A failure of sufficiently rigorous processes within our adoption services.

Found 6th Nov 2017
How was this case allowed to reach a successful conclusion? During the 9 months prior to formal adoption, while in the care of the prospective parents, this young girl had incurred significant injuries to her leg and head on 3 separate occasions. Despite this, the adoption was completed and within 2 weeks she had been murdered by one of the adoptive parents.

I have no experience of the adoption system, but does anyone have a personal knowledge of the process as a child or parent, or a perspective as someone working within the service? Is it as rigorous as it should be, or lacking in certain aspects?

Yes this was a rare outcome, and it is of course hard to have a system that is guaranteed to be 100% safe at all times. However this must have rang alarm bells for those responsible for monitoring matters before an adoption is formalised. No-one would want unnecessary obstacles to stop children and loving parents being brought together. Children can have accidents even with good supervision, but 3 significant injury events within the first 4 months in this person's care surely should have been a major cause for concern and investigation.
Community Updates
Misc
7 Comments
This truly is an horrific incident.
However, until recently I was a Magistrate in the family court proceedings, part of my remit was to approve adoptions or guardianships.
In my experience the child is well represented by social workers, foster careers, local authorities, health workers and legal teams.
Unfortunately professionals can only report on findings if the prospective adoptees volunteer information and go from there. If the incidents happened during the months the child was in the care of the prospective parents and they chose not to inform the team surrounding the adoption then everyone gets duped and the outcome inevitably ends in tears.