Unfortunately, this deal has expired 2 minutes ago.
267°
Refreshed 19 days ago

David McDine - The Normandy Privateer: A thrilling naval adventure with Lieutenant Oliver Anson Kindle Edition

FREE£0.01
Shared by
Boz Super Poster
Joined in 2008
8,179
7,446

About this deal

This deal is expired. Here are some options that might interest you:

More Kindle Book deals

Find more like this

See all deals

Discover more deals on our homepage

2,032 ratings Customer reviews: 4.3 4.3 out of 5 stars Paperback £15.34

England. 1800s. Young Lieutenant Oliver Anson has died

His family install a memorial tablet in their church to commemorate his life and service to King and country. He led the mission to capture a French privateer in a small Normandy harbour, but when it all goes wrong, Anson is felled by a musket ball in the head and is among the dead and wounded left ashore after his shipmates seek the refuge of their ship HMS Phryne.

Only – and despite official newspaper reports to the contrary – the less-than-god-fearing Anson turns out not to be dead at all but very much alive, and stuns even fellow seamen with his miraculous resurrection. It is, however, far from plain sailing for the prisoners to escape from behind enemy lines and get back across the Channel…

And the ambitious Anson is then dealt a hammer blow by the admiralty when he is later denied a new sea-going appointment. Instead his future is to be a land-based role, foiling any potential French invasion attempt along the Kent coastline. Perhaps worse, Anson finds himself falling into the clutches of a local bigwig’s voluptuous, husband-hunting daughter.

The Normandy Privateer charts the ups and downs of Lieutenant Anson and shines a poignant light on the loneliness and responsibilities of command.

Praise for David McDine

‘An enlightening historical thriller.’ – Thomas Waugh

David McDine OBE, is a former Deputy Lieutenant of Kent and a former Royal Navy Reserve officer and Admiralty information officer. He is also the author of Unconquered: The Story of Kent and its Lieutenancy. The Five Horseshoes, his debut novel in the Animal Man series, is sure to appeal to fans of Tom Sharpe, Alexander McCall Smith, PG Wodehouse and Evelyn Waugh.

4342889_1.jpg

Product details
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01M2ZBZOI
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lume Books (18 Oct. 2016)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1663 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 325 pages

Customer reviews: 4.3 4.3 out of 5 stars 2,032 ratings
Amazon More details at

Community Updates
Edited by a community support team member, 14 May 2024
New Comment

6 Comments

sorted by
's avatar
  1. redwavyline's avatar
    Thanks Boz, something a bit different
  2. Zerobob's avatar
    Great find. I love the Napoleonic era.
    Boz's avatar
    Author
    Thank You Appreciate the feedback
  3. RobKAHjr's avatar
    Recently read the Fletcher series from John Drake and enjoyed that. Is this similar?
    Boz's avatar
    Author
    I haven't read that but hope so.
  4. Steca's avatar
    Thanks
's avatar