Unfortunately, this deal is no longer available
Cold radiators? Decent quality solid brass very well reviewed radiator key 99p (£1.50 for 2) delivered Amazon/The Bath People
818° Expired

Cold radiators? Decent quality solid brass very well reviewed radiator key 99p (£1.50 for 2) delivered Amazon/The Bath People

53
Posted 15th Jan

This deal is expired. Here are some options that might interest you:

Sort out those radiators with the cold tops to them:

Solid Brass Radiator Keys (excellent quality - see reviews). 99p for one, £1.50 for two.

Solid Brass Radiator Key

Manufactured with a Square opening These keys will fit almost every radiator on the market!

Made of premium grade brass to ensure the key does not round the head of your radiator bleed valve.

Key size 5mm.

Release a build up of air in a system.

Key Features:

Premium Grade Brass
Square Opening
5mm Size
Releases a build up of air in a system
Available in Single, 2 Pack and 4 Pack

The Bath People
The Bath People pride ourselves in selling luxurious bathroom fixtures and fittings at great prices. We have expert UK Staff, trained to help with your every need and a range of beautiful products that will suit any home.
Community Updates

Groups

Top comments
69p at screwfix if you’re near one
This deal is going to cause some heat
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a slot screwdriver.
This might help anyone who hasn't bled a radiator before - very simple indeed:

53 Comments
Top brass
69p at screwfix if you’re near one
Add this to the list of things I buy on here thinking "that will come in useful one day".
Edited by: "sminky" 15th Jan
If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!
This deal is going to cause some heat
Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the summer, then they get lost again...
This might help anyone who hasn't bled a radiator before - very simple indeed:

JRSC0115/01/2020 20:01

Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the …Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the summer, then they get lost again...



Put them on your key chain.
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Dont they usually have a slot in them, so a screwdriver can be used in cases where this happens ?
JRSC0115/01/2020 20:01

Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the …Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the summer, then they get lost again...


Put them on your house or car keys
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a slot screwdriver.
Hot or Cold (depending if the heating is on)
This may sound like a dumb question, which wouldn’t be out of character, but if I buy two, are they different sizes or both the same size?
JRSC0115/01/2020 20:10

Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a …Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a slot screwdriver.


Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a dremel back there.
yespleasesir15/01/2020 20:14

This may sound like a dumb question, which wouldn’t be out of character, b …This may sound like a dumb question, which wouldn’t be out of character, but if I buy two, are they different sizes or both the same size?


Yes same size
UzerName15/01/2020 20:17

Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a …Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a dremel back there.


I've got exactly the same problem!

I think Reg Prescott lived in this house before me. Bodges everywhere!

Here’s a cheaper one that I posted if you fancy it?

hotukdeals.com/dea…175
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Dremel a slot in them to use a screwdriver.
UzerName15/01/2020 20:17

Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a …Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a dremel back there.


Right angle pliers?
lucas15/01/2020 20:29

Right angle pliers?


JRSC0115/01/2020 20:10

Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a …Use a dremel to etch a straight line in the centre of them, then use a slot screwdriver.



got same problem for me too.

same radiator key works for the whole house, except "ONE"!

not sure should i use dremel to make a line across it. have concern doing more damage.
ariecol15/01/2020 20:32

got same problem for me too. same radiator key works for the whole house, …got same problem for me too. same radiator key works for the whole house, except "ONE"!not sure should i use dremel to make a line across it. have concern doing more damage.


Alternatively the brass valve can be replaced completely, by isolating the radiator if possible and draining, albiet this is the worst case scenario. There are some online forums with similar problems, replacing the bleed screw itself or the complete valve. Depends on how severe the problem though.
JRSC0115/01/2020 20:40

Alternatively the brass valve can be replaced completely, by isolating the …Alternatively the brass valve can be replaced completely, by isolating the radiator if possible and draining, albiet this is the worst case scenario. There are some online forums with similar problems, replacing the bleed screw itself or the complete valve. Depends on how severe the problem though.


Opps. I think mine is the ancient one........ not like the one on the youtube. its a "screw" head coming out from the radiator itself.
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Replace them they cheap
UzerName15/01/2020 20:17

Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a …Got the same problem. The nipple is on the back of the rad and can't fit a dremel back there.


Are you sure your radiator is fixed to the wall? In most instances it can be lifted off the catches that it sits on. Get some help if its a long radiator!
JRSC0115/01/2020 20:01

Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the …Got two already, but why is it you can never find either of them until the summer, then they get lost again...


Hang one of them on the radiator
Edited by: "Dleven" 15th Jan
Bleedin radiators, Bleedin radiators. I'm not cursing,.... Anyone remember this :/
just don't over tighten them or screw head snaps off
Don't forget if your radiators are hot at the top and cold at the bottom then you have either got a blocked radiator or more than likely your radiators are not balanced. The lockshield valve is there to balance the radiator and shouldn't be screwed fully out on every radiator. My son kept complaining his room was always cold and the radiator was pretty new so I just thought the radiator was under sized or the thermostatic valve was faulty. Took the thermostatic valvle off completely which made no difference so swapped the rad for a bigger one and it wasn't much warmer in there. I went round and tested the temperature on each radiator and screwed the lockshield valve in until I had between 10 and 12 degrees between flow and return and the difference could soon be felt.
Edited by: "Smartguy1" 15th Jan
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


Isolate the rad replace the spigot if needs. Some decent water pump grips or a adjustable will get it off easy.
DopeyDunker15/01/2020 20:01

If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the …If anyone has any ideas what you can do when someone has rounded off the bleed nipples then I'd be grateful!


any way some sort of circlip pliers can be placed inside to remove the valve ? Then obviously have a new valve at hand to replace the old butchered one? Then get the old valve , placed into a slingshot and shoot it at the person who butchered it
deffstar16/01/2020 07:17

any way some sort of circlip pliers can be placed inside to remove the …any way some sort of circlip pliers can be placed inside to remove the valve ? Then obviously have a new valve at hand to replace the old butchered one? Then get the old valve , placed into a slingshot and shoot it at the person who butchered it


Thanks. Some good ideas so thanks to all for posting. The annoying thing is this one is on the back of the rad against the wall so you can't see what you're doing and there is only about 1-1.5 inches gap to play with which knocks out my initial idea of putting a slot in with a dremel as others have posted.
If there's air in multiple rads you'll need to top up the system afterwards otherwise the system pressure will drop too low which causes further problems
I have collected so many of these

Think i have now roughly 4 keys per radiator

I shouldnt purchase anymore
yespleasesir15/01/2020 20:14

This may sound like a dumb question, which wouldn’t be out of character, b …This may sound like a dumb question, which wouldn’t be out of character, but if I buy two, are they different sizes or both the same size?


Yes it was
Smartguy115/01/2020 23:33

Don't forget if your radiators are hot at the top and cold at the bottom …Don't forget if your radiators are hot at the top and cold at the bottom then you have either got a blocked radiator or more than likely your radiators are not balanced. The lockshield valve is there to balance the radiator and shouldn't be screwed fully out on every radiator. My son kept complaining his room was always cold and the radiator was pretty new so I just thought the radiator was under sized or the thermostatic valve was faulty. Took the thermostatic valvle off completely which made no difference so swapped the rad for a bigger one and it wasn't much warmer in there. I went round and tested the temperature on each radiator and screwed the lockshield valve in until I had between 10 and 12 degrees between flow and return and the difference could soon be felt.


top bloke, thanks
credington16/01/2020 09:38

top bloke, thanks


I couldn't understand why my heating just wasn't efficient in my son's bedroom. Cost me 75 quid for a radiator I didn't need lol. It was the very last radiator on the system, but after a bit of research I found the problem

The idea is the lockshield valve on the first radiator, nearest the boiler should nearly be screwed fully in, say half a turn out from full closed. The lockshield valve on the very last radiator on the system should be fully open. The lockshield valves on radiators between the first and last should be set so they are a little more open than the previous radiator. So you start with half a turn on radiator 1, three quarters of a turn out on radiator 2, one full turn out on radiator 3 and so on. This gives you a rough idea how to balance all the radiators. Experienced plumbers can set them by experience. What I did was buy two thermometers for the purpose.

I hadn't really given it any thought when decorating and removing radiators etc but now I know.
A bit of a screw this one. Looks better and hope it does the job.
TheGos16/01/2020 09:34

I have collected so many of theseThink i have now roughly 4 keys per …I have collected so many of theseThink i have now roughly 4 keys per radiatorI shouldnt purchase anymore


Geek
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text