Frank Zappa - Lather [CD Box set] £12.99 delivered @ HMV
Frank Zappa - Lather [CD Box set] £12.99 delivered @ HMV

Frank Zappa - Lather [CD Box set] £12.99 delivered @ HMV

Buy forBuy forBuy for£12.99
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
Very good price for this Zappa boxset as elsewhere this is: -
Amazon UK £23.88
Blah £24.05
DVD Source £25.99
Zavvi £26.95

Recorded at various times with a revolving cast of characters, the huge mass of material known as LATHER was to be released in the late '70s when Zappa's record company refused toput it out. Instead, they insisted that he owed them four individual records. So, the unflappable Zappa chopped LATHER into four sections (released as LIVE IN NEW YORK, STUDIO TAN, SLEEP DIRT and ORCHESTRAL FAVORITES). He then went on a southern California radio station and played the whole projectwhile encouraging listeners to illegally tape it. Finally, the entire collection is now available on one three-disc setin all of its legendary glory.
And just what is LATHER (pronounced "leather")? It is the ultimate amalgam of all that Zappa could be. From unabashedly comical novelty songs ("The Legend Of The Illinois Enema Bandit") and cynical observations of human behavior ("Titties And Beer") to complex instrumentals ("Re-Gyptian Strut", "Pedro's Dowry") and epic swathes of nonsensical madness ("The Adventures Of Greggery Peccary"). In addition, there are several bonus tracks, including a remixed version of "Re-Gyptian Strut", the solo guitar track "Leather Goods", a bizarre "Revenge Of The Knick KnackPeople" and the classic Zappa sound of "Time Is Money".

Disc 1

1. Re-Gyptian Strut
2. Naval Aviation In Art?
3. A Little Green Rosetta
4. Duck Duck Goose
5. Down In De Dew
6. For The Young Sophisticate
7. Tryin' To Grow A Chin
8. Broken Hearts Are For Assholes
9. The Legend Of The Illinois Enema Bandit
10. Lemme Take You To The Beach
11. Revised Music For Guitar & Low Budget Orchestra

Disc 2

1. Honey, Don't You Want A Man Like Me?
2. The Black Page #1
3. Big Leg Emma
4. Punky's Whips
5. Flambe
6. The Purple Lagoon
7. Pedro's Dowry
8. Lather
9. Spider Of Destiny
10. Duke Of Orchestral Prunes

Disc 3

1. Filthy Habits
2. Titties 'N Beer
3. The Ocean Is The Ultimate Solution
4. The Adventures Of Greggery Peccary
5. Regyptian Strut
6. Leather Goods
7. Revenge Of The Knick Knack People
8. Time Is Money


Original Poster mod

The 'Läther' album was originally conceived as a 4 LP box set of 8 sides, … The 'Läther' album was originally conceived as a 4 LP box set of 8 sides, 27 songs for release in 1977 but Warner Brothers refused to release 2 ¾ hours worth of music. The album was sort of released but spread over 4 albums namely 'Studio Tan', 'Sleep Dirt', 'Orchestral Favourites' and 'Live in New York' with other songs appearing in different form on 3 other albums. The 'Läther' album is however the context in which these songs were supposed to be heard.With some songs being very long in length such as the 21 minute long 'The Adventures of Greggary Peccary', the 2 ¾ hour set is very wide ranging in styles encompassing elements of Jazz, rock, classical and a lot of humour and weird and wonderful craziness. The album intersperses some of Frank's seriously good instrumental tracks with his more satirical lyrical songs and funny conversations between tracks occasionally.The instrumental tracks range from the opener 'Regyption Strut', which is a superb opener deserving this reappraisal after its somewhat understated placement at the back of the 'Sleep Dirt' album to 'The Ocean Is The Ultimate Solution', which is one of his best instrumentals along with the previously unheard title track. Elsewhere Frank's love of classical music is in evidence on 'Orchestral Duke of Prunes', which is a fine closer to disk two or the end of the original side 7.If I had one criticism of the whole album it would be that sides 5 to 6 are slightly out of synch from Frank's original hand written track listing (as shown in the 'Läther' booklet) and one song, 'Baby Snakes' is missing altogether. God knows why these tracks are out of synch or why that other track is missing but I think Frank's original order of the sides feels better myself. The 4 bonus tracks at the end of the album nearly make up for these blunders but it is the main factor for the album receiving 4 stars as opposed to 5. Still well worth the price of admission and some of these tracks do have to be heard to be believed but I don't think many people could be disappointed by this.

thanks, just ordered,love frank zappa

Ah - the God!!!!

Got most of these (and lamenting the omission of Baby Snakes) but a great deal for such a set of classics covering a range of genius that inspired many later artists.

Dont forget quidco!

it's now back up showing as £34.99 !!???

why do they do these offers for only a few hours, it does my f~*%$# head in.
Post a comment