Dickens Before Sound - £11.89
Dickens Before Sound - £11.89

Dickens Before Sound - £11.89

Buy forBuy forBuy for£11.89
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
A unique collection of early adaptations of one of Britain's favourite authors. A unique and exciting collection from the BFI that unearths many rare and invaluable films from the vaults. The films are presented for the first time with new scores by the composer and pianist Neil Brand.


1. Gabriel Grub (1878)
2. Scrooge (aka: Marley's Ghost) (1901)
3. The Cricket On The Hearth (1909)
4. Oliver Twist (1909)
5. The Boy And The Convict (1909)
6. Nicholas Nickleby (1912)
7. Pickwick Papers (1913)
8. David Copperfield (1913)
9. Oliver Twist (1922)
10. Dickens' London (1924)
11. Grandfather Smallweed (1928).

Special Features

Fully illustrated 40-page booklet with an introduction, notes on each film and original production stills
Spoken word performance by Ken Campbell of Dickens' original text over Gabriel Grub and The Pickwick Papers
Voiceover commentary by screenwriter Michael Eaton on The Cricket on the Hearth Downloadable essay by Dickens scholar Graham Petrie

Post a comment