A question for parents of primary school children or teachers.

27 replies
Found 5th Oct 2010
Do you do "Learning Logs"... as a homework?...
If yes... What do you really think of them?
Any opinions from parents about homework set from their primary school would be appreciated.

I am a teacher... and I disagree with homework, except frequent reading... and maybe an odd " challenge"
What are your thoughts...?

1. Misc
  2. School
Groups
  1. Misc
  2. School
27 Comments

"Learning Logs" is that where they have to identify different kinds of poo?

my friend was chatting about this today her son is 10 and he comes home from school has bath and dinner and then 1 hr of homework (sometimes in a different order)

she said she barely has family time during the week with him

I see homework as a major factor in turning people off school and learning. It is almost never done in an inspiring or imaginative way and ends up being a tedious job that causes conflict and tension between parent and child and in my opinion does nothing to aid learning.

Primary school children should be spending evenings and weekends doing play type activities that relax them and help to recharge their batteries. These activities can easily and usually do contain more learning in much more dynamic and age appropriate ways than working from badly photocopied black and white worksheets.

Plum