Gang Of Four CDs £2.99 + Free Delivery @ HMV (Entertainment / Songs Of The Free / Hard / Solid Gold/Another Day Another Dollar)

Gang Of Four CDs £2.99 + Free Delivery @ HMV (Entertainment / Songs Of The Free / Hard / Solid Gold/Another Day Another Dollar)

mod 4
Found 27th Oct 2009
Warning: You have heard this before... but not like this! Rakes, Futureheads, Bloc Party. Recently there has been a plethora of bands that have taken Gang Of Four's jerky guitars, boisterous vocal delivery and groove based rhythm section and used it to great effect. None have been able to match 'Entertainment' for its power and political punch.

Written in the wake of Margaret Thatcher's election, 'Entertainment', is a polemic of an increasingly egocentric and materialistic society. Characters wander lost through vast supermarkets while on dance floors love is merely a commodity to be bought and sold "Is this really the way it is/Or a contract in our mutual interest' (Contract). As a reaction against the "Coercion of the senses" Gang Of Four's sound is functional and to the point.

Across the album they constantly strive to avoid clich?pplying an almost jazz ethos to the way they subvert the punk genre. On 'Anthrax', Andy Gill's guitar spits and crackles like a severed power cable on a rain soaked street while a monotone voice explains why the band refuse write traditional love songs. On 'Guns and Butter' anti-rhythmic drums duel with spasmodic guitar while Jon King lampoons the old adage 'Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori'.

Each verse of this album tries to shake awake its listener and open their eyes to the devaluation of society around them. If you are looking for unconventional post punk with a venomous bite you wont get better than 'Entertainment'.

Entertainment: -
1. Ether
2. Natural's Not In It
3. Not Great Men
4. Damaged Goods
5. Return The Gift
6. Guns Before Butter
7. I Found That Essence Rare
8. Glass
9. Contract
10. At Home He's A Tourist
11. 5.45
12. Anthrax
13. Outside The Trains Don't Run On Time
14. He'd Send In the Army
15. It's Her Factory


Original Poster mod

Songs Of The Free

* 1. Call Me Up (If I'm Home)
* 2. I Love A Man In A Uniform
* 3. Muscle For Brains
* 4. It Is Not Enough
* 5. Life It's A Shame
* 6. I Will Be A Good Boy
* 7. History Of The World
* 8. We Live As We Dream Alone
* 9. Of The Instant

Original Poster mod


* 1. Is It Love
* 2. I Fled
* 3. Silver Lining
* 4. Woman Town
* 5. Man With A Good Car
* 6. It Don't Matter
* 7. Arabic
* 8. Piece Of My Heart
* 9. Independence

Original Poster mod

Solid Gold/Another Day Another Dollar

* 1. Paralysed [Solid Gold]
* 2. What We All Want
* 3. Why Theory
* 4. If I Could Keep It For Myself
* 5. Outside The Trains Don't Run On Time
* 6. Cheeseburger
* 7. Republic
* 8. In The Ditch
* 9. Hole In The Wallet
* 10. He'd Send In The Army
* 11. To Hell With Poverty [Another Day/Another Dollar]
* 12. Capital (It Fails Us Now)
* 13. History's Bunk
* 14. Cheeseburger (1) [live]
* 15. What We All Want (1) [Live]

Another long standing group, masterrs of punk, (rulers of Leeds!). Post punks dream, and great lyrics to boot, even if you dont know them, at this price whats to lose.
Post a comment