Captain Beefheart & His Magic - Safe As Milk (Remastered & Expanded - bonus tracks): CD £3.17 delivered @ Amazon
Captain Beefheart & His Magic - Safe As Milk (Remastered & Expanded - bonus tracks): CD £3.17 delivered @ Amazon

Captain Beefheart & His Magic - Safe As Milk (Remastered & Expanded - bonus tracks): CD £3.17 delivered @ Amazon

Buy forBuy forBuy for£3.17
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
The genesis of the first Captain Beefheart album SAFE AS MILK is suitably shrouded in mystery, but the result is a collection of performances that meld blues, R&B, avant garde rock, and West Coast pop in a unique and heady mix that's like nothing else in the Captain's oeuvre. While subsequent outings would emphasize the full-on weirdness of Beefheart and his Magic Band, songs such as "Yellow Brick Road", "Sure 'Nuff'N Yes I Do" and "Abba Zabba", while not without their own sonic quirks, still sound fresh and accessible today.
With uncredited appearances by such luminaries as Taj Mahal andRy Cooder, SAFE AS MILK's overall feel is adventurous, freeflowing, yet with an underlying discipline that Beefheart would throw to the wind on subsequent releases. There's even an attempt at doo-wop harmonies on "I'm So Glad", though theharp-flavored "Plastic Factory" finds him in more familiar R&B territory. Beefheart would never again sound this conventional, or, some might venture, this coherent.

"I may be hungry, but I sure ain't weird," Don Van Vliet, a.k.a. Captain Beefheart, famously intones on this bright-sounding re-mastered version of the 1967 debut by Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band. Safe as Milk is a bold, tough-ass distillation of Delta blues stomp and 1960s garage-punk swagger, fused with a radically polyrhythmic and tempo-shifting style that one might term "art rock". Listening to the delightfully playful, absurdist "Abba Zabba", it's easy to see why Lester Bangs called Beefheart "the only true dadaist in rock"; the song is a good indication of the intricate, rule-breaking music the Magic Band would continue to hone. But there are also formidable ballads (the psychedelic "Autumn's Child", the lachrymose "I'm Glad"), mid-tempo pop-soul tunes (the Otis Redding-ish "Call on Me"), and straight-ahead blues-rock workouts ("Plastic Factory"), all of which showcase the fretwork of a young Ry Cooder. Much has been made of Beefheart's multiple-octave vocal range; he sings menacingly on "Dropout Boogie" and allegedly broke a very expensive microphone on the eerie "Electricity". The last seven tracks on this reissue (for the most part fascinating, unfinished instrumentals) were recorded with a different line-up; they are outtakes from Mirror Man Sessions.

1. Sure Nuff 'N' Yes I Do
2. Zig Zag Wanderer
3. Call On Me
4. Dropout Boogie
5. I'm Glad
6. Electricity
7. Yellow Brick Road
8. Abba Zaba
9. Plastic Factory
10. Where There's A Woman
11. Grown So Ugly
12. Autumn's Child
13. Safe As Milk
14. On Tomorrow
15. Big Black Baby Shoes
16. Flower Pot
17. Dirty Blue Gene
18. Trust Us
19. Korn Ring Finger


Not everyone's cup of tea is Capt Beefheart but then you would probably want something a little stronger whilst listening to one of the best albums ever.

Enjoy your ears.

Ah what a find...... The Artist formally known as Beefheart probably the most original recording artist ever .... Trout Mask replica gets a regular play in our house looks like Safe as milk will be soon

Great Find Andy

The man's a genius, also check out some Frank Zappa if you like this.

An absolute bargain at this price. The only reasons to not buy this would be if you have it already or if you suck.
Post a comment