Hooked on hotukdeals|Join HUKD!

smartbuyglasses legit?

olivier81olivier81

Hi I want to buy a pair of prescription glasses from here as they are the best price I have found:

http://www.smartbuyglasses.co.uk/designer-eyeglasses/Persol/Persol-PO2996V-108-105738.html

I am concerned because there are reviews saying the glasses are counterfeit yet they are on listed on topcashback and quidco?

All Comments (19)

Jump to unread Post a Comment
    olivier81
    bump :)
    SmartBuyGlasses
    Hello Olivier!
    As I understand you are concerned about the authenticity of your designer glasses. Please be advised that SmartBuyGlasses guarantees all products are 100% Authentic and that all glasses are from reliable Italian suppliers.
    SmartBuyGlasses UK is part of the SmartBuyGlasses Optical Group, one of the World’s leading online designer eyewear retailers with operations in Europe, USA and Asia. We have been in business since 2006 and since then have serviced over 100 countries with one of the largest ranges of designer eyewear in the world.
    If you are still concerned about the authenticity of our glasses, please don't hesitate to contact us at servicemanager@smartbuyglasses.co.uk and we will be glad to reply to all your questions.
    Best Regards,
    Augustin | SBG
    olivier81
    anyone who actually isn't the company lol?
    bazzaric
    The above is normally a sure sign they are completely dodgy.
    bazzaric
    Domain name:
    smartbuyglasses.co.uk

    Registrant:
    SmartBuyGuru Enterprises

    Registrant type:
    Non-UK Corporation

    Registrant's address:
    locked bag 3001
    Beecroft
    Sydney
    2119
    Australia

    Registrar:
    Crazy Domains Pty Ltd t/a Crazy Domains [Tag = CRAZYDOMAINS-AU]
    URL: http://www.crazydomains.co.uk

    Relevant dates:
    Registered on: 28-Aug-2007
    Renewal date: 28-Aug-2013
    Last updated: 23-Mar-2012

    Registration status:
    Registered until renewal date.

    Name servers:
    ns.rackspace.com
    ns2.rackspace.com

    WHOIS lookup made at 18:19:50 27-Mar-2012
    olympians
    Company name sounds really dodgy, prices and bits of website even seem a bit dodgy (0 shares of pages etc).

    But the site looks quite a good design, they have lots of relevant material to what they are selling listed. And have a buy one give one campaign which seems to add a level of legitness.

    Can't whois during work, but if i'd have to guess I'd say avoid it till you find a few independant reviews from customers :P.
    olympians
    But that whois looks dodgy. i'd say avoid.
    miikeyblue
    Have a look on google for 'smartbuyglasses reviews'. I wouldn't go near them.

    Every 1 star review seems to be countered with a 5 star review. There's nothing in between, far too suspicious. Also they pop up all over the place defending themselves - if they were that good, they wouldn't need to, their reputation would do it for them.
    bazzaric
    In before we get sued
    olivier81
    cheers everyone I'll give them a wide berth :)

    Edited By: olivier81 on Mar 27, 2012 21:12
    garg2
    This was the most disgusting and horrible online shopping experience in my whole life. I wasted almost one month just waiting for my product to arrive and the company kept on making false promises. Just said sorry after making me wait so long and offered another product but next day informed me that even that product is out of stock. The customer service is rubbish and when I asked for cancelling my order, informed me that it may take time upto 10 days.
    Please avoid buying from this seller.
    stayaway123
    Stay as far away as you can. I ordered a pair of glasses on the 25th of October - its 10th of December today and im still waiting, as they have messed up the delivery address and sent the glasses somewhere else..

    Also according to the tracking info the glasses were sent from HONG KONG, which as far as I remember from geography lessons is not in Italy. So, so much for the authenticity!

    I have asked for this order to be cancelled and money refunded.

    Stay away from this company!
    pbeaudro
    I'm currently wearing a pair of SBG specs, purchased a couple of years ago. Actually, strictly speaking, ordered a couple of years and a few months ago, but delivered around 3 months after initial order and payment. Woeful customer service process, but to their credit they did compensate with an almighty discount on the product after a bit of pushing, and the quality of the product is fine.

    This was a second attempt to buy specs online - the first ones I ordered from a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT COMPANY were problematic - the frames were lovely (a like-for-like replacement for the BENCH specs I had at the time from Boots), but the lenses distorted awfully and I simply couldn't look through them without getting vertigo. That retailer charged me £25 to get them checked but concluded that they were within normal industry tollerances. I opted for a full refund (less that £25) and moved on. So, by the time I got to SBG I was already pretty short on patience.

    By way of comparison, the previous two pairs of specs I'd bought from high street retailers had to be returned (twice in one case) as the lenses were mis-manufactured, but there was a certain security in going into a shop and pointing it out to a human being rather than going back-and-forth with emails to Hong Kong or wherever.

    Overall, buying online ended up saving me a massive amount, but it's really up to the individual whether it's worth the potential hassle. I'm now shopping for a new pair, and just as keen to save cash, but I'm a bit more hestitant now than I was before.
    brinks243
    I bought a pair of Tom Ford glasses from this site at almost half price. They were original and superb quality.
    The only downside to the transaction was the amount of time it took (almost a month and a half )
    So if you've the patience, I'd say go ahead
    Knifemaster
    I've bought six pairs of sunglasses from this company without any problems, yes their delivery is slow, but I reckon they are ordering them direct from Italy as you order them (almost all sunglasses are made in one plant in Italy apparently) I can't fault the quality and if these were fakes they would be damned good ones, I have other sunglasses by the same manufacturers from different suppliers and they have all the hallmarks of the genuine item, decent hinges, scratch resist lenses, no lense warp and the frames are solid and flawless. So I don't know, if I was you I'd order a cheap pair of Polaroids and see what you get, mine were actually really good, as we're the two hundred quid serengetti's.
    scammedbysmartbuyglasses
    This company is a joke. The worst customer service ever no response to emails . Too dodgy to have a telephone number. No refunds. AVIOD AVIOD AVIOD. Hopefully you are doing research on the company before buying and not like me who did it after BIG mistake and I have been scammed for £300 . Don't think they are so much cheaper and i'll take a chance as you could end up like me no glasses and £300 out of pocket. Listen to your instincts people aren't writing these bad reviews for fun
    das123
    They sell fake sunglasses! I ordered one, delivered on time, but its not authentic. Its some chinese crap. Also could be very harmful for eyes, because not sure now if it even has a uvfilter in it ( pupils widen because of dark glasses but are harmed by sun because of lack of protection) Horrible that they can make so much money like this ( like they say since 2006!) The profit must be good if they have time rating themselves on internet everywhere with 5 stars.
    WillieGray
    I paid them 140 quid for a pair of glasses 4 months ago.....still waiting.

    They won't even reply to my emails.


    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!
    Scammed91
    Scammed9113 hours, 34 minutes ago #19Show comment toolsReply
    Smart Buy Glasses: Never again!
    I would like to know on my order where it states that this order will be shipped from another country.
    I understand your shipping policy. But where on my order does it state that this eye-wear will be coming from Hong Kong?
    So that I know that I will be responsible for additional taxes and duties and Brokerage Ancillary Service Fees?
    I was billed and charged an additional $28.35 by FedEx that I did not agree to and was not notified.
    Is this how you keep your prices low. This is fraudulent behavior by Smart Buy Glasses in my opinion.
    And I am sure others have the same opinion sense you do not give this information on your website.
    How is someone to know they will be billed and additional fee after they receive their eye-wear.
    You also claim that they will be shipped in a number of days depending on the shipping method you use.
    Nowhere did I see 20 to 30 days to receive your prescription eye-wear as we did!
    In this day and age of technology you know exactly where my order and every order is going to be shipped from, you know what facility you will be using and where the product was coming from. NO EXCUSES HERE. You know and you blindside your customers with this additional charge that doesn't make your company so cheap after all just cheapskates!

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

I Approve
Your Comments On This Post
Comment Preview
Close

PRIVATE MESSAGE

Close
Sorry, you can’t currently send PMs. Once you’re a more active member of the forum, the PM service will be unlocked for you.
Welcome to HUKD!
Close
Join the Community