Groups

Any Electricians that can give me a little advice ?

Hi, I have bought a spotlight for my back garden & after twice being let down by electricians who failed to turn up, I've decided to try & kill myself quicker & do the job myself.

I've bought a 30w IP65 & then bought 10 meters of cable for the job.

As I'm not an electrician, I was going to feed the cable threw the loft & plug it in up in the loft.

I know most electrician would hard wire it,but I've never done that before.

In post 1 is the cable management & as you can see the yellow/green one is doing nothing.Is this correct or should it be connected to something ?

Yes I know the old question about "if your asking" you should not be near it :-)

81 Comments

Original Poster

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w88/tigerplank/IMG_0446_zpsiy81ivp3.jpg

its the earth and yes its important

Original Poster

shadey12

its the earth and yes its important

Is it supposed to sit as it does in the photo or should it be plugged-in to one of those plastic caps ?

I think it would be very wise for you to persevere with your hunt for an electrician to do the job for you.;)

Original Poster

Flogger

I think it would be very wise for you to persevere with your hunt for an … I think it would be very wise for you to persevere with your hunt for an electrician to do the job for you.;)

It's only a spotlight, what's the worse thing that can happen oO

WheresMeNuts

It's only a spotlight, what's the worse thing that can happen oO

​DEATH

That looks like a plastic body? If that's the case, it'll be double insulated and therefore not require an earth. That will be there simply because they used a standard bit of flex. Doesn't need connected to anything.

http://images.slideplayer.com/7/1674256/slides/slide_7.jpg