Advise need for flooring

Found 4th Feb
I’ve recently laid my bathroom floor with tiles and the grout is cracking.
I previously had vinyl flooring which I laid hardwood over the top for extra insulation, I used pva glue to seal the wood & flexible adhesive to lay the tiles then went on to use flexible grout. Id appreciate any help with which product to buy to help. Thanks
Community Updates
  1. Ask
Groups
  1. Ask
12 Comments
I can’t tell you why it has done it as I’m no expert, but I had this too. I just took the grout out in the places it was cracked, put new grout back in and it’s been spot on ever since.

I used plywood as mentioned below, 1 year on had no more cracking so must have been settling in movement I guess.
Edited by: "AirbusA380" 4th Feb
There must have been more movement than the grout can tolerate for it to have cracked.

When you say hardwood I assume you mean hardboard? Although much cheaper it is a poor alternative to plywood which would have been stronger and because of the cross graining of each ply it suffers significantly less shrinkage/expansion - hence a better base to tile over.

Anyway - you now have what you have. I would suggest that you cut out the areas of damaged grout using either an appropriate blade on a "Multi Tool" or a Dremmel and then re-grout. As it has happened just once it you may be lucky and it may not happen again - but in all likelihood unfortunately it probably will!

If you do scrape it out with a dremmel, do be very careful and make sure you have a steady hand. I did it once and my hand slipped. Ended up with a gouged tile. Not a pretty sight. Mind you, the end result was a massive improvement on what was there before. The grout was black with mold.
Just a thought but did you screw the hard board to the underlying floor? If not that might be why the grout is crumbling. There might be too much movement and not enough stability.
There will be movement . Or not enough grout pushed into the tiles .