Updated 2/5/2013 List of companies which spam
I've been using an e-mailing forwarding service for about 7 years and have created over 1000 unique e-mails which forward to my real e-mail address.
If you are not sure what I mean basically I have created a unique e-mail address (full of random numbers and letters) for every website that requires an e-mail address, including HUKD. This means that if am ever spammed, I will know where it's come from.
I used to think that I could sue or get compensation from these companies but decided it was too much effort even though I had conclusive proof. They always denied that they had spammed me anyway.
So I have decided to make a list of companies that have spammed me, in the hope that I can at least get some satisfaction in naming and shaming these companies. I have to say that it is only a minority of companies that spam (less than 1%). I will add these and update them over time in the next post.
I should add that I ALWAYS click the necessary boxes that opt me out of any marketing e-mails etc and this is unsolicited spam that does not come from the company you registered with.

All Comments (43)
Jump to unread Post a Commenthttp://www.ladbrokes.com a gambling website
http://www.foxybingo.com a bingo website
http://www.eurogrand.com a gambling website
http://www.spectrabingo.com a bingo website
http://www.simplygames.com online games shop
http://www.misco.co.uk online computer shop
http://www.slotmagix.com online gambing website
http://www.empiredirect.co.uk online white goods shop
http://www.topcashback.co.uk cashback website
http://www.bingogiving.com a bingo website
http://www.madbid.com online auction website
http://www.caesarsbingo.com a gambling site
http://www.bingomagix.co.uk a bingo website
http://www.dailyexpress-bingo.com a bingo website
http://www.dslsource.co.uk DSL modem retailer
http://www.nestlepromotions.co.uk requested a free sample
http://www.elitemate.com dating website listed on topcashback (and it didn't track!)
http://www.shopto.net online retailer
http://www.everythingissport.co.uk competition website?
http://www.playboycasino.com gambling website
http://www.gamingclub.com gambling website
http://www.casinoriva.com gambling website
http://www.paddypower.com gambling website
http://www.blyk.com mobile messaging website (previously a mobile phone network)
http://www.softuk.com (now http://www.coolshop.co.uk) online games shop
http://www.iflorist.co.uk online flower delivery service
http://www.creditcheckinstantly.co.uk Credit Report Checking Service
http://www.madbid.com auction website
http://www.cityclubcasino.com online casino
http://www.last.fm online radio
http://www.moneynet.co.uk financial website
http://www.totaljobs.com an online recruitment website
http://www.21nova.com gambling website
http://www.bingocafe.com a bingo website
http://www.boylesports.com gambling website
http://www.europacasino.com gambling website
http://www.groupon.co.uk group buying website
http://www.dropbox.co.uk online cloud storage
http://www.gym-pact.com exercise tool
Confirmed by various HUKD members (but not from myself so can't provide proof) :
http://www.pixmania.co.uk online retailer
Edited By: flyingflea on May 02, 2013 10:29: List updated 2/5/13
I'm not listing e-mails that are explicitly sent from the company you registered from (e.g. Asda e-mailing you what they have on offer every week). I'm talking about spam which isn't obvious where it's come from, e.g. a one line e-mail giving you a link to a website selling pharmaceuticals and appears to come from a Hotmail e-mail address.
Arh I see! Those just go through my spam filter into a junk folder so I never see them. ;-)
Yes sometimes you have to untick, sometimes you have tick and sometimes a bit of both!
Yes legit sales e-mails or newsletters you can normally unsubscribe. But sometimes the e-mails aren't legit and you don't know who they've come from and "unsubscribing" can make it worse!
Yeah so do mine, but I like to look through the junk folder and make a note of who's spamming me!
I mean as in they're pretty much all gambling companies, who I would expect to spam you whatever!
I've used Go Compare many times since 2008 and not had any spam from them whatsoever. I haven't used Admiral but probably will use this them year as they are one the cheapest insurance companies for me. I haven't received any unsolicited phone calls except from Dennis Publishing, however I can't say for sure whether Go Compare pass your telephone number on as I sometimes give them a false telephone number (and name). I'd need conclusive proof that they spam to add them to the list, like this:
Why are gambling site more likely to spam than any other business? Not quite seeing your logic
[ http://www.hotukdeals.com/misc/play-email/903617/ ]
I'd also like to add Pixmania.co.uk to the list.
BFN,
fp.
[ http://www.hotukdeals.com/misc/play-email/903617/ ]
I'd also like to add Pixmania.co.uk to the list.
BFN,
fp.
Been a customer of Play.com since 2004 and have not received a single item of spam to date. I saw that thread but did not receive that e-mail although a few of my colleagues did.
As for Pixmania I have never opened an account with them and I'd need to see conclusive proof before adding them.
As for Pixmania I have never opened an account with them and I'd need to see conclusive proof before adding them.
How would you like me to provide it to you?
I have also just received 'spam' from an e-mail address I have only ever used at Expansys.com.
BFN,
fp.