Microsoft Windows 10 Technical Preview ISO - January Build (9926)
531°Expired

Microsoft Windows 10 Technical Preview ISO - January Build (9926)

97
Found 23rd Jan 2015
UPDATE (31/03/15) - If you've configured for 'Fast' updates, then you should receive build 10049 via Windows Update now. It includes the Project Spartan browser in place of IE. If you sign up for the Windows Insider program you can directly download the ISO for it too - insider.windows.com/

UPDATE (19/03/15) - If you've configured for 'Fast' updates, then you should receive build 10041 via Windows Update now - I'm just about to install..... zdnet.com/art…es/ This build won't be released as an ISO.

This is the latest build (9926), made available today (23/01/15), featuring many of the new features discussed at the Windows 10 event this week, including:

* Cortana on the desktop <--- It's been pointed out, not available in the GB build, but is in the US. You'll have to select the UK keyboard and play with time settings a bit.
* New Start menu
* Continuum
* New Settings app
* Connect to wireless audio and video
* New Photos and Maps apps
* Windows Store Beta
* Xbox app

If you're not sure what an ISO is, don't have a PC or Virtual Machine to test on - this probably isn't for you. However, keep in mind when the final version of Windows 10 is released it will be free during the first year of release for current Windows 7 and 8 customers.

Blog Post: blogs.windows.com/blo…am/

Builds available at: windows.microsoft.com/en-…iso

Direct Download links:

x64 - go.microsoft.com/fwl…102

x86 - go.microsoft.com/fwl…103

Product key: NKJFK-GPHP7-G8C3J-P6JXR-HQRJR

97 Comments

Original Poster

UPDATE (31/03/15) - If you've configured for 'Fast' updates, then you should receive build 10049 via Windows Update now. It includes the Project Spartan browser in place of IE. If you sign up for the Windows Insider program you can directly download the ISO for it too - insider.windows.com/

This is the latest build (9926), made available today (23/01/15), featuring many of the new features discussed at the Windows 10 event this week, including:

* Cortana on the desktop - <--- It's been pointed out, not available in the GB build, but is in the US. You'll have to select the UK keyboard and play with time settings a bit.
* New Start menu
* Continuum
* New Settings app
* Connect to wireless audio and video
* New Photos and Maps apps
* Windows Store Beta
* Xbox app

If you're not sure what an ISO is, don't have a PC or Virtual Machine to test on - this probably isn't for you. However, keep in mind when the final version of Windows 10 is released it will be free during the first year of release for current Windows 7 and 8 customers.


Blog Post:blogs.windows.com/blo…am/

Builds available at:windows.microsoft.com/en-…iso


Direct Download links:

x64 - go.microsoft.com/fwl…102

x86 - go.microsoft.com/fwl…103


Product key: NKJFK-GPHP7-G8C3J-P6JXR-HQRJR



Edited by: "morgie" 11th Apr 2015

Thanks for posting - I knew this was coming, but this was a good reminder

Wasn't it supposed to be a Consumer Preview?

Do I get anything on my Amex card morgie ?

Original Poster

Palwan

Wasn't it supposed to be a Consumer Preview?



I think that's next month (including Windows 10 for Windows Phone).
Edited by: "morgie" 23rd Jan 2015

Original Poster

the porter

Do I get anything on my Amex card morgie ?



Your money (and Amex) is no good here X)

cheers ,downloading now .

Great stuff :-))

Great find. Thanks morgie!!

If you missed the news, Windows 10 will provided as a free upgrade to all Windows 7 and upwards as long as you download and install it within the first 12 months of release.

joe90jnr

If you missed the news, Windows 10 will provided as a free upgrade to … If you missed the news, Windows 10 will provided as a free upgrade to all Windows 7 and upwards as long as you download and install it within the first 12 months of release.



Can't wait! As someone who works in IT I'm so looking forward to everyone I know installing it and then bringing it to me to sort out there problems afterwards...

AlanClarke

Can't wait! As someone who works in IT I'm so looking forward to everyone … Can't wait! As someone who works in IT I'm so looking forward to everyone I know installing it and then bringing it to me to sort out there problems afterwards...


haha
so.true.
like all the drivers that won't work!

what's the minimum spec on.this?

Downloading now ..... Cool

josephobrien2000

what's the minimum spec on.this?



System requirements
Basically, if your PC can run Windows 8.1, you’re good to go. If you're not sure, don't worry—Windows will check your system to make sure it can install the preview.
Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster
RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)
Free hard disk space: 16 GB
Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM driver
A Microsoft account and Internet access

windows.microsoft.com/en-…-pc

Heat. Thank you for the reminder, downloaded.
MS Windows 10 free on phone, tablet, and PC. Common kernel. Impressive.

HotUKDealHound

Heat. Thank you for the reminder, downloaded.MS Windows 10 free on phone, … Heat. Thank you for the reminder, downloaded.MS Windows 10 free on phone, tablet, and PC. Common kernel. Impressive.



It's looking promising, let's just hope it's not plagued with issues. Will be handy if my Linx 10 gets to upgrade to it for free. Will check my current vm build of Win10 to see if it can upgrade to this one.

It was released that Windows 10 will be a free upgrade for the first year of full release, I'll wait for that and all the bugs sorted.
My win 8.1 running fine at the min

josephobrien2000

hahaso.true.like all the drivers that won't work!



i had no problems with a prerelease of 7, all drivers installed correctly automatically...... maybe i just got lucky

Looks like 2015 and 2016 are Microsoft Windows after a chain of Android and iOS years.

Banned

Microsoft will collect data about your installation and use of Windows 10 Technical Preview to help us improve our products and services. See our privacy statement to learn more.

Ok. Sounds good but at the risk of sounding stupid, I need to ask a couple of questions for the more techie minded out there.

Is this an ISO download which you can then mount/burn and use in parallel with your current version of Windows or is it necessary to install on the hard drive on a partition or something?

Thanks.

thethinwhiteduke

Ok. Sounds good but at the risk of sounding stupid, I need to ask a … Ok. Sounds good but at the risk of sounding stupid, I need to ask a couple of questions for the more techie minded out there.Is this an ISO download which you can then mount/burn and use in parallel with your current version of Windows or is it necessary to install on the hard drive on a partition or something?Thanks.



Install on a virtual machine and you are good to go. Download virtualbox or similar.

You could probably set to dual boot but much easier on a virtual machine

joe90jnr

If you missed the news, Windows 10 will provided as a free upgrade to … If you missed the news, Windows 10 will provided as a free upgrade to all Windows 7 and upwards as long as you download and install it within the first 12 months of release.


No, free for only first year. Then you have to pay for it.

It can also be done via Windows Update instead of an ISO:

neowin.net/new…ate

Original Poster

eloo

No, free for only first year. Then you have to pay for it.



Just to clarify - if you're running Windows 7/8/8.1, you'll be able to get Windows 10 for free, if you take MS up on the offer during the first 12 months after the launch of Windows 10. It's not subscription based, so you don't pay anything in the future after this (I just think the wording above, or the intention, makes this a bit open to interpretation - at least for me). On the flip side of this therefore, if you're running Windows 7/8/8.1 and wait until some time after 12 months of the launch of Windows 10, you'll have to pay to buy it (again, one off fee).
Edited by: "morgie" 24th Jan 2015

I'll stick with Linux.

josephobrien2000

what's the minimum spec on.this?


You will need a computer.

AlanClarke

Can't wait! As someone who works in IT I'm so looking forward to everyone … Can't wait! As someone who works in IT I'm so looking forward to everyone I know installing it and then bringing it to me to sort out there problems afterwards...


Well yes, that's your job (surely like a plumber complaining people keep asking him to fix their taps?)

westy125

It was released that Windows 10 will be a free upgrade for the first year … It was released that Windows 10 will be a free upgrade for the first year of full release, I'll wait for that and all the bugs sorted. My win 8.1 running fine at the min


All the bugs will be sorted? I want to live in your world.

thanks OP gonna have my 1st look at it.

jdbigguy

All the bugs will be sorted? I want to live in your world.



Fair comment, well most hopefully, my 8.1 runs like a dream after removing uac and dep,

Doesn't the trial/test end un April? So you will not be able to use it after then so you would need to create a recovery disc of your current set up first would you not?

Original Poster

freemz

Doesn't the trial/test end un April? So you will not be able to use it … Doesn't the trial/test end un April? So you will not be able to use it after then so you would need to create a recovery disc of your current set up first would you not?



This isn't to replace your full time OS, it's a technical preview. I wouldn't recommend anyone intends to use it on their main machine as their main OS really, or if they do they're very comfy with what it is, have a backup of their data etc and a clear plan of what they'll be doing for an OS when this does expire.

Cortana not available in the UK with this release.

dmp1967

Cortana not available in the UK with this release.



Yep hence why I'm installing the en-US version instead of en-GB, assuming it's not IP locked Cortana should work, I'll let you know either way when the install has finished.

Expecting it to be a bit dogey in the first year like Windows 8, but Windows 8.1 has been perfect for me, I haven't had a single problem with it and it's really quick on an SSD, a lot quicker than my Windows 7 PC imo, let's see if they can get it right with Windows 10.

Ok let us see, installing it on other partition, as it might have compatibilty issues with the softwares and probably hardware?
Anyway heat added for the reminder. Cheers

Had to wait all day but got the update about an hour ago. Incidentally, I am not in the UK.
Much faster than Win 7 but not upgrading Win 7 until the final product is available.
Mine is a clean install at the moment, about 6 months ago.

Edited by: "balmots" 24th Jan 2015

Cortana works using the en-US iso and you can change your keyboard to UK no problem and then change to 24 hour time and DD/mm/yy in settings.

Working ok-ish on my (close to) 7 year old laptop, a lot of the problems are probably because there are no drivers aside from the ones from Windows, but other than that I very much like the OS so far.
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text