I was even there waiting for a new one, I asked for a refund as I now had to be somewhere and only nipped in as I thought it would be fast food, the manager then calculated how much the quarter pounder, 1x medium chips and 1x large chips cost and refunded me for them and not the two cokes and one burger.

I did not realise until leaving the restaurant that he had charged me for the 2x cokes and 1x burger. I have taken this as a complete insult as I dont only expect to be paying for the food however for the service also, if he would have refunded the whole amount in the first place I would have probably said to charge for what we had eaten/drunk.

The raw burger is a serious health and safety issue and if I had not realised so early I might have become very ill and also had to miss work. I am considering contacting the Environmental Health and the Food Standards Agency if this issue is not resolved.

This is the first official complaint of my life as I dont normally like to complain however on 04/04/2008 your company really let me down. I would like a reply within 14 days of you receiving this letter as I sent an email to your company from your website feedback submission form 12 days ago and I still have not had a reply.

Thank you,
Tags:
Other Links From McDonalds:
razta Avatar
8y, 8m agoPosted 8 years, 8 months ago
Options

All Comments

(64) Jump to unreadLocked
Comments/page:
Page:
#1
go back and smack him one
#2
undertrained spotty tw*ts, sort em out
#3
McDonald's Restaurants Ltd
11-59 High Road
East Finchley
London
N2 8AW
#4
Im glad you have put the address for them as i have been thinking of writing to ask why they are still insisting on putting salt on their chips without giving the customer the choice
#5
You go get him, unfortunately it is a franchise and anyone can lease or buy a restaurant. 8-(
#6
http://www.consumerrightsexpert.co.uk/HowToComplainAboutYourMeal.html
A look here may be of interest :thumbsup:

EVEN Maccy D's MUST comply with the rules !!
#7
miffy121
Im glad you have put the address for them as i have been thinking of writing to ask why they are still insisting on putting salt on their chips without giving the customer the choice


Yes - I can't undersdtand why they insist on doing that - it's not as if it will increase drink sales.
#8
That was quite a good, formal letter up until the "took the biscuit" part. Maybe rephrase that bit. I'll be sure not to go to that mcdonalds ever again.
#9
If i was the McDonalds leader dude and i read this i would be gob smacked and i would fire everyone working in that restaurant. ABSOLUTE fantastic letter. well i think that
#10
hypnoticstate;1835391
That was quite a good, formal letter up until the "took the biscuit" part. Maybe rephrase that bit. I'll be sure not to go to that mcdonalds ever again.


Yeah the took the biscuit bit makes it sound very british :thumbsup: ( i like that) lol
1 Like #11
"Me and my girlfriend " - stick to more formal language if possible "My girlfriend and I".
"The manager apologised and told me he would replace the burger and both of the chips and this would only take 2 ½ minutes, 15 minutes later I returned to the counter to ask for a refund as I now had to be some where and only nipped in as I thought it would be fast food, the manager then calculated how much the quarter pounder, 1x medium chips and 1x large chips cost and refunded me for them and not the two cokes and one burger which my girlfriend had.

I did not realise until leaving the restaurant that he had charged me for the 2x cokes and 1x burger. I have taken this as a complete insult, if he would have refunded the whole amount I would have probably said to charge for what we had eaten/drunk."
Can I ask what you actually expected? Was there anything wrong with the coke? Hardly cheeky to refund the offensive item, and charge for that. Presumably the 2nd burger was OK?
"This is also not the first instance of bad service from this particular restaurant however I do not care to explain what happened." If you don't care to explain it has no relevance to the complaint - either make a complaint or don't - this really doesn't do anything for your letter.
"Please get back to me as I think that this type of service is unacceptable and would like an apology for the waiting, the raw burger and the cheeky manager."
Again - it might be better not to use the word cheeky. Is it just an apology you want or a refund?
Raw meat is a huge health and safety issue - and blood in the bottom? Rather extreme; Really hammer home this bit as it is the only thing they are going to be wary of - cold chips, and poor customer service is the norm for a franchised fast food resteraunt.
#12
hypnoticstate;1835391
That was quite a good, formal letter up until the "took the biscuit" part. Maybe rephrase that bit. I'll be sure not to go to that mcdonalds ever again.


What would you recommend? I definatly wont be going again, but thats not the first time ive said that. lol
#13
You will probably get a £10 voucher, we have had to complain about a particular experience before "A drive thru" order that was wrong.
#14
seancampbell;1835410
"Me and my girlfriend " - stick to more formal language if possible "My girlfriend and I".
"The manager apologised and told me he would replace the burger and both of the chips and this would only take 2 ½ minutes, 15 minutes later I returned to the counter to ask for a refund as I now had to be some where and only nipped in as I thought it would be fast food, the manager then calculated how much the quarter pounder, 1x medium chips and 1x large chips cost and refunded me for them and not the two cokes and one burger which my girlfriend had.

I did not realise until leaving the restaurant that he had charged me for the 2x cokes and 1x burger. I have taken this as a complete insult, if he would have refunded the whole amount I would have probably said to charge for what we had eaten/drunk."
Can I ask what you actually expected? Was there anything wrong with the coke? Hardly cheeky to refund the offensive item, and charge for that. Presumably the 2nd burger was OK?
"This is also not the first instance of bad service from this particular restaurant however I do not care to explain what happened." If you don't care to explain it has no relevance to the complaint - either make a complaint or don't - this really doesn't do anything for your letter.
"Please get back to me as I think that this type of service is unacceptable and would like an apology for the waiting, the raw burger and the cheeky manager."
Again - it might be better not to use the word cheeky. Is it just an apology you want or a refund?
Raw meat is a huge health and safety issue - and blood in the bottom? Rather extreme; Really hammer home this bit as it is the only thing they are going to be wary of - cold chips, and poor customer service is the norm for a franchised fast food resteraunt.


Thanks for the advice, I,ll change the letter before I send it. I believe I should have been refunded the full amount as I did not have chance to eat with my girlfreind, the time it took and the trouble I went through. I dont only pay for the food but also the service.
#15
badmanmeow
If i was the McDonalds leader dude and i read this i would be gob smacked and i would fire everyone working in that restaurant. ABSOLUTE fantastic letter. well i think that


I wouldn't... I'd send you some vouchers...

Not gonna sack someone for that...
#16
Fair enough - just make it clear that is why you expect a full refund. The standard of care expected in fast food resteraunts is fairly low. "Reasonable comfort" and "a certain standard of service" obviously correspond to the price, so 15 minutes wait time etc is less likely to get McDonalds in hot water than a sit down waiter service resteraunt for example.
#17
To whom it may concern,
This is a formal complaint about the McDonalds restaurant located at Potts Street, Byker, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 1ED.

My girlfriend and I entered the restaurant at about 20:00 on the 04/04/2008, we both ordered a quarter pounder meal each, one large and one regular, both meals were ready in a timely manner, I sat down and took a bite out of my burger only to realise that it was only partially cooked, there was liquid blood from the beef at the bottom of the burger box and the burger itself was as raw as a blue steak, the chips were also stone cold.

I returned to the counter to alert the staff who got the manager, I wouldn’t have taken it back just for the cold chips, as from many visits to your restaurants I find that cold chips are part of the menu, but the burger was inedible so I had no choice. The manager apologised and told me he would replace the burger and both of the chips and this would only take 2 ½ minutes, 15 minutes later I returned to the counter to ask for a refund as I now had to be some where and only nipped in as I thought it would be “fast food”, the manager then calculated how much the quarter pounder, 1x medium chips and 1x large chips cost and refunded me for them and not the two cokes and one burger which my girlfriend had.

I did not realise until leaving the restaurant that he had charged me for the 2x cokes and 1x burger. I have taken this as a complete insult; if he would have refunded the whole amount I would have probably said to charge for what we had eaten/drunk.

The raw burger is a serious health and safety issue and if I had not realised so early I might have become very ill and had to miss work.

This is the first official complaint of my life as I don’t normally like to complain however today 04/04/2008 your company really let me down.


Better?
#18
Would be good to get names of the people involved even the person who served you???

If you can show them that you have done your research and know what you are talking about they may actaully read you letter! mention some names and mentioned above such as the food agency and consumer complaints!!

Keep a track of the date you sent it off and even do it recorded delivery so you will have proof that they recieved so they cannot say that "we did not recive a letter"!!!

As they are a major comapany they are a franchise so they cannot be blamed depends on their partners so may be worth while handing a copy into the McDonalds you are refferring to.

Some useful sites:

http://www.consumerdirect.gov.uk/
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/food/mcd.html
http://www.topix.com/forum/com/mcd
#19
It might be worth contacting Environmental Health and the Food Standards Agency and getting some advice before you send the letter, they may want to investigate this matter further. McDonalds might try and fob you off but if you have contacted EH and FSA they may get involved with you, the matter would have to be formally investigated. We have done this when we found a fly in a M&S jelly dessert (yuk), Environmental Health made M&S find out exactly how it happened and how to prevent it from happening again. We got £20 voucher and formal apology from M&S, with the knowledge that Environmental Health were aware and M&S would do anything to prevent it happening again. Good luck
#20
Thanks for eveyones help, advice and support. Going to send the letter on Monday morning, also going to mention the [FONT="]Environmental Health and the Food Standards Agency but not going to contact them first, will contact them if I dont get an apology.

Thanks again!
[/FONT]
#21
you dont have to send a letter

heres online addy so do it now while you are still miffed http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/asp/contactus/asp/CU_Authorise.asp?page=restaurant

i have been trying to find customer services number - i have rung these a few times - always good for £20.00 voucher - i will p.m you when i find it
#22
miffy121
Im glad you have put the address for them as i have been thinking of writing to ask why they are still insisting on putting salt on their chips without giving the customer the choice




ASK FOR FRIES WITH NO SALT, THEY THEN COOK SOME FOR YOU

ITS ABOUT THE ONLY TIME WE HAD HOT FRIES IN A MCDONALDS , thanks to my daughter
#23
if you write........

CC. Environmental Health Agency

.....at the bottom of the letter they will think EHA have a copy of the letter ;-)
(CC. meaning carbon copy, which means you have sent an exact copy of this letter to someone else, not being patronising just in case you didn't know)

All the best, hope you get a result out of it
#24
i would also add on that later that day you were sick and had the runs
#25
0208 7007500 as opposed to their 08705244622

10a.m - 4 pm saturday
#26
Wait till the you complain in a so called upper class restaurant, they treat you worse than the vermin lol
#27
I have complained about McDonalds before, but only to the branch manager not the corporate offices. The service at my local branch was awful (it is somewhat better now) including 5 minute waits on pancakes (which only need popping in the microwave) and 4 occasions of being given out of date salad dressing.

For things like this they need to know what is going wrong.
#28
holly100;1835681
you dont have to send a letter

heres online addy so do it now while you are still miffed http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/asp/contactus/asp/CU_Authorise.asp?page=restaurant

i have been trying to find customer services number - i have rung these a few times - always good for £20.00 voucher - i will p.m you when i find it


Sent them feedback from the link and will ring them tomorrow, if I dont get an official appology from either of these I'll send the letter recorded delivery next week.

Aslo addeds the following to the letter:

The raw burger is a serious health and safety issue and if I had not realised so early I might have become very ill and also have to miss work. I am considering contacting the Environmental Health and the Food Standards Agency if this issue is not resolved.

[FONT="]This is the first official complaint of my life as I don’t normally like to complain however today [/FONT][FONT="]04/04/2008[/FONT][FONT="] your company really let me down. I would like a reply within 14 days of you receiving this letter otherwise I will be contacting the relevant authorities regarding the Health and Safety to the general public[/FONT]
#29
razta
I would like a reply within 14 days of you receiving this letter otherwise I will be contacting the relevant authorities regarding the Health and Safety to the general public


That sounds a bit too much like a threat to me. If you think it is a health and safety issue then report it.
#30
razta
What would you recommend? I definatly wont be going again, but thats not the first time ive said that. lol


Perhaps you could say "but this incident is inexcusable".
1 Like #31
should of gone to specsavers, i mean burger king...
#32
fiyero
That sounds a bit too much like a threat to me. If you think it is a health and safety issue then report it.


The description would sugest that the burger was undercooked not raw. Most meat is served like that in France with no ill effect on the native customers. So, whilst an undercooked burger may not be to the customer's taste, I very much doubt that it was a health hazard. You've got to be careful with Macdonalds as they are quite litigious with anyone who criticises their products!
banned#33
tony_s1;1836050
The description would sugest that the burger was undercooked not raw. Most meat is served like that in France with no ill effect on the native customers. So, whilst an undercooked burger may not be to the customer's taste, I very much doubt that it was a health hazard. You've got to be careful with Macdonalds as they are quite litigious with anyone who criticises their products!


Yes but theyre supposed to be 'Flame Grilled Burgers' not Steak Tar Tar or whatever it's called :p
#34
wierdowoss
Yes but theyre supposed to be 'Flame Grilled Burgers' not Steak Tar Tar or whatever it's called :p


Steak Tartare (which is what it is called :) ) is not a health hazard otherwise it wouldn't be on so many menus! May not be to everyone's taste but it is not dangerous.
#35
I complained to McDonalds last year via the website form, and received a £10 voucher in the post :)
banned#36
tony_s1;1836095
Steak Tartare (which is what it is called :) ) is not a health hazard otherwise it wouldn't be on so many menus! May not be to everyone's taste but it is not dangerous.


Yes, but you cannot advertise something as Flame Grilled if it's barely cooked, that's all i'm saying :oops:
#37
have complained to mcdonalds before for their crud service and milkshake was messed up or something (ages ago so cant remember) actually emailed the complaint as didnt think much wud come of it... but we got 2 extra value meals free..... u however deserve more so a letter shud get u that. good luck
#38
Mcdonalds aint flame grilled and nowhere does it say how well done your burger will be, id suggest simply not going there again if you are that bothered about all this, you aint gonna get more than a standard reply letter and a 10quid voucher, if thats gonna satisy you then go ahead, but if youre hoping for more in anyway id say let it go and dont stress man ;)
#39
Here was me thinking they just microwaved the bugers! lol
banned#40
Being honest, the letter doesn't read that well (but its probably better than their usual complaints (ie - oi my f'ing chips are cold)).
Get rid of the 'formal' and 'official' complaints, if someone takes the time to write in they know they are ****** off and making it official.
For example, replace
'This is a formal complaint about the McDonalds restaurant located at Potts Street, Byker, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 1ED.'
with something like
'I would like to complain about the apalling service I recently received at your branch located at Potts Street, Byker, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE6 1ED.'

I'm too tired to do any more but if you want me to I can over the weekend (if you aren't sending till Monday).

Post a Comment

No more comments can be posted to this thread.
Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!