The 13th Floor Elevators - His Eye Is On The Pyramid (2 x CD) £4.44* delivered @ The Hut
The 13th Floor Elevators - His Eye Is On The Pyramid (2 x CD) £4.44* delivered @ The Hut

The 13th Floor Elevators - His Eye Is On The Pyramid (2 x CD) £4.44* delivered @ The Hut

Buy forBuy forBuy for£4.44
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
The 13th Floor Elevators were an American rock band from Austin, Texas formed by Roky Erickson (legend and dude), electric jug player Tommy Hall, and guitarist Stacy Sutherland, which existed from 1965 to 1969.

As one of the first psychedelic bands, their contemporary influence has been acknowledged by 1960s musicians such as Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top, Peter Albin of Big Brother and the Holding Company, and Chris Gerniottis of Zakary Thaks. Seminal punk band Television played their song "Fire Engine" live in the mid-1970s. In the 1980s-90s, the 13th Floor Elevators influenced important bands such as Primal Scream and Spacemen 3, both of whom covered their songs, and 14 Iced Bears who use an electric jug on their single "Beautiful Child".

Drug overuse and related legal problems left the band in a state of constant turmoil, which took its toll, both physically and mentally, on the members.In 1968, while doing a stint at HemisFair, Erickson started speaking nonsense. He was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia and sent to a Houston psychiatric hospital, where he involuntarily received electroconvulsive therapy In 1969, facing a felony marijuana possession charge, Roky Erickson chose to be admitted to a psychiatric hospital rather than serve a prison term, thus signaling the end of the band's career. After several escapes, he was sent to the Rusk State Hospital for the Criminally Insane, where he was subjected to more electroconvulsive therapy and Thorazine treatments, ultimately remaining in custody until 1972.

On April 20, 2010, Erickson released True Love Cast Out All Evil, his first album of new material in 14 years.

So, there's your potted history on one of the greatest psychedelic bands that ever graced the airwaves.

Disc 1

1. You're Gonna Miss Me
2. Street Song
3. Pictures
4. Slide Machine
5. Earthquake
6. Rose And The Thorn
7. You Can't Hurt Me Anymore
8. Slip Inside This House
9. You Don't Know
10. Levitation
11. Thru The Rhythm
12. Dust
13. Kingdom Of Heaven
14. Roller Coaster

Disc 2

1. Fire Engine
2. Barnyard Blues
3. She Lives
4. Splash 1
5. Scarlet And Gold
6. Don't Fall Down
7. Monkey Island
8. Before You Accuse Me
9. Reverberation
10. I Had To Tell You
11. Roller Coaster
12. Nobody To Love
13. Till Then
14. Baby Blue
15. Tried To Hide
16. I've Got Levitation
17. Never Another
18. May The Circle Remain Unbroken

Post a comment