Lemonheads : Its a shame about ray CD/DVD Deluxe Edition £1.99 or 3 for £5 at The Works
Lemonheads : Its a shame about ray CD/DVD Deluxe Edition £1.99 or 3 for £5 at The Works

Lemonheads : Its a shame about ray CD/DVD Deluxe Edition £1.99 or 3 for £5 at The Works

Classic album, featured in the book 1001 albums you must hear before you die. This is the deluxe edition containing extra tracks and a bonus DVD.

Only available instore at The Works as part of the £2.99 or 2 for £5 deal.

The cheapest price I could find online was £13.99 at HMV.com

I found this in the Norwich store, and also picked up Lykke Li (Youth Novels)at the same time.

Other cds included in the promo were Josh Groban, Athlete, Madonna (Drowned World CD/DVD) and loads I can't remember.

The Lemonheads' second album for Atlantic Records was an unforgettable gem. Powered by infectious melodic hooks and a mix of sweet and subversive lyrics, 'It's A Shame About Ray' helped put the band on the map in 1992. Rhino honours the album with the label's special Collector's Edition treatment, remastering and expanding the original for a CD/DVD set that includes unreleased demos along with the DVD debut of the 1993 video Two Weeks In Australia.

The album features the trio – Evan Dando (guitar, vocals), David Ryan (drums) and Juliana Hatfield (bass, backing vocals) – breezing through 13 songs in just under 30 minutes, including the title track, 'My Drug Buddy,' 'The Turnpike Down' and a romping cover of the Simon and Garfunkel classic 'Mrs. Robinson.'.

The 10 bonus tracks feature 'Shaky Ground,' which was originally released as the B-side to 'My Drug Buddy.' The remaining nine songs are unreleased demos that Dando recorded in 1991, including early renditions of album tracks 'Confetti,' 'Rockin Stroll' and 'Hannah & Gabi,' plus 'Bit Part,' which includes vocals from Hatfield.

The DVD contains 45 minutes of videos and live performances that were previously released only on VHS as Two Weeks In Australia. The disc features videos for several songs from It's A Shame About Ray, including the title track, the breakout single 'Mrs. Robinson,' 'My Drug Buddy' and many more.

Disc One
1. Rockin Stroll
2. Confetti
3. It's A Shame About Ray
4. Rudderless
5. My Drug Buddy
6. The Turnpike Down
7. Bit Part
8. Alison's Starting To Happen
9. Hannah & Gabi
10. Kitchen
11. Ceiling Fan In My Spoon
12. Frank Mills
13. Mrs. Robinson
Bonus Tracks
14. Shaky Ground
15. It's A Shame About Ray [Demo]
16. Rockin Stroll [Demo]
17. My Drug Buddy [Demo]
18. Hannah & Gabi [Demo]
19. Kitchen [Demo]
20. Bit Part [Demo]
21. Rudderless [Demo]
22. Ceiling Fan In My Spoon [Demo]
23. Confetti [Demo]
Disc Two - DVD
1. It's A Shame About Ray [Video]
2. Ride With Me [Live]
3. Mrs. Robinson [Video]
4. Being Around [Video]
5. Alison's Starting To Happen [Live]
6. Hannah & Gabi [Video]
7. Half The Time [Video]
8. Rockin Stroll [Video]
9. Confetti [Video]
10. It's About Time [Live]
11. My Drug Buddy [Video]


What is it about Ray? The Lemonheads say it's a shame about him, the Hoosiers are worried about him... Poor guy.

Original Poster

Now reduced to £1.99. Theres loads of CD/DVD deluxe editions instore at the moment, including Muse, Madonna, Simply Red, Mick Jagger.
Post a comment