Unfortunately, this deal is no longer valid
Vegan Cornetto Made with Soy and Gluten Free 4 Ice Cream Cones - £2.25 @ Asda
501° Expired

Vegan Cornetto Made with Soy and Gluten Free 4 Ice Cream Cones - £2.25 @ Asda

£2.25£325%Asda Deals
49
Refreshed 13th Jul (Posted 13th Jul)

This deal is expired. Here are some options that might interest you:

Instore and online!
Possibly not a single "natural" product in there but very tasty for a rare treat
Tried a pack last week from Sainsburys and paid £3 so this is a good price just a bit above the Tesco own brand ones (which seem to have had quality issues since a week after release)
WARNING contains SOYA!
Community Updates
Features:

Vanilla flavour soy ice cream in a gluten free wafer cone (12%), with a chocolate flavour coating (12%) and dark chocolate pieces (2%).. A crispy baked gluten free wafer coated from top to bottom with a chocolatey layer, combined with vanilla flavoured soy ice cream, chocolatey pieces and hazelnuts.. The Perfect Crunch.. Suitable for Vegans..

The Cornetto Made with Soy and Gluten Free experience consists of a delicious, crispy baked gluten free wafer, coated inside from top to bottom with a chocolatey layer, combined with a delicious vanilla soy ice cream and dark chocolatey pieces. It is suitable for Vegans. For over 50 years we’ve been perfecting our Cornetto recipe, including allowing us to use soy based ice cream that keeps the smooth ice cream texture that Cornetto is famous for. Taking your taste buds on a delicious journey from the tasty hazelnut topping, through the smooth vanilla flavour soy ice cream, down to the crunchy gluten free wafer cone - and of course ending with the legendary chocolatey tip. An Italian ice cream manufacturer from Naples, was passionate about ice cream, loving creamy texture, delicious flavours and quality ingredients. One day they found a way to spread their passion for ice cream to everyone, creating a formula that could not fail. The great idea was to cover the inside of the cone with a chocolatey layer, allowing the wafer to keep its crispiness when filled with ice cream. From this breakthrough we have the Cornetto we know and love today. This pack contains four tasty ice cream cones that, whether enjoyed as a snack or a dessert, is guaranteed to be a favourite with family and friends.

Groups

Top comments
Silly comments really. I have several food allergies and my girlfriend suffers from food intolerances but we are never bothered with "may contain". This is only information for people with severe allergies who will get reactions even on slightest contact with the allergen.

It only says that the factory is contaminated with allergens, because makes other products which are not allergen free. So yeah, this product is vegan, but the factory they are made in is not. Depends on what extend you want to be "vegan" to really.
brettburnell13/07/2019 09:39

The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely …The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely dairy free I’m afraid


It's just an allergy disclaimer - the chances of it actually containing cows milk are absolutely miniscule - all vegan food tends to state this, companies are just covering themselves in case they get sued as they may be preparing the product in a factory that produces other (non vegan) food as well
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:06

You can have a beef steak for this money. It's tasty and contains no milk.


Just contains loads of antibiotics instead.
A lot of vegan vegetarian products will say may contain milk etc because of cross-contamination eg prepared in a factory where milk/dairy is also prepared or meat is also prepared.
It's like when you get a vegan subway and they prepare it on a surface which has also been used for meat.
Obviously it's good to warn specifically those people with allergies because it can cause problems.
But it's still vegan.
I've tried these and they are yummy.
49 Comments
The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely dairy free I’m afraid
brettburnell13/07/2019 09:39

The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely …The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely dairy free I’m afraid



afraid that is the risk of modern life, despite all the press I personally have bought products from all the main supermarkets with no dairy listed in the ingredients yet after eating them have had reactions which I only get to cows milk.
With me dairy prompts an eczema type reaction which is unpleasant but not dangerous obviously if for you the reaction is more extreme it's not worth the gamble.
brettburnell13/07/2019 09:39

The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely …The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely dairy free I’m afraid



Have checked the box and confirmed that is true it also says "may contain milk" so have removed the dairy free from the title, thanks for the help
maddogb13/07/2019 09:49

Have checked the box and confirmed that is true it also says "may contain …Have checked the box and confirmed that is true it also says "may contain milk" so have removed the dairy free from the title, thanks for the help


If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:06

You can have a beef steak for this money. It's tasty and contains no milk.


Just contains loads of antibiotics instead.
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:06

You can have a beef steak for this money. It's tasty and contains no milk.


Or gluten
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:06

You can have a beef steak for this money. It's tasty and contains no milk.



umm you can also have 5 packs of Rubys poppadoms from the co-op sat outside in the sunshine i'd still rather have the cornetto
bobbymartini13/07/2019 10:17

If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either … If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either


A vegan it's a very orthodox vegetarian. He wear latex gloves when eating, to avoid contaminating the forage with his own skin's molecules.
bobbymartini13/07/2019 10:17

If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either …If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either



damm good point, It should really say "Cones trying to be Vegan" I am half asleep still
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:25

A vegan it's a very orthodox vegetarian. He wear latex gloves when eating, …A vegan it's a very orthodox vegetarian. He wear latex gloves when eating, to avoid contaminating the forage with his own skin's molecules.


That makes zero sense. The forage??
maddogb13/07/2019 10:27

damm good point, It should really say "Cones trying to be Vegan" I am half …damm good point, It should really say "Cones trying to be Vegan" I am half asleep still


So vegan ice cream that may or not be vegan? Oh dear! Who's going to buy this? Thats like trying to sell cans of super strength beer that may or may not contain alcohol to a "heavy drinker"!
bobbymartini13/07/2019 10:17

If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either … If it says 'may contain milk' the box really shouldn't say vegan either


It's vegan but not suitable for milk intolerance, which a lot of vegan products are. They're made in a way where contamination is possible, but the recipe is a vegan recipe.
woldranger13/07/2019 10:34

That makes zero sense. The forage?? So vegan ice cream that may or not be …That makes zero sense. The forage?? So vegan ice cream that may or not be vegan? Oh dear! Who's going to buy this? Thats like trying to sell cans of super strength beer that may or may not contain alcohol to a "heavy drinker"!


Sorry, it makes sense for me at least; this is a cow friendly attitude that makes people to feed like them.
A lot of vegan vegetarian products will say may contain milk etc because of cross-contamination eg prepared in a factory where milk/dairy is also prepared or meat is also prepared.
It's like when you get a vegan subway and they prepare it on a surface which has also been used for meat.
Obviously it's good to warn specifically those people with allergies because it can cause problems.
But it's still vegan.
I've tried these and they are yummy.
brettburnell13/07/2019 09:39

The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely …The description on the website says may contain milk so not completely dairy free I’m afraid


It's just an allergy disclaimer - the chances of it actually containing cows milk are absolutely miniscule - all vegan food tends to state this, companies are just covering themselves in case they get sued as they may be preparing the product in a factory that produces other (non vegan) food as well
Silly comments really. I have several food allergies and my girlfriend suffers from food intolerances but we are never bothered with "may contain". This is only information for people with severe allergies who will get reactions even on slightest contact with the allergen.

It only says that the factory is contaminated with allergens, because makes other products which are not allergen free. So yeah, this product is vegan, but the factory they are made in is not. Depends on what extend you want to be "vegan" to really.
I guess the issue is the difference between "vegan" and "dairy free", one being for personal beliefs (and thus stray molecules is not important) and the other being for medical reasons (where molecules matter).
georgesvalch13/07/2019 11:00

Sorry, it makes sense for me at least; this is a cow friendly attitude …Sorry, it makes sense for me at least; this is a cow friendly attitude that makes people to feed like them.


In English, what you wrote didn't make sense. If it did for you, then fair enough.
Just seen these at jack fulton in Castleford 6 for £1
georgesvalch13/07/2019 10:06

You can have a beef steak for this money. It's tasty and contains no milk.


But that beef steak might contain some horse meat so good luck with that.
jamgin13/07/2019 14:33

But that beef steak might contain some horse meat so good luck with that.


Horse meat is very lean and full of protein. It tastes nice too.
Over processed food at it's finest.
And, to cap it all, has anyone else noticed that 'Gluten-free' stuff usually contains 50% more sugar than the regular stuff?

As usual, if you don't die from that, you'll die from this....or maybe something else. As my old pappy used to say....biggest cause of death is stoppage of the heart!
I do prefer my cornettos vegan-free
maddogb13/07/2019 09:49

Have checked the box and confirmed that is true it also says "may contain …Have checked the box and confirmed that is true it also says "may contain milk" so have removed the dairy free from the title, thanks for the help


It only says that as a precaution, not as a fact

It gets stamped with the vegan or vegetarian society ‘a logo because it has been approved by them
So they wouldn’t approve of it unless it was actually vegan
Rob_130413/07/2019 15:13

I do prefer my cornettos vegan-free


Then don’t eat these ones or bother making a pointless comment on this thread.
sedwards7713/07/2019 16:28

Then don’t eat these ones or bother making a pointless comment on this t …Then don’t eat these ones or bother making a pointless comment on this thread.


It was a joke on the now-changed title (vegan & gluten free), no need to be a miserable sod.
coldpop13/07/2019 14:51

Horse meat is very lean and full of protein. It tastes nice too.


Don't eat it in a restaurant else you might be 'saddled' with a large bill...
Ocado have these on offer. 2 boxes for £3
NitrousUK13/07/2019 12:06

I guess the issue is the difference between "vegan" and "dairy free", one …I guess the issue is the difference between "vegan" and "dairy free", one being for personal beliefs (and thus stray molecules is not important) and the other being for medical reasons (where molecules matter).


One's stupid, the other is stupid.
Edited by: "Norseg" 13th Jul
I have these so my glutes dont get too big
These aren't healthy at all - arguably less healthy (and a lot more expensive by weight) than the regular Cornettos by having a whopping 45% more sugar in them than the normal ones.

Trying to find cheap and nice-tasting low sugar ice cream or lollies is a near impossibility - even going the expensive route with Halo Top/Oppo/Breyers isn't satisfactory (the sweeteners they use taste bizarre to me - some even have a minty flavour on non-mint ice cream!). It's about time we had more low sugar desserts worth buying - I end up with the terminally dull Muller Lite yogurts most of the time :-(
Norseg14/07/2019 01:03

Comment deleted


Tempeh originates from Java, humans have consumed it for hundreds of years. Tofu has been consumed in China for 2000 years, and the soy bean as a foodstuff since 6600BC ie approx 8600 years.

Americans started producing soy as a cheap animal feed in the early 1900s.

What was that you were saying?
Edited by: "JamesSmith" 14th Jul
Norseg14/07/2019 01:30

Comment deleted

Ya wouldn't have said that to Bruce Lee
maddogb14/07/2019 01:38

Ya wouldn't have said that to Bruce Lee


I'll pick him up and put him in a booster seat
JamesSmith14/07/2019 01:16

Tempeh originates from Java, humans have consumed it for hundreds of …Tempeh originates from Java, humans have consumed it for hundreds of years. Tofu has been consumed in China for 2000 years, and the soy bean as a foodstuff since 6600BC ie approx 8600 years.Americans started producing soy as a cheap animal feed in the early 1900s.What was that you were saying?


Also because they ate soybeans doesn't mean they didn't eat meat or drink milk

Just drink Cows Milk, it's not meat so no killings
Edited by: "Norseg" 14th Jul
JamesSmith14/07/2019 01:16

Tempeh originates from Java, humans have consumed it for hundreds of …Tempeh originates from Java, humans have consumed it for hundreds of years. Tofu has been consumed in China for 2000 years, and the soy bean as a foodstuff since 6600BC ie approx 8600 years.Americans started producing soy as a cheap animal feed in the early 1900s.What was that you were saying?



38060515-eIAOv.jpg
Norseg14/07/2019 01:51

Also because they ate soybeans doesn't mean they didn't eat meat or drink …Also because they ate soybeans doesn't mean they didn't eat meat or drink milkJust drink Cows Milk, it's not meat so no killings


Not that anyone was talking about drinking milk - but you do know what happens to male calves right?

Link
Edited by: "JamesSmith" 14th Jul
JamesSmith14/07/2019 03:15

Comment deleted


Let's move this conversation to PMs since it's not exactly on topic anymore
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text