Any bakers out there?

Posted 23rd Dec 2019
Hello!
I'd like to start baking and have a little list of cakes, cookies recipies etc I'd like to try.
But I don't have any stuff to make it with!
I have a rough idea/list of basic things I would need but there will always be things that I'm missing as I have zero experience!

My list consists of: dif sizes mixing bowls, rubber spatula, sieve, whisks, measuring jug, rolling pin, pastry brush, measuring spoons, wooden spoons, baking trays, cupcake tray, grease proof paper, cooling racks.

So my questions are does anyone have any secrets/tips/tricks? Or things I'd have forgotten halfway through and need or don't have on my list?
Thanks,
Merry Xmas.
Community Updates
Ask
Top comments
mas9923/12/2019 14:31

marble slab to work on?

Or to perform autopsy on after cakes have been eaten
11 Comments
@NP23 one for you to answer?
Start with the easiest cakes to make ever......rice crispy cakes.

100g milk chocolate broken up
50g dark chocolate broken up
100g butter
4 tbsp golden syrup
100g rice crispies

Put the chocolate in a heatproof bowl with the butter and golden syrup and gently melt in 10-second bursts in the microwave, or melt it over a pan of simmering water, making sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water. Stir until smooth, then take off the heat and stir in the rice pops, coating them gently with the chocolate until they are all completely covered.

Divide the mixture between nine cupcake or 12 fairy cake paper cases – it’s easier if you slide these into a muffin tin as it will help them hold their shape. Leave to set. If you want them to set faster, put in the fridge for 1 hr.

Scales
heatproof bowl/saucepan
tablespoon
paper cake cases
microwave
Edited by: "m1keyp1key" 23rd Dec 2019
marble slab to work on?
mas9923/12/2019 14:31

marble slab to work on?

Or to perform autopsy on after cakes have been eaten
you missed out scales and oven.
maybe try no bake stuff first? stuff you can make with fridge