Expired

50/50 split liability

Found 14th Oct 2014
Bit of a long message so apologies in advance, but i need some advice, i was involved in a non fault car accident, last year (October), i was reversed into by a driver at the exit at a petrol station, there were no witnesses and no CCTV covering the exit, i phoned my car insurance the next day (as they were closed at the time of my accident) and i gave them all the details on what had happened.

They ran a VRN on the guy who reversed into me and he WAS insured. I've been driving for 19 years and I have full business class car Insurance with everything covered, i did/have 9 years NCD protected and guaranteed hire car as part of my policy as i'm a care worker and i need a car to transport my clients around.

The guy rang me up a day later but before i spoke to him, i recorded our conversation, although i have later found out, that because i didn't inform him that i was recording our conversation i couldn't use this as evidence if it went to court.
Anyway, the guy claimed that his insurance ran out of the morning of the accident (very convenient) and that i would have to claim through my own insurance as he now (supposedly) hasn't got any insurance, he said that he "felt
terrible" and in no uncertain words said that he didn't see me when he reversed into me, he also said that he had a mate who could fit it for £300, i declined his stupid offer.
My car got repaired (£1253 in total to be repaired) and i paid £300 excess, my car insurance was due the next month but when i got my renewal letter the price had doubled from £458 to £897, so i changed insurers and ended up paying £488, i was told that if the other driver claims liability and the accident was a non fault i would get cheaper car insurance by sending in some documents/evidence