Expired

amazon fire tv vs raspberry pi for xbmc

Found 26th Nov 2014
been using raspberry pi for xbmc for a while now, any point upgrading to fire tv? remote would be very big plus as using xbmc remote app isn't really convenient. so does fire tv have any other benefit? raspberry plays 3d, and 5.1 surround sound perfectly, so not sure if fire tv is worth it.
Community Updates
7 Comments
pi was good for a sense of achievement but as a daily usable device it lacked. I ended up getting a gen 2 apple tv from local cash gen for £80 not looked back. thinking of getting a amazon tv due to showbox
i use my firetv for xbmc and its very good, use llama to open xbmc through another app rather than have to scroll through settings etc (google it) have had a few problems with p2p streams and script errors but im still learning, this is my first experience of xbmc and so far i think its amazing
I am in a silmilar position about whether or not to buy the fireTV. I have used xbmc/kodi on a number of devices throughout the years ever since xbox when I used it as the launcher as well as for media/games. It is in my opinion the best media player around for most things, especially with the ability to have add-ons for pretty much anything, it has to be the most versatile media software in the world. That being said, it is only as good as the device you are using to play/use it with, some devices are going to struggle with certain things as dcx mentioned earlier (fixed your down vote for you by the way dcx - someone down voted you for some reason??).