Almost finished twilight saga books, what to read next?

33 replies
Found 19th Mar 2010
As above after watching the films i then read the next 2 books and have now nearly finished reading the first 2.

Going to miss reading them, just wandering what anyone else has gone on to read and enjoyed?

33 Comments

I have been a bit lost too :-(

The Host, also by Stephanie Meyer is supposed to be good but haven't read it myself

I have been reading Karen Rose and Jodi Picoult books but haven't been amazed by any

Will end up reading Twilight again soon, I am blessed with a terrible memory so it will be okay LOL! :roll:

i love barbera erskine books, they're historical with usually a paranormal twist to them

Mrs.Z;8151204

I have been a bit lost too :-(The Host, also by Stephanie Meyer is … I have been a bit lost too :-(The Host, also by Stephanie Meyer is supposed to be good but haven't read it myselfI have been reading Karen Rose and Jodi Picoult books but haven't been amazed by anyWill end up reading Twilight again soon, I am blessed with a terrible memory so it will be okay LOL! :roll:



I also read Jodi Picoult after reading all the twilight books - The Pact was pants but My Sisters Keeper was good, lot better than the film.

Am reading Russell Brands Booky Wooky now but am then going to give The Host a look

After reading the Twilight series you're probably ready to step it up a gear and read more intellectually challenging books. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a good start and I also recommend the Meg and Mog series. The Mr. Men series are also good, but you might struggle at your current reading level.

Original Poster

lol, i have condsidered re reading 3 & 4 when I've finished 2 but thought that a bit sad

maybe i'll try the host ;-)

Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris, a tv series as well, True Blood.

Cassandra Clare The Mortal instruments Books. There is talk about making these books into a movies.

Kelley Armstrong - Bitten is the 1st in a series of books set in the Otherworld ie werewolves, witches etc.

Original Poster

We_Are_138;8151244

After reading the Twilight series you're probably ready to step it up a … After reading the Twilight series you're probably ready to step it up a gear and read more intellectually challenging books. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a good start and I also recommend the Meg and Mog series. The Mr. Men series are also good, but you might struggle at your current reading level.



haha, was waiting for something along those lines. i was supprised i got so into them really, i'm not a teenager :oops:

Stephanie Meyer couldnt write a shopping list imho.

Both of Khaled Hosseini's books :thumbsup:

vicki4903;8151274

Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris, a tv series as well, True … Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris, a tv series as well, True Blood.Cassandra Clare The Mortal instruments Books. There is talk about making these books into a movies.Kelley Armstrong - Bitten is the 1st in a series of books set in the Otherworld ie werewolves, witches etc.





I've read the Cassandra Clare series and they are really good

the vampire diaries, im a huge twilight fan but love vampire diaries just as much or even a bit more actually

Original Poster

forgot about 'my sisters keeper' had been recomended that one and not watched the film

thanks for the other suggestions too

owens101;8151276

haha, was waiting for something along those lines. i was supprised i got … haha, was waiting for something along those lines. i was supprised i got so into them really, i'm not a teenager :oops:



Twilight's not my cup of tea, but I can't begrudge anybody enjoying a book. There's no elitism here.

If you would like a more adult vampire book then go for J R Ward Lover series, fantastic.

owens101;8151276

haha, was waiting for something along those lines. i was supprised i got … haha, was waiting for something along those lines. i was supprised i got so into them really, i'm not a teenager :oops:



same here, was given this at a book club I go to (see def not a teenager :oops:) with no talk of what it was. I didnt even read the back and had no clue it was a vampire book or I wouldnt have even picked it up but once I did I was sucked right in!

read the host its really good would definalty try that one

the true blood books are really good, so much better than the tv series, the dexter books are good, and the kelley armstrong werewolf series is fab, the host takes a bit of getting into but is worth it!

Books are for suckers.

Get on the playstation

The Nightside series by Simon R Green....

I bought the 'True Blood' books but wasn't keen, read the first couple of chapters but wasn't bothered.

I agree that 'The Pact' was lame and wasn't too impressed with 'Vanishing Acts' either, haven't read 'My sister's keeper'

I have got 'Send me no flowers' to read next (by Jenny Tomlin, I think?) as well as The Host''

You may want to have a look on Amazon at 'Shiver' by Maggie Stiefvater, about a girl falling in love with a werewolf - I have reserved it at my library :thumbsup:

Original Poster

thanks all, got some good suggestions there. not sure its really the vampire and werewolf thing I'm into, but if the stories are good ;-)

IF you are after a good Jodi Picolt try Nineteen Minutes - it's what has me hooked on her

Mrs.Z;8152247

I bought the 'True Blood' books but wasn't keen, read the first couple of … I bought the 'True Blood' books but wasn't keen, read the first couple of chapters but wasn't bothered.I agree that 'The Pact' was lame and wasn't too impressed with 'Vanishing Acts' either, haven't read 'My sister's keeper' I have got 'Send me no flowers' to read next (by Jenny Tomlin, I think?) as well as The Host''You may want to have a look on Amazon at 'Shiver' by Maggie Stiefvater, about a girl falling in love with a werewolf - I have reserved it at my library :thumbsup:



i thought that about the true blood books but once u get 3/4 way in, ur already ordering the next book!

I was reading on wikipedia a few weeks ago about stephenie meyer, and it said she was going to release another twilight book, but it got leaked on the internet, and its now on her website for people to read?. Let me have a peek
This is from wikipedia


"Upon the completion of the fourth entry in the series, Meyer indicated that Breaking Dawn would be the final novel to be told from Bella Swan's perspective.

Midnight Sun was to be a companion novel to the series. It would be a retelling of the events of the novel Twilight, but from the perspective of Edward Cullen (as opposed to Bella Swan). Meyer had hoped to have Midnight Sun published some time shortly after the release of Breaking Dawn, but after an online leak of a rough draft of its first 12 chapters, Meyer chose to delay the project indefinitely.
Since Meyer has decided to pursue non-Twilight related books as a result of the leak, she made the rough chapters of "Midnight Sun" available on her website" :thumbsup:

stepheniemeyer.com/mid…tml

I have read all the Twilight books and I am now working my way through the True Blood (Sookie Stackhouse) books which are excellent. The Book People are selling a collection of eight (I think) True Blood books for under £10

Polly_P;8156738

I was reading on wikipedia a few weeks ago about stephenie meyer, and it … I was reading on wikipedia a few weeks ago about stephenie meyer, and it said she was going to release another twilight book, but it got leaked on the internet, and its now on her website for people to read?. Let me have a peek This is from wikipedia"Upon the completion of the fourth entry in the series, Meyer indicated that Breaking Dawn would be the final novel to be told from Bella Swan's perspective. Midnight Sun was to be a companion novel to the series. It would be a retelling of the events of the novel Twilight, but from the perspective of Edward Cullen (as opposed to Bella Swan). Meyer had hoped to have Midnight Sun published some time shortly after the release of Breaking Dawn, but after an online leak of a rough draft of its first 12 chapters, Meyer chose to delay the project indefinitely. Since Meyer has decided to pursue non-Twilight related books as a result of the leak, she made the rough chapters of "Midnight Sun" available on her website" :thumbsup:http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/midnightsun.html



I read this a while back, whilst it is good, it is just Twilight but told from a different persons perspective.

kimbyanne;8156917

I have read all the Twilight books and I am now working my way through … I have read all the Twilight books and I am now working my way through the True Blood (Sookie Stackhouse) books which are excellent. The Book People are selling a collection of eight (I think) True Blood books for under £10



I got this set for my christmas and once I started reading them I couldn't stop. Now just have to wait for the new one to come out. Will just have to re-read all my favourite Eric bits. Watch both seasons of TV series which is slightly different but I am hoping for some more Sookie and Eric. :thumbsup:

Try Mary Janice Davidson - the Undead series (Undead and Unwed, Undead and Unemployed etc). They're about Betsy who inadvertently becomes a vampire but its comedy too. Depends what kind of books you like.

Darren Shan books are very good.

My wife is very keen on vampire books,the True Blood series and Twilight films and she has been enjoying the books by Rachel Caine (Weather Warden series among others).

Might be worth investigating. In fact she has some to be sold on here if I ever get round to it!

Joss

My wife is very keen on vampire books,the True Blood series and Twilight … My wife is very keen on vampire books,the True Blood series and Twilight films and she has been enjoying the books by Rachel Caine (Weather Warden series among others).Might be worth investigating. In fact she has some to be sold on here if I ever get round to it!



You bumped a year and a half old topic

pulsex0r

You bumped a year and a half old topic



I hate the search function on this site!!

The host is a good book but I don`t think it relates to the twilight saga or cast in any way thats one of the reasons I stopped reading it along with that I didn`t understand what it was about. X

I`m going to miss the twilight saga the cullens
Post a comment
Avatar
@
    Text
    Top Discussions
    1. The never ending counting with pictures thread !4604828
    2. HUKD Satellite Information & IPTV Thread48911000
    3. Did you know?3158
    4. Just heard this...2 ★★★★★★★★★★★★★★ congrats to all on 392k ★★★★★★★★★★★★★★7769586

    See more discussions