Another camping question (sorry)

22 replies
Found 27th Jun 2009
We have our new tent up as wanted to see if its waterproof as we have some pretty awful weather tonight (heavy rain, hail etc). Anyway, been out there to check and water coming in a bit, appears to be where there are toggles in the tent (through the seams there) and also at the top part of the tent where there is a weird bit up the top. There is a small net at the very top of the tent, poles outside that and then a cover over the top bit. The cover bit is really thin and water has got in a bit into the main living area.

My question is, is this normal? Its a cheapish tent from Argos but has good reviews. I obviously dont want to get wet and the weather we had tonight here where I am was pretty extreme. The tent is a 2000mm hydrostatic head. Are they meant to keep all the water out or just some? I dont know if I should take it back or not and get another one or just exchange it!!! Im new to camping and not too keen!!!!!!

1. Misc
  2. Camping
22 Comments

Original Poster

http://i369.photobucket.com/albums/oo134/charlene265/tent.jpg Our tent

Take an umbrella dude :thumbsup:

Pretty tent

what with the rain we had tonight it woulda been crazy being out in a tent in it...

the rain would have gathered underneath the tent where you were sleeping and you'd have felt the damp up through your bodies no matter the waterproof layers, let alone been worried about any droplets getting in through carelessly closed zips etc.

that tent looks fine to me... in such weather we'd have ran from the tent to seek a cave or better still a nice warm pub.

Just because you're camping doesn't mean you're leaving civilisation behind!!

You'll be fine love, you're just anxious about it and thinking about it too much and worrying x x x

the tent looks fine :thumbsup: