Muse - The Resistance CD £3.99 delivered @ Play
Muse - The Resistance CD £3.99 delivered @ Play

Muse - The Resistance CD £3.99 delivered @ Play

Buy forBuy forBuy for£3.99
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
Fronted by one of the most distinctive voices in modern music, Matt Bellamy, alternative rock giants Muse return with their most orchestral album to date, The Resistance. Following the monumental commercial and critical success of their earlier releases, notably the multi award-winning 'Absolution' and 2006's breathtakingly eclectic 'Black Holes And Revelations', album number 5 finds the Devonshire trio in more spectacular form than ever.

Riff-heavy and with a foot-stomping chorus, 'Uprising' launches The Resistance on an emphatic note. Synth-led and dominated by Matt Bellamy's recognisable falsetto vocal, the album's first single is a worthy introduction to the grandiose, unpredictable whirlwind of a musical adventure that follows. The guitar-less 'Undisclosed Desires' offers much darker undertones, whilst the wild, euphoric chanting during 'United States Of Eurasia' is likely to be echoed across summer festivals for years to come. Lyrically at least, The Resistance is a love album where love is fiercely fought for in a chaotic, often difficult society. This is perhaps most obvious on 'I Belong To You', an epic, swooning ballad smothered in opera and jazz influences, with gentle R&B overtones and even a clarinet solo. The romance serves merely as a calm before the storm, when the realisation that our time on this planet is limited, emphatically told during the final trio of songs: the three part orchestral work, 'Exogensis: Symphony'. Muse have shown signs of classical tendencies in previous offerings, but never quite to this scale. Adventurous, confident and bordering on outrageous, the 12 minutes of the string-heavy 'Exogensis: Symphony' builds to a thrilling climax before resting on a dramatic, comforting conclusion.

Undoubtedly one the most anticipated rock albums of 2009, the long wait has been truly justified. A sweeping collection of songs where classical and rock influences collide but never clash, no words can exaggerate the brilliance of The Resistance . Having outlived many of their peers, Muse have not only sustained the immense quality of their previous work but have once again excelled themselves, creating a genuine modern masterpiece in the process.

Track List
1. Uprising
2. Resistance
3. Undisclosed Desires
4. United States Of Eurasia (+Collateral Damage)
5. Guiding Light
6. Unnatural Selection
7. Mk Ultra
8. I Belong To You (+Mon Coeur S'ouvre A Ta Voix)
9. Exogenesis : Symphony Part I (Overture)
10. Exogenesis : Symphony Part II (Cross Pollination)
11. Exogenesis : Symphony Part III (Redemption)

Post a comment