Found 9th Jan 2009
ok so me and my mate were shooting some pool, we were playing for pints, the loser bought the winner a pint etc... so on the break i pot the black ball.. were i come from that means you win, he thinks otherwise...and so did the barman! anyone know?

25 Comments

yes, as long as no other balls were potted then you would have fouled and lost

mittu1;4006560

yes, as long as no other balls were potted then you would have fouled and … yes, as long as no other balls were potted then you would have fouled and lost




Where i come from the person who potted the black ball would have lost too!

If you pot the black off the break it is a re-rack

Original Poster Banned

ok so i think i would win, others think i loose and 1 thinks re-rack, i guess no1 knows! lol

I agree with mittu1. Potting the black ball out of sequence is an instant game loss.

Pot the black on the break without anything else is instant win!

Original Poster Banned

Benjimoron;4006698

Pot the black on the break without anything else is instant win!



thats what i thought!!

Original Poster Banned

4leafed;4006686

I agree with mittu1. Potting the black ball out of sequence is an instant … I agree with mittu1. Potting the black ball out of sequence is an instant game loss.



i know if its during a game then yes, but on the break? surely you should win because the chances of potting it are so slim and you can hardly help it!

i would say you would lose...

shawy;4006661

If you pot the black off the break it is a re-rack



They were the rules in the league i used to play in, although that was a while back :thumbsup:

read up the rules before you play lol, oh and make sure you both agree what rules your playing with, the amount of fallouts with house mates because they play different rules lol... just get drunk then there are no rules!!!

I've checked and admit I was wrong....check the rules over at pubpoolrules.com/rul…php

Seems like a re-rack is in order so nether of you win:

"If the black is pocketed from the break shot, the balls will be re-racked and the same player will restart the game. No penalty will be incurred. This applies even if a foul shot is played "

Found on google :

8-ball rules:If the Eight-Ball is potted on any break, the balls are … 8-ball rules:If the Eight-Ball is potted on any break, the balls are re-racked and the same player will break again. When the Eight-Ball is potted on the break, all other aspects of the shot are ignored.9-ball rules:9-ball rules denote a win. But its really a twisting of two rules to make one that doesn't exist.For instance the rule on the winning of the game is:"On the opening break, the game is considered to have commenced once the cue ball has been struck by the cue tip. The 1-ball must be legally contacted on the break shot. The game ends at the end of a legal shot which pockets the 9-ball, or when a player forfeits the game as the result of a foul."A legal Break is:"The breaker must strike the1-ball first and either pocket a ball or drive at least four numbered balls to the rail."Only two rules denote a foul break:1. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. 2. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.So, without it being a stated rule, in 9-ball pool, if you pot the 9-ball on the break, you win, because no rule says it is a foul.[LIST][*]1 year ago[/LIST]Source(s):http://www.epa.org.uk/wrules.php]http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments...

Original Poster Banned

ok so re-rack it is! Thanks guys

Just looked up the rules... Rule 5 of breaking can be found here epa.org.uk/wru…php

[FONT=&quot][SIZE=4]If the Eight-Ball is potted on any break, the balls are re-racked and the same player will break again. When the Eight-Ball is potted on the break, all other aspects of the shot are ignored. (Except if a Serious Foul or breech of the ‘Spirit of the Game’ occurs) [/SIZE][/FONT]

Also forund via wikipedia in regards to the re-rack

Due to the fact most pool tables in game halls are coin-operated and thus … Due to the fact most pool tables in game halls are coin-operated and thus don't allow players to retrieve balls after they have been potted until a new game is paid for, in such circumstances the players may agree that the breaker wins the game instantly for potting the black on the break shot also known as a golden break.

before everyone runs off from this thread, can i ask, when it says re rack does that mean you have to get the black back, cos my uni bar it costs a quid a game lol... i aint paying a quid everytime some nugget pots the black... haha

Titchimp;4006802

Also forund via wikipedia in regards to the re-rack



Will you stop beating me!!! haha, just joshing, well wikipedia is not reliable as my uni tutors are always reminding me... :roll:

I would imagine the golden break would be a sort of player rule not an official rule, kinda like when your playing footie down the park you make up your own rules :w00t:

lol

Original Poster Banned

djstrobe4real;4006815

before everyone runs off from this thread, can i ask, when it says re … before everyone runs off from this thread, can i ask, when it says re rack does that mean you have to get the black back, cos my uni bar it costs a quid a game lol... i aint paying a quid everytime some nugget pots the black... haha



the post above yours said it all lol

Re rack

And probably the quickest game of Pool too, since you've got to pay the same amount again to get it back

I have to agree tho - rules on Pool vary from person to person, pub to club etc so it's always best to make sure you're al singing from the same sheet. I must admit tho - potting the black on the break is extremely rare and I doubt even if you had discussed it beforehand, you can guarantee this wouldn't have come up!

Nearly all pubs have the rules on the wall somewhere, they are meant to if the landlord is allowing gambling. I've only ever seen re-rack as the correct rule if the black is potted on the break though.

DangerGod;4006707

thats what i thought!!


it's a foul and you lose because it is the black.

Original Poster Banned

lukekey;4008980

it's a foul and you lose because it is the black.



no mate we established it was a re-rack if you read the thread
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text
    Top Discussions
    1. Topcashback Trick or Treat competition62653
    2. Win two star gazing festival tickets in the north pennines11
    3. Win a £100 Amazon Voucher From LoveMyVouchers33
    4. Chat magazine issue 4323

    See more discussions