4k editing computer form v function v pre-built

Found 5th Sep 2017
[scroll to bottom of op for the TL:DR version]

Hi all.

I have spent the past month researching new PC. budget of anywhere between £1000-1500.

I was going to buy a House Omen 880 with a Ryzen 7 1800x - 16gb ram - Amd Rx580 4gb - 250ssd - 2tb mechanical.

however, having seen the inside of one it's a bit of a mess and the parts don't exactly look good.

I've since been on PcPartPickers and have spec'd a similar build but with a nice case, better. looking internals and what appear to my eyes better quality parts (however someone told me that a lot of manufacturer's stick plastic bits on parts to pimp them up)

Now I know the functionality is the main thing but is it really better to just do it myself? the Omen will cost me £250 less than the parts build.

I don't know as I'm new to all this. Any help will be welcome but refrain from insults because I'm an indecisive idiot and crap like this plays on my mind.

*TL:DR - shall I pay less for an ugly pre build or pay more for a good looking self build of similar specs?
Community Updates
Ask
10 Comments
31898021-JVuY6.jpg

I'd go for a bigger case than the omen 880 as it's very tight. Have a look at the EATX cases like the cooler master HAF range.
Edited by: "kester76" 5th Sep 2017
Ignoring the Aesthetics. Build your own to get better options on customisation.

Quick list similar to my own build. uk.pcpartpicker.com/lis…kNN for £1240
Keep in mind Windows could be had from elsewhere. The 1700 typically overclocks close to the 1800X for over £100 less.
The power supply could be downgraded easily as could the motherboard. Also the 1700 has the included RGB cooler that can match up with the MB lighting.
Original Poster
Oneday771 h, 29 m ago