Leonard Cohen - Live In London £6.99 inc. P&P  @ BangCd  plus use a cashback site !

Leonard Cohen - Live In London £6.99 inc. P&P @ BangCd plus use a cashback site !

Found 1st Apr 2009
Leonard Cohen Live In London £6.99 inc. P&P plus use a cashback site Bangcd

£9.99 at Amazon, CDWOw, Play & HMV

Audio Format: 5.1 Dolby Surround
No. of Discs: 1
Certificate: E
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1(Widescreen)
Running Time: 154 Minutes
Production Year: 2008
Starring: Leonard Cohen


For over four decades, Leonard Cohen has been one of the most important and influential songwriters of our time, a figure whose body of work achieves greater depths of mystery and meaning as time goes on. His songs have set a virtually unmatched standard in their seriousness and range. Sex, spirituality, religion, power he has relentlessly examined the largest issues in human lives, always with a full appreciation of how elusive answers can be to the vexing questions he raises. But those questions, and the journey he has traveled in seeking to address them, are the ever-shifting substance of his work, as well as the reasons why his songs never lose their overwhelming emotional force. Documentaries, awards, tribute albums and the ongoing march of artists eager to record his songs all acknowledge the peerless contribution Cohen has made to what one of his titles aptly calls The Tower of Song.
In 2008 Leonard Cohen embarked on his first tour in 15 years. Quickly recognised as musical folklore in the making, 29 of the original dates sold out almost immediately, leaving fans and critics alike hailing the show as a once in a lifetime experience. By popular demand, the tour was extended and by the end of that year it had reached 84 shows worldwide, selling more than 700,000 tickets

This collection was recorded live on July 17, 2008 at London's O2 Arena, one of Europe's largest indoor venues and full captures and recreates the extraordinary show that earned Cohen more than 80 five star reviews for performances during his fall 2008 UK tour. Live In London offers definitive performances of classic songs drawn from the artist's 40 year repertory

Track Listing:

* Dance Me To The End Of Love
* The Future
* Ain't No Cure For Love
* Bird On The Wire
* Everybody Knows
* In My Secret Life
* Who By Fire
* Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye
* Anthem
* Introduction
* Tower Of Song
* Suzanne
* The Gypsy's Wife
* Boogie Street
* Hallelujah
* Democracy
* I'm Your Man
* Recitation w/ N.L.
* Take This Waltz
* So Long, Marianne
* First We Take Manhattan
* Sisters Of Mercey
* If It Will Be Your Will
* Closing Time
* I Tried To Leave You
* Wither Thou Goest

Live In London Performers:

* Leonard Cohen, lead vocal, guitar and keyboard
* Roscoe Beck, musical director, electric bass, stand-up bass, background vocal
* Rafael Bernardo Gayol, drums and percussion
* Neil Larsen, keyboards
* Javier Mas, banduria, laud, archilaud, and 12-string guitar
* Bob Metzger, lead guitar, pedal steel guitar
* Sharon Robinson, background vocals
* Dino Soldo, wind instruments, harmonica, keyboard, and background vocals
* Charley Webb, background vocals and guitar
* Hattie Webb, background vocals and harp


Saw the show in Manchester and have to say it was absolutely amazing, I only really went to keep Mrs Mike happy, but was blown away by it. Hot for me and may well have to buy this for Mrs Mike (and me!!)


Saw the show in Manchester and have to say it was absolutely amazing

I was at one of the Manc' shows and agree whole-heartedly. Stunning performance. Brought me to tears.
Post a comment