ELVIS 75: GOOD ROCKIN' TONIGHT (New 4CD Box Set) £11.99 Delivered @ CD-WOW

ELVIS 75: GOOD ROCKIN' TONIGHT (New 4CD Box Set) £11.99 Delivered @ CD-WOW

Found 9th Jan 2010
Just copied and pasted from the CD WOW Website...

"Never once has an Elvis anniversary been missed and his 75th birthday is indeed a big one, sparking a year-long series of RCA/Legacy reissues inaugurated by the four-disc box set Elvis 75: Good Rockin' Tonight. Fittingly for a celebration, Elvis 75 doesn't dredge up unreleased items or rarities (there can't be too much left in the vaults anyway), it celebrates the King at his best, telling the story from beginning to end -- in fact, beginning a little earlier with the pre-Sun 1953 acetate of "My Happiness" and ending a little later, with the 2002 JXL remix of "A Little Less Conversation." These are somewhat wobbly bookends to what amounts to the best four-disc box retelling of Elvis' familiar story, hitting so many of the blockbuster hits and great album cuts that it initially seems that these 100 songs cover everything essential. Closer inspection naturally reveals there are many masterpieces missing, whether they're from Sun, the '68 Comeback, or his last single "Moody Blue," but the great thing about Elvis 75 is that as it plays, their absence isn't apparent: it seems to serve up all of Presley's best, and at the very least, it's the best thorough overview of the entirety of his career yet assembled."

and a review from the BBC...

"This year marks what would have been Elvis Presleys 75th birthday. Sony have responded with this career-spanning four-disc box set.

Running chronologically, the first track is My Happiness, a mothers gift demo that legendarily caused Elvis to catch the ear of Sun Records Sam Phillips. A Little Less Conversation, the JXL re-mix/soup-up that gave Elvis a new millennium number one, is the inevitable closer. Inevitably, there will be quibbles about the inclusions singles and album tracks sandwiched between those cuts, starting with the fact that Sony have not included the other mothers gift rendition, That's When Your Heartaches Begin. However, the impossibility of pleasing everybody is demonstrated by the fact that while this compilation contains a healthy 100 songs, Presley had a dozen more US top 40 hits than that number in his lifetime.

Whatever Presleys artistic peaks and valleys, we are reminded herein that no sub-standard recording was ever employed as an Elvis 45: impeccably performed high-class cheese like Return to Sender and the inchoate but passionate patriotism of An American Trilogy are singles remembered barely less fondly than the slinky Heartbreak Hotel or the barnstorming Hound Dog. However, this set demonstrates that impressionistic memory misinforms us that Presleys non-singles output was exclusively a story of precipitous decline, with album track gems from all periods, ranging from the sultry Reconsider Baby to the rootsily uptempo I Washed My Hands In Muddy Water. It confirms also that though he latterly opted for lazy cover versions, a bluesy strain is evident through all sections of Presleys career, as are high production values.

Also consistent, of course, is The Voice. Presley was a non-songwriter who didn't even have free reign in what he could record. His singing was the one means by which he could provide an imprimatur to his output, and he did so triumphantly. Those rich, dark tones tackle the snottiness of Blue Suede Shoes, the sensuality of Stuck On You, the soaring supplication of How Great Thou Art and the epic compassion of If I Can Dream with equal ease.

Good Rockin Tonight a knowledgably assembled set and a wonderful listening experience confirms that Presleys reputation rests not on a socio-political phenomenon status now receding into history, but the fact that he genuinely was one of the greatest vocalists who ever drew breath."

There's also 50p with a voucher and quidco too...

and finally just to clarify - please dont mistake this for the 3CD box set out there with 75 tracks...i think this is the 4CD box set selling for £49.99 on PLay or £47.98 on Amazon.

disc 1
1. Heartbreak Hotel
2. Blue Suede Shoes
3. I Want You I Need You I Love You
4. Hound Dog
5. Blue Moon
6. Love Me Tender
7. Too Much
8. All Shook Up
9. Let Me Be Your Teddy Bear
10. Paralyzed
11. Let's Have A Party
12. Got A Lot O' Livin' To Do
13. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
14. Trying To Get To You
15. Jailhouse Rock
16. Don't
17. Wear My Ring Around Your Neck
18. Hard Headed Woman
19. King Creole
20. One Night
21. Now And Then There's A Fool Such As I
22. Big Hunk O' Love, A
23. Stuck On You
24. Mess Of Blues, A
25. It's Now Or Never
disc 2
1. Are You Lonesome Tonight
2. Wooden Heart
3. Surrender (Torna Surriento)
4. Wild In The Country
5. Marie's The Name His Latest Flame
6. Rock A Hula Baby
7. Can't Help Falling In Love
8. Good Luck Charm
9. She's Not You
10. Return To Sender
11. One Broken Heart For Sale
12. You're The Devil In Disguise
13. Bossa Nova Baby
14. Kiss Me Quick
15. Viva Las Vegas
16. Kissin' Cousins
17. Such A Night
18. Ain't That Lovin' You Baby
19. Crying In The Chapel
20. Tell Me Why
21. Love Letters
22. All That I Am
23. Guitar Man
24. US Male
25. If I Can Dream
disc 3
1. In The Ghetto
2. Suspicious Minds
3. Don't Cry Daddy
4. Wonder Of You, The
5. I've Lost You
6. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
7. There Goes My Everything
8. Rags To Riches
9. I Just Can't Help Believing
10. Until It's Time For You To Go
11. American Trilogy, An
12. Burning Love
13. Always On My Mind
14. Fool
15. My Boy
16. Promised Land
17. Girl Of My Best Friend, The
18. Suspicion
19. Moody Blue
20. Way Down
21. My Way
22. It's Only Love
23. Little Less Conversation, A [JXL mix]
24. Rubberneckin' [Paul Oakenfold remix/remix]
25. That's All Right
Community Updates


That sounds like a pricing error given that its so much more expensive everywhere else. Wonder if its really the 4 CD box set and/or if CD WoW would honour it.
By using the 50p off CDs voucher link you can get this for £11.49
when i spotted the queen A4 casebound cd and posted it on here for £11.49 - they honoured that no problems (should have been £31.49!)
what they are selling is actually this.....


so the price is about average.
They have put this on backorder for me though it says on the site that its instock....
Post a comment