Otis Redding - 100 Hits Legend 5CD Box Set @£4.99 @ Play
Otis Redding - 100 Hits Legend 5CD Box Set  @£4.99 @ Play

Otis Redding - 100 Hits Legend 5CD Box Set @£4.99 @ Play

Buy forBuy forBuy for£4.99
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
Probably one of the finest soul singers Nearly All His Atlantic/Stax Studio Recordings - 5 CD's 100 Tracks - £4.93 at Asda but out of stock there - Don't Forget Quidco.Review in comments
Disc 1

1. These Arms Of Mine
2. Pain In My Heart
3. Mr. Pitful
4. That's How Strong My Love Is
5. Security
6. I Can't Turn You Loose
7. My Girl
8. I've Been Loving You Too Long
9. That's What My Heart Needs
10. Come To Me
11. I Need Your Lovin'
12. Louie Louie
13. Chained And Bound
14. Lucille
15. The Dog
16. Ole Man Trouble
17. Just One More Day
18. Something Is Worrying Me
19. Stand By Me
20. You Send Me

Disc 2

1. Change Gonna Come
2. A Woman, A Lover, A Friend
3. Home In Your Heart
4. Respect
5. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
6. I Want To Thank You
7. Down In The Valley
8. It's Too Late
9. Fa Fa Fa Fa Fa (Sad Song)
10. Wonderful World
11. Keep Your Arms Around Me
12. Nothing Can Change This Love
13. You Don't Miss Your Water
14. Your One And Only Man
15. Rock Me Baby
16. 634-5789 (Soulsville U.S.A)
17. She Put The Hurt On Me
18. Lovey Dovey
19. For Your Precious Love
20. My Lover's Prayer

Disc 3

1. Hard To Handle
2. Shake
3. Knock On Wood
4. Tramp
5. Chain Gang
6. I'm Sick Y'all
7. It Takes Two
8. Scratch My Back
9. Everybody Makes A Mistake
10. New Years Resolution
11. Are You Lonely For Me, Baby?
12. Good To Me
13. Sweet Lorene
14. Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis
15. Any Ole Way
16. Hawg For You
17. Love Have Mercy
18. Tell It Like It Is
19. Tennessee Waltz
20. Amen

Disc 4

1. Try A Little Tenderness
2. Cigarettes And Coffee
3. Bring It On Home To Me
4. Glory Of Love
5. I've Got Dreams To Remember
6. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
7. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
8. The Happy Song (Dum-Dum-De-De-De-Dum-Dum)
9. You Left The Water Running
10. Treat Her Right
11. Trick Or Treat
12. Day Tripper
13. Don't Mess With Cupid
14. It's Growing
15. Let Me Come Home
16. Ton Of Joy
17. Let Me Be Good To You
18. Nobody Knows You
19. You're Still My Baby
20. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay)

Disc 5

1. Love Man
2. (Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher
3. Got To Get Myself Together
4. A Lover's Question
5. I'm A Changed Man
6. The Hucklebuck
7. Groovin' Time
8. The Match Game
9. I'm Coming Home To See About You
10. Tell The Truth
11. Open The Door
12. Direct Me
13. Look At That Girl
14. That's A Good Idea
15. Your Feeling Is Mine
16. Champagne And Wine
17. Nobody's Fault But Mine
18. I'll Let Nothing Separate Us
19. A Fool For You
20. Free Me


Original Poster

Review Added
This five-CD box includes almost every track from the studio albums Otis Redding recorded in his four year career with Stax. Since these albums included all the singles, the collection is effectively a "best of" plus more. My own vinyl collection was put together thirty years ago with some difficulty, scouring second hand record shops and paying the price of this whole box for anything resembling a decent disc. I envy lucky newcomers both for the price now required and the experience of listening(show full description) for the first time to everything that is on offer.
Only one track (Hey Hey Baby) is missing from Otis's first album Pain in My Heart released in 1964. Thereafter every track is included from the four subsequent albums released before his death in December 1967: Otis Blue (his classic 1965 album and Europe breakthrough), Soul Ballads, Sings Soul and Dictionary of Soul. Also included are the best tracks from his joint album recorded with Carla Thomas (King and Queen) and all the tracks from two decent posthumous albums, Sitting in the Dock of the Bay and Love Man.
The only significant recordings missing are those from any of Otis's live albums, some of which are excellent. In this regard, I would particularly recommend Live in Europe and Live at Monterey (a scintillating album shared 50:50 with Jim Hendrix)
One thing to remember is that very few Soul stars of the day got to record albums in this quantity - you had to be right at the top of the tree to do so. Another is that the core personnel for the Stax backing band are the classic lineup of Booker T and the MGs, comprising Booker T Jones, Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn and Al Jackson Jnr.
Overall, I recommend this collection to anyone who is interested in Soul or 1960s music. You, can of course, buy a smaller "best of" collection, but you will find many worthwhile lesser-known tracks in this one that you would otherwise be missing.

same price at amazon, good spot tho. think i will treat myself to this, i love a bit of Otis. Hot.

He was a legend......Hot from me.

Original Poster


same price at amazon, good spot tho. think i will treat myself to this, i … same price at amazon, good spot tho. think i will treat myself to this, i love a bit of Otis. Hot.

Yes but You can use quidco at Play to make it slightly cheaper

Great find OP. Just ordered it.
Post a comment