The 13th Floor Elevators (Roky Erickson) - The Albums Collection (4 CD Boxset: Remastered) £8.39 delivered @ Play [Psychedelic Sounds / Easter Everywhere / Bull of the Woods / Live]

The 13th Floor Elevators (Roky Erickson) - The Albums Collection (4 CD Boxset: Remastered) £8.39 delivered @ Play [Psychedelic Sounds / Easter Everywhere / Bull of the Woods / Live]

Found 4th Jun 2012
Might be a tad niche but this is simply awesome collection of one of the finest (if not THE finest) 60's psychedelia sound. Easily the cheapest this has ever been. And Roky is THE dude. Just fantastic - especially at £2.10 an album - cheapest these albums/CDs are (and not even remastered) are £8 to £10 each.

Amazon UK £10.49
Tesco £12.77
Argos £13.49
DVD Source £14.99
WOW HD £14.99
HMV £19.00

This 4CD set contains all four of the original Elevators albums that were released on the International Artists label from 1966 to 1968, re-mastered and collected in a clam box with extensive new notes by band expert Paul Drummond.

In addition to the stereo versions of the three `studio' albums, which were re-mastered and remixed from the original tapes in 2007 by the original producer Walt Andrus, the set also includes a completely new mix 1968's "Live" album, minimising the fake applause that were added to the recordings and removing glitches which blighted previous versions. All the albums also have the original running orders.

`The fearless trailblazers of psychedelia and one of the most kick-ass rock bands ever... For two or so years they burned with a flame so fierce that 40 years on they still remain an inspiration'

Disc 1 - Psychedelic Sounds (Stereo)

1. You're Gonna Miss Me
2. Roller Coaster
3. Splash 1
4. Reverberation
5. Don't Fall Down
6. Fire Engine
7. Thru The Rhythm
8. You Don't Know ( How Young You Are)
9. Kingdom Of Heaven (Is Within You)
10. Monkey Island
11. Tried To Hide

Disc 2 - Easter Everywhere (Stereo)

1. Slip Inside This House
2. Slide Machine
3. She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)
4. Nobody To Love
5. Baby Blue
6. Earthquake
7. Dust
8. (I’ve Got) Levitation
9. I Had To tell You
10. Postures (Leave Your Body Behind)

Disc 3 - Bull of the Woods (Stereo)

1. Livin’ On
2. Barnyard Blues
3. Till Then
4. Never Another
5. Rose and the Thorn
6. Down By The River
7. Scarlet and Gold
8. Street Song
9. Dr Doom
10. With You
11. May The Circle Remain Unbroken

Disc 4 - Live! (Stereo) - Re-mastered 2011

1. Introduction
2. Before You Accuse Me
3. Tried To Hide
4. She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)
5. You Gotta Take That Girl
6. I'm Gonna Love You Too
7. Everybody's Needs Somebody To Love
8. (I’ve Got) Levitation
9. You Can’t Hurt Me Anymore
10. Roller Coaster
11. You're Gonna Miss Me
Community Updates



Led by the inimitable Roky Erickson, the 13th Floor Elevators not only defined the acid-tinged sound of 1960s American garage music, they established a precedent for wild, unhinged Texas rock as well. Erickson's powerful vocals and trippy lyrics mixed perfectly with the band's blend of gritty R&B and psychedelic swirls. Add to that what is perhaps rock & roll's only electric jug player and you have the ingredients for a truly legendary band. Sadly, Erickson was placed in a mental institution after a 1969 drug bust. His exposure to electroshock therapy there ended both the band and Erikson's chances for a normal existence. Roky soldiered on, though, and released a string of albums during the '70, '80s, and '90s that were simultaneously beautiful and terrifying.

Slip Inside This House
I wish i'd had you as a teacher when i was at school andy.
Great find Andy! I'd never heard of them before, but after a quick listen via the youtube link, I like it

I've recently been listening to Can - a krautrock group from the 70's - and have been blown away by the quality of their music. TTFE sound like another band I can get into...I just clicked on the link and it's went up to £10.49 doh!
Damn, sorry windhoek. Hate it when that happens
Post a comment