am i too old to go to college at 30?

Found 13th Jan 2013
Well since i live in Blackpool the job market isn't exactly brilliant, i have been unemployed about 6 months now and the job centre have suggest i go to college to get more "sustainable" work not just seasonal crap. I am not apposed to the idea but i just dont know if a 30 year old would fit in at college.

Have any of you gone to collage as an adult to change career or start a new one ?
Community Updates
Misc
54 Comments
People do it all of the time.
There were loads of people at my college that were more 'older'... I would suggest you go to a college that isnt attached to a school though.
No you are not too old, i'm 25 and on my course there is also a 29 year old along with the 16 year olds, we all get on fine and it's fine....do it. DO IT!

I did a college course a few years ago where the age range was 16-66
I'm a part-time student (studying to further rather than change my career, though) and I'm not far off your age, and it's fine. It does feel a touch odd seeing so many young folk fresh from school around, but there are people my age and older on my course, and it seems pretty natural. In the classroom, it doesn't matter how old anybody is.
dog_cop

did you go to school the first time round from your eloquent OP ..

yes, but if the internet has taught me one thing its that no matter what is posted there will always be a troll/ grammer police/ **** about to make their lives more complete by jumping all over it
There wasnt anybodu my age on an IT full time course at college.
It wasnt that bad once you get used to it.

Still did not help me change career as the college course are not high enough to help me. City and guilds/NVQ didnt help.
I'm nearly 40 and go to college part time, nothing wrong in going, and there is a lot of good courses out there..