A £200 4k monitor a good idea?

Found 11th Sep 2017
Well, I'm in a dilemma here. I was originally planning to get a ultrawide screen but then realised I don't really need it so much as I also have another screen. So I came across this 4k monitor which is shown below:
laptopsdirect.co.uk/ele…asp
I don't really know whether I should get this because I most likely won't be able to game on 4k anyways because of the limitations of my pc and not only just that, it plays at 30hz whereas the monitor itself runs on 60hz.

I was also looking at a 32 inch 1080p screen but it seems that at that size and it being a 1080p, you'll be able to see pixels easily and I hate that.

I'm a student at university who uses softwares like AutoCAD or solidworks and I've been dabbling on retouching images as I'm slightly a photographer. What do you guys recommend? My budget is about £200(+20).

Thank you very much for taking your time to read this.

1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
9 Comments

Both options sound terrible. 32" @ 1080p is, as you say, wholly unsuitable for use as a monitor. A 4K 30Hz TN monitor is flat-out terrible whether you're gaming, designing, working on photos, or anything else.

I'd suggest you go with something like a 27" 1440p IPS. It'll cost you about £80 more, but it'll be an order of magnitude better to use. uk.pcpartpicker.com/pro…or/ is a good way to find a monitor at the spec and price you want to pay.

dxx8 h, 2 m ago