WANTED Opinions - HotUKDeals
We use cookie files to improve site functionality and personalisation. By continuing to use HUKD, you accept our cookie and privacy policy.
Get the HUKD app free at Google Play

Search Error

An error occurred when searching, please try again!

Login / Sign UpSubmit

WANTED Opinions

swancut Avatar
5y, 8m agoPosted 5 years, 8 months ago
I'm a little annoyed at a situation and looking for others opinions on the matter.
My girlfriend has been invited to a wedding in the summer by a couple who she works with. The invite is only extended to her, and no partner or +1 is invited. I understand that numbers might be limited, but not even allowed to attend the evening function. I think its out of order to not allow someones partner to attend.

.
..
swancut Avatar
5y, 8m agoPosted 5 years, 8 months ago
Options

All Comments

(85) Jump to unreadPost a comment
Comments/page:
Page:
1 Like #1
Its a friend of work, think yourself lucky and enjoy the night off and stop being a girl about it! :)

Edited By: GAVINLEWISHUKD on Mar 30, 2011 00:50
#2
I understand that numbers might be limited, but not even allowed to attend the evening function. I think its out of order to not allow someones partner to attend.


you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.

What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief
2 Likes #3
youve come to the right place
2 Likes #4
maybe the couple don't like you much?
1 Like #5
I would so hate to be with a man who whinged about stuff like this you know. I have a group of friends - my husband has a group of friends...................and we also have mutual friends.

No way would I moan and whinge about him being invited to a function and I am not included.

OP have you always been insecure
2 Likes #6
There's a recession.

People are having to make savings.

Be glad for your girl friend.

Try not to be so possessive, it doesn't show you in a good light.
banned 6 Likes #7
Look closely at the in-vite, +1 has probably been tipp-ex'd out
[Moderator]#8
So she's been invited to her work mates wedding.. don't see what your problem is unless your the jealous type oO
Dont give her a hard time about it .... you should be happy she's out enjoying herself with mates.

Edited By: bigflump on Mar 30, 2011 01:00
#9
you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.

What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief


Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like I only met my GF last week, together for 10 years. I think its rude to not allow peoples partners.
#10
swancut
you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.

What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief


Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like I only met my GF last week, together for 10 years. I think its rude to not allow peoples partners.



Its not rude - they obviously dont know u as well as your partner and have a budget to adhere to!! They also must know your oh will know others that are going to the wedding so wont be sitting all lonely in the corner!!

Dont spoil this for your partner - cause I reckon you are in a mad huff about this and stamping your feet.
[Moderator] 1 Like #11
Maybe they only have a small venue booked for the evening and can't afford somewhere big enough to invite everyone partners.
3 Likes #12
I'm in a similar situation, except, I don't care.
#13
Do you know the couple? Its often very expensive to add extra guests to a wedding, even if only the evening do they may cost £25-£30 each; that quickly adds up to an awful lot if you are inviting the unknown partners of people you only casually know...
8 Likes #14
I sense a male work colleague will also be going and there's more to this story than just being pee'd off there's no +1.
1 Like #15
bossyboots
swancut
you say "you understand" re numbers being limited........................but then say its out of order.

What is your gf saying - is she wanting to go - if she does, then dont give her grief


Maybe to the church and dinner, but even the evening party. Its not like I only met my GF last week, together for 10 years. I think its rude to not allow peoples partners.



Its not rude - they obviously dont know u as well as your partner and have a budget to adhere to!! They also must know your oh will know others that are going to the wedding so wont be sitting all lonely in the corner!!

Dont spoil this for your partner - cause I reckon you are in a mad huff about this and stamping your feet.

gosh
#16
ants97
I sense a male work colleague will also be going and there's more to this story than just being pee'd off there's no +1.


Lol if he wasn't thinking about this he is now! :)
1 Like #17
http://images.icanhascheezburger.com/completestore/2009/1/15/128765297762419915.jpg

http://www.lapsura.com/drawings/archives/images/youre-not-invited.jpg
http://www.picklejuice13.com/comics-archive/2010-10-08-Youre-Not-Invited.jpg
#18
Then I'm in a minority by the looks of it. Honestly I hate weddings, and I'm more than happy to let her go on her own, good excuse too catch up with mates. No huffiness or jealous, but i wouldn't dream of sending an invite to a friend and saying they cant bring their partners, husbands or wives. i guess my rude'o'meter is just set a little higher than most.
#19
swancut
Then I'm in a minority by the looks of it. Honestly I hate weddings, and I'm more than happy to let her go on her own, good excuse too catch up with mates. No huffiness or jealous, but i wouldn't dream of sending an invite to a friend and saying they cant bring their partners, husbands or wives. i guess my rude'o'meter is just set a little higher than most.


Good decision.

You stopped yourself just in time ...

... before you lost the Sut from your username. :p
2 Likes #20
In your opinion its being rude..............but I dont think it is. Weddings are sooooooo expensive nowadays and when you sit down and write out your guest list - its shockingly long!!! Its their day and obviously would rather your partner was there. Not having you there has no doubt allowed them to invite another friend (without their partner too am sure!!)

Edited By: bossyboots on Mar 30, 2011 01:22
#21
http://www.technollama.co.uk/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/these_are_not_the_droids.jpg

these are not the answers you're looking for
#22
arcangel111 - Mar 30, 2011 01:22
http://www.technollama.co.uk/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/these_are_not_the_droids.jpg

these are not the answers you're looking for


lol very funny.
Actually no, not the answer looking for,lol people who ive spoken to in person were very much agreed with me on this, even my mate who got wed last year who had never met my gf, invited her to his wedding. I get a cost thing but £20/30 per person, for an £70/100 gift...
never looked into weddings but surly the night doo is only the cost of venue, not the number of people invited. unless you have a free bar
If you want to look a little deeper tho, he spoke to my gf about not really wanting to marry his fiancee, and didnt know how to tell her.
1 Like #23
swancut




If you want to look a little deeper tho, he spoke to my gf about not really wanting to marry his fiancee, and didnt know how to tell her.



That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.
#24
I would so hate to be with a man who whinged about stuff like this you know. I have a group of friends - my husband has a group of friends...................and we also have mutual friends.

No way would I moan and whinge about him being invited to a function and I am not included.

OP have you always been insecure


For me there is a big difference between a works doo, an xmas party, a business meeting etc.
and what does this insecurity mean. these are your opinions and thoughts, not mine!
4 Likes #25
sounds like a lucky escape to me......personally i would have been planning my excuses if i had of been invited
#26
That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.


if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you
#27
swancut
That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.


if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you


how?
#28
swancut
That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.


if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you


No its not.
2 Likes #29
Oh how I love a good thread backfire!
#30
Have you kids not got school tomorrow? :p
2 Likes #31
Nah I bunked off coz I GOT invited to a wedding.

Edited By: jiminym on Mar 30, 2011 02:20
#32
If I were the OP, I would crash it, full of mushies! 8)
#33
#34
swancut
That really is none of your business seeing as your not a friend of the couple getting married.

Sour grapes brings out the worst in people.


if my gf confides in me, its very much my business thank you


no its not! u dont start interfering in other peoples lives just because u know something. n look up the word confide, she told u a secret and u start tell tale-ing on a forum!
well done, very trustworthy


Edited By: tatemze on Mar 30, 2011 02:29
#35
Women - If we confide in you we know full well most of your mates are going to know within an hour and thats fine by us. Shoe, foot, other = trouble.

This guy is just trying to get some opinions (okay he might not be going about it in the best way) but at least he's trying to judge opinion to know whether to say "Ah **** it, off you go" or "No I think it's bang out of order and so do 750 people on the forum I posted it on"

Give him a break!
#36
if my GF confides in me and asks me if she should say anything to the girl involved (her friend), then it becomes my business, as she is asking for my opinion and my advise. like if i was asked about my opinion on bulling, race or any other subject, if asked I would give it. TATEMZE im not telling "secrets" to the world, its a small forum and my name isnt really swancut and its not going to be shown on the bbc or dispatches, GAWD. opinions are like A holes, everyones got one and most of them stink, obviously like mine. but if I was so jealous and huffy, then i would have said TELL HER!! to ruin the wedding. but i said, in my opinion that he is just having some pre wedding jitters. any way Ive already said in this thread that im outnumbered on this subject.but bossyboots your going out of your way to make a lot of assumptions, say im jealous, sour and feeling left out, not the case, (I) just think, not to invite someones partner/husband/wife is a little out of order, its just my opinion and the way ive been brought up. Like some peoples opinions are to hate other religions, size, shape or colour etc. you are just presuming im some kind of control freak!! angry and **** off. Im not. just a little annoyed as its something I just wouldn't do. if you would then again thats your way.


Edited By: swancut on Mar 30, 2011 04:17
#37
swancut
if my GF confides in me and asks me if she should say anything to the girl involved (her friend), then it becomes my business, as she is asking for my opinion and my advise. like if i was asked about my opinion on bulling, race or any other subject, if asked I would give it. TATEMZE im not telling "secrets" to the world, its a small forum and my name isnt really swancut and its not going to be shown on the bbc or dispatches, GAWD. opinions are like A holes, everyones got one and most of them stink, obviously like mine. but if I was so jealous and huffy, then i would have said TELL HER!! to ruin the wedding. but i said, in my opinion that he is just having some pre wedding jitters. any way Ive already said in this thread that im outnumbered on this subject.but bossyboots your going out of your way to make a lot of assumptions, say im jealous, sour and feeling left out, not the case, (I) just think, not to invite someones partner/husband/wife is a little out of order, its just my opinion and the way ive been brought up. Like some peoples opinions are to hate other religions, size, shape or colour etc. you are just presuming im some kind of control freak!! angry and **** off. Im not. just a little annoyed as its something I just wouldn't do. if you would then again thats your way.


Breathe, in and out, deep breath!
banned#38
Had a wedding december 2009, having extra guests to our evening didn't add any cost and 80% of the buffet food was wasted even though we only catered for 25% of the guests there. Was £150 per head during the day. Sounds like they don't like you or got a tiny venue.
#39
maybe they forgot
#40
i understand where your coming from, if it was a close friend of my partners who we had known for ages and they didnt invite me i would be slightly peed. if it was my wedding i dont think i could just invite my friends without their partners, i dont know my best friends partner at all really but they are a family so i would invite them all.

Post a Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment. Just enter your email address. We'll keep it private.

...OR log in with your social account

...OR comment using your social account

Thanks for your comment! Keep it up!
We just need to have a quick look and it will be live soon.
The community is happy to hear your opinion! Keep contributing!