Wire 1985-1990: A List CD £3.49 delivered @ HMV
Wire 1985-1990: A List CD £3.49 delivered @ HMV

Wire 1985-1990: A List CD £3.49 delivered @ HMV

Buy forBuy forBuy for£3.49
GETGet dealVisit site and get deal
After group members pursued solo projects during the early 1980s, Wire returned to the fold with a more ear-friendly, synthesized sound, while still maintaining their signature strangeness. Even with some of its rougher musical edges smoothed down, Wire's music retains its air of menace. This collection surveys the band's albums in the mid- to late '80s, when they flirted with dance beats and flaunted a precision only hinted at in their earlier, more dissonant days.
The emergence of a more dance-friendly Wire is clearly shown in "Ambitious" and the mighty "Ahead", which marries a pronounced New Order feel with absurdist lyrics that nevertheless sound like pronouncements from on high in the context of this propulsive, monolithic track. "Eardrum Buzz" and "Kidney Bingos" are supremely lovely (if slightly odd) pop songs, while "Madman's Honey" and "Silk Skin Paws" with their lush, eerie vocals, have a dark majesty. But even as the band gravitated toward a more commercial sound, songs like "Feed Me" show that the dark side was still intact, as does "A Serious of Snakes", which features the line: "I'd rather make furniture than go to Midnight Mass".

1. Ahead
2. Kidney Bingos
3. Serious Of Snakes
4. Eardrum Buzz
5. Drill
6. Ambitious
7. In Vivo
8. Finest Drops
9. Madman's Honey
10. Over Theirs
11. Silk Skin Paws
12. Queen Of Ur And The King Of Um
13. Torch It
14. Advantage In Height
15. Point Of Collapse
16. Feed Me

Post a comment