Groups

30 quid taken from debit card for o2 fraud grrrrrrr

Just been on the phone to the Halifax,logged into online banking and noticed 30 quid gone out on Sept 25th,which defo wasn't me.

I don't have a car so its not been done at a petrol station & i don't use it at supermarkets so it must have happened when i've bought goods online.

I've used the card online this month a few times and from 2 places i've never used before after seeing deals on here.

So just a reminder for people to check their accounts.

The 2 new places are cheapsmells.com & lenawhite.co.uk

Other places i've used it online are :

John Lewis

Mandmdirect

Amazon

20 Comments

What does the online transaction say?

Original Poster

Oh and the lady at the Halifax wasn't even going to cancel the card until i asked her to,she was about to go off the phone and i said aren't you going to cancel it,she said i can do,if you want ???

If i want ??? errrrrrrrrrrr der !! of course i want !!

Original Poster

Adam2050;6439565

What does the online transaction say?

It says

O2(Uk)ltd Prepay

Original Poster

dcx_badass;6439678

Phone voucher to test if the card works.

Yes i know,had it happen once before on a Halifax CC and they did exactly the same thing,Halifax never cancelled the card and they used it again for more o2 top ups:roll:

That's why this time i made a point of asking to cancel.

dcx_badass;6439678

Phone voucher to test if the card works.

I had this then a few days later someone tried to buy £200 worth of stuff from Comet but it was tagged as suspect by my card company.

Banned

this is the most common fraud (o2 x £20/£30)

never been to shopto?

deb8z;6439702

Yes i know,had it happen once before on a Halifax CC and they did exactly … Yes i know,had it happen once before on a Halifax CC and they did exactly the same thing,Halifax never cancelled the card and they used it again for more o2 top ups:roll:That's why this time i made a point of asking to cancel.

Crazy.